We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at the edgewater” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater Palms

Save Saved
You added Edgewater Palms to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Edgewater Palms
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 - 10 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 44 hotels in Paihia
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay at the edgewater”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed at the edgewater apartments for 2 nights on our second stay/trip to bay of islands; clean, modern and spacious apartments. King bed was very comfortable for us. Called a day before arriving and Ben (manager) was very obliging with our requests for two apartments together. Ben then also helped with printing/scanning/emailing important and urgent documents for us, thanks Ben! Excellent location only 5 min walk to town, and beautiful outlook from the apartments!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    29
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
45
53
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We recently stayed here for a week and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. There were a few things that niggled (drier didn't dry probably, would have liked to have the room serviced more than once in our 7 day stay), but not enough to ruin the experience. The rooms were very comfortable, spacious and clean. The location was great, especially with the amazing restaurant next door.

We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We spent 3 nights in The Bay of Islands at this facility. Location is tops. Washing machine in room did not work properly (washed but did not dry). Sofa bed was very uncomfortable. Could be improved if they provided a pillowtop pad (used by Argent Motel in Hamilton). Staff at front desk very helpful and friendly. Loved the location. Easy walk to ferry, restaurants, shops. No place to hang or store clothes if you are using the sofa bed. No mirror except in bathroom.

Room Tip: Room located at front, over the reception area, has fabulous view of bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edgewaterpalms, Front Office Manager at Edgewater Palms, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Hi Sharon,

Thanks for your comments. We are just in the process of refurbishing our apartments. Full length mirrors are going in each one. As the one bedrooms are rather small it is quite difficult to put an extra wardrobe in the lounge but I will certainly look at a suitcase rack.

Appreciate your comments and pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Regards
Nicki Kempthorne
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We recently spent two weeks in New Zealand with our best friends. Stayed at Edgewater Palms for our first four days and it was our introduction to New Zealand and to the North Island. Because we were arriving after hours we called ahead and when we arrived our entry keys and information were all there waiting for us. The managers were lovely and spoke to us the next morning to make sure that everything was acceptable. They were in the middle of renovating their front office but that did not affect their service at all. Our 2 bedroom apartment was absolutely lovely, very modern and very clean. The only thing I would suggest is that you request the first floor (additional cost but worth it) as all the ground floor apartments look into the side wall of the above ground pool. The pool itself is a lovely infinity pool and is the centre piece of the complex with all apartments surrounding it (although a bit cold for us to take a dip when we visited). We dined next door at the 'Alfresco' Cafe/restaurant which had absolutely beautiful meals. All the locals introduced themselves and helped with lots of suggestions for us to do. The location of the hotel is excellent. It is directly across from the beach and a five minute walk into the little village of Paihia which has everything that you need and drives around the district are just a delight. We also did a half day cruise out into the Bay of Islands which was fantastic. Had a stop over at 'Russell' on the way back and we stayed there & had lunch at the Duke of Marlborough Hotel before walking around the town and then took the local water taxi back to Paihia. (the return ticket was given to us before we left the cruise). We really enjoyed these few days and would highly recommend Edgewater Palms as accommodation.

Room Tip: The only thing I would suggest is that you request the first floor (additional cost but worth it) as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

edgewater palms paihia!!!! I wrote that i paid for a fully furnished room!! and wasnt told at checkin that ours (washing machine)had been sent for repair! the reason i choose it was because it had washing machine (i got 3 kids) and spa and pool.. they made me use the resorts basin washine machine which i had to go down ten times to check if it was ready!! they had dirty dish cloths and leftover meet in the freezer, they had people in the spa at 1-3am in the morning which kept us awake due to the noise, i was told if it happens again ring reception, so on day 2 it happened again and i rung ten times and no one picked up... that morning the pools and spas were closed down due to it being dirty.. which i find is there fault for not locking it at 10pm as they should have.. no bin liners and we had to empty our own rubbish downstairs into big bins.. only 3 day servicing in rooms not daily... was disapointing... i wrote a comment on there facebook page but they removed the comment and deleted mem show they dnt like wgat i said

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My sister and i stayed here for 2 nights recently.

We knew that we would be arriving late in the evening so called ahead in advance. Reception staff (Nicki i think) was lovely and stated that she would leave our apartment keys and information at reception for us and they closed at 7:30pm. Upon arrival, they were there, along with 3 other sets.

The car park was easily accessible, underground, with plenty of parking available. Our apartment was easy to find and was extremely well presented upon arrival. It was clean, neat and tidy. There was also a washing machine / dryer for our use also which was great. Our balcony had pool and ocean views too.

The apartments are in a great location, approx. a 5 minute walk to the main town centre where all the shops and restaurants are.

I think the apartments are either brand new or getting new paint and carpet at the moment. Either way, they are really nice, right opposite the beach and i think all apartments would have either full or partial water views.

The pool and spa area was nice also. Well maintained and looked after. I can imagine that this area would be very popular in summer.

Would i stay at these apartments again? Absolutely yes! I would love to spend a week or two here at the height of summer. If only it was a little closer to home. The Bay of Islands are beautiful and Paihia is a little gem.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at Edgewater Palms for one night and it was a very enjoyable stay. The managers at reception were warm and welcoming. The apartment was very spacious and clean, with all the amenities you would want or need away form home. They were also dog friendly and made sure that we and our dog were all comfortable. We also got advice of where to go for meals and entertainment in Paihia which was very much appreciated. Would absolutely recommend this as a place to stay - one of the best, if not the best in Paihia.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edgewater Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Palms

Address: 8 - 10 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#9 Family Hotel in Paihia
#12 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Edgewater Palms 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Edgewater Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Palms Paihia, Bay Of Islands
Edgewater Palms Hotel Paihia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater Palms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.