We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st class hospitality in the Bay of Islands” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   69 School Rd, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 Paihia B&B and Inns
Milan, Italy
1 review
“1st class hospitality in the Bay of Islands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Fantastic luxury B & B in the Bay of Islands. 1st class in every respect. Wonderful hosts who will do anything for you, great location, rooms well appointed with an inviting pool outside. Breakfast is great in a very friendly atmosphere. All this within walking distance of Paihia and a short ferry trip across to Russell. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decksofpaihia, Owner at Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Ciao from Decks of Paihia and thanks so much for your lovely review. We were thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope that you get the chance to come back and stay again on your next visit to New Zealand. We hope it was the first of many more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
96
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

A fantastic place to stay, wonderful hosts, couldn’t ask for such a wonderful view. Rooms are immaculate,the breakfast was really nice.
Congrats to Phil and Wendy on a wonderful hospitality experience. I will be definitely coming back.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decksofpaihia, Owner at Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
We really appreciate your kind words and lovely review thank you very much. We do hope we see you again next time you decide to escape to the beautiful Bay of Islands for another mini break. We love having return guests and with you being so close hopefully it won't be too long. Wendy & Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Very were much like other travellers to the area.We stayed here for 2 nights at the start of our trip round NZ and it set the tone for the rest of our holiday. Great area to use as a base for the Bay of Islands area. Don't bother staying anywhere else - this place is a real gem. Excellent quality, excellent location and open & friendly hosts. Fantastic value. The property is set on a hill over looking Paihia beach front. A reasonable but easy and comfortable walk to the town front/centre. All rooms are very smart and open onto the decks over the garden & swimming pool.Phil and Wendy were great hosts. and helped us with trip and dinner recommendations. And thank you both for the huge efforts you took to get my husband's reading glasses back to him - with the help of observant locals. He left his glasses on the beach front at Russell.They were loaded on to the Russell ferry and posted onto us in Napier. Thank you for your kind actions. Great job!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decksofpaihia, Owner at Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you both so much for such a generous and kind review. We are very happy you were reunited with the glasses. That is the wonderful thing about living in such a small friendly area - it is pretty easy to find something that goes amiss if you put a little effort into it. We both really enjoyed meeting you and having you stay with us in our home. It would be great if our paths crossed again in the future. Keep in touch. Wendy & Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights at the start of our trip round NZ and it set the standard for the rest of our accommodation. Our room was a well appointed en suite with a balcony overlooking the pool, which was very welcome after a hot day travelling. Phil and Wendy were great hosts, friendly and attentive. Breakfasts were excellent, with plenty of choice and delicious freshly baked muffins. The house is on a hill above Paihia, with a 20 minute walk down to restaurants and the shore. Waitangi Treaty grounds are nearby and it is worth taking the ferry across to Russell with its old colonial style houses and beaches. We can highly recommend this property.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy H, Owner at Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Lovely kind review - thank you so much. Glad the rest of NZ was just as enjoyable for you. The weather certainly co-operated for you - although I think now it is payback time for us. Had a bit of rain this last week. The farmers will be happy that is the most important thing. Again, your kind words much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed one night in Decks to start our trip in New Zealand.

Great base to explore Bay of islands from.

Wendy and Phil are warm and welcoming.

Breakfast was great. Room and home were great.

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy H, Owner at Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thanks for such a fab review - we wished you could have stayed longer and do hope you can get back our way perhaps in the future. Would be great to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of March to end our amazing trip around NZ and so glad we did. What a fab way to round off our holiday. Rooms are modern and well appointed, views are beautiful and the pool very relaxing after a day exploring the island. Wendy and Phil are brilliant hosts, Phil has a wicked sense of humour so be prepared and Wendy makes you feel more like a friend than a paying guest. Wendy's breakfast cakes are delicious and I am about to attempt making them myself, Phil cooks your eggs to whatever spec you require and breakfast is lovely. Both Phil and Wendy could not have been more helpful with advice on where to eat and what to do and see while we were in the Bay of Islands. We had a wonderful trip on Tom's boat exploring the islands for the day, visited Russell to watch the sun set and drove to 90 miles beach. Just wished we had had a few more days there. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely and all have a deck with views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy H, Owner at Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
It was completely our pleasure to meet you and have you stay in our home. We just look forward to the next time we can get together and share more wonderful stories and experiences! Remember the house at Taupo Bay for the next time you come to NZ if you want a beach holiday! Your review is just wonderful and we both thank you so much. Your 90 mile beach experience will give you many hilarious moments as you share that with your friends and family and we just love the story too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Modern accomodation of high standard, with a pool to cool down on a hot day. Nice, well appointed rooms with a balcony above the pool. Phil and Wendy are attentive and helpful hosts. The house is set on a hill above Paihia, about twenty minutes walk down to the landing stage and beach. Boats go across to Russell every 20 minutes. The Waitangi Treaty Grounds are a short distance to the north and worth a visit – the ‘cultural show’ was, in our view, better than the one in Rotorua. There is a pleasant walk up the Estuary from the Treaty Grounds to Haruru Falls, passing on a board-walk, at one point, over the mangrove swamp. Our hosts also recommended us to go for their own favourite walk on the Mahinepua Peninsula, an hour or so to the north of Paihia – a great recommendation and a lovely walk. There are a number of possible places to eat in Paihia at various levels. Our favourite (which some of our fellow guests sniffed at!) was Shippeys – a boat moored up near the Waitangi Bridge that does superb fish and chips, served in paper on the upper deck with great views of the sunset over the estuary. Don’t feed the seagulls!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decksofpaihia, Owner at Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
A huge thanks for your kind words and your great review. You certainly did make great use of your time here in the Bay of Islands. We also love our new Culture Show at Waitangi - we think it is extremely good and love to hear our guests are enjoying it too. We have a new walk for you next time you come to Paihia - yesterday a friend and I went out to Urapukapuka Island and walked the trail around the island. It was really magic - beautiful views, and passes through some amazing beaches - perfect places to stop for a picnic lunch and a swim on the way. We were the only ones on 3 of the beaches at the time we walked through - so beautiful. Something for the next time you come back to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast

Address: 69 School Rd, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Paihia above the main village with great views, your friendly hosts Philip and Wendy Hopkinson have spent 2 decades in hospitality. A superior standard of accommodation in poolside rooms surrounded by peaceful private gardens abundant with birdlife. They are keen to share their extensive knowledge of the Northland region and New Zealand. Guest rooms stylishly furnished, heated and air conditioned, en-suite bathrooms, tea and coffee making facilities and very comfortable interiors. Complimentary wireless internet. Separate guest lounge adjacent to all rooms to relax in, or enjoy a relaxing afternoon poolside on the deck outside your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decks Of Paihia Luxury Bed And Breakfast Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.