We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great base for exploring the Bay of Islands” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   69 School Rd, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 Paihia B&B and Inns
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A great base for exploring the Bay of Islands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Modern accomodation of high standard, with a pool to cool down on a hot day. Nice, well appointed rooms with a balcony above the pool. Phil and Wendy are attentive and helpful hosts. The house is set on a hill above Paihia, about twenty minutes walk down to the landing stage and beach. Boats go across to Russell every 20 minutes. The Waitangi Treaty Grounds are a short distance to the north and worth a visit – the ‘cultural show’ was, in our view, better than the one in Rotorua. There is a pleasant walk up the Estuary from the Treaty Grounds to Haruru Falls, passing on a board-walk, at one point, over the mangrove swamp. Our hosts also recommended us to go for their own favourite walk on the Mahinepua Peninsula, an hour or so to the north of Paihia – a great recommendation and a lovely walk. There are a number of possible places to eat in Paihia at various levels. Our favourite (which some of our fellow guests sniffed at!) was Shippeys – a boat moored up near the Waitangi Bridge that does superb fish and chips, served in paper on the upper deck with great views of the sunset over the estuary. Don’t feed the seagulls!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decksofpaihia, Owner at Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
A huge thanks for your kind words and your great review. You certainly did make great use of your time here in the Bay of Islands. We also love our new Culture Show at Waitangi - we think it is extremely good and love to hear our guests are enjoying it too. We have a new walk for you next time you come to Paihia - yesterday a friend and I went out to Urapukapuka Island and walked the trail around the island. It was really magic - beautiful views, and passes through some amazing beaches - perfect places to stop for a picnic lunch and a swim on the way. We were the only ones on 3 of the beaches at the time we walked through - so beautiful. Something for the next time you come back to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
101
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights early March 2013. Wendy and Phil are great hosts, happy to share their knowledge of the area. Everything was spotlessly clean and perfect for a relaxing stay. Very good breakfasts including Wendy's cakes and Phil's omelettes both of which have to be tried. An easy walk down to centre of Paihia, if a steepish climb back up. We took the ferry to Russell one day and walked to Waitangi (highly recommended). Some good local restaurants, all coming together to make for the perfect stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decksofpaihia, Owner at Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Fabulous review - thank you so much. It makes all the effort so rewarding when we have such great feedback - enjoy the friand recipe - they are such a breeze. Your family will love you for these we are sure. We certainly hope that we can meet again in your part of the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

A really good place with lots of nice finishing touches from Wendy & Phil.

Stayed for three nights in late February/early March 2013.

Very nice and comfortable room with a very nice view although the best view is where you have breakfast as its high enough to see the Bay.

if you turn right outside the building and go up the road a little bit further you can get an even better view of the Bay.

One tip is that if arriving by bus Phil & Wendy offer on their site to collect you - I would suggest you take them up on their kind offer as it can be a steep walk with a suitcase!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decksofpaihia, Owner at Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thanks for the super review - and we would never expect anyone to walk up that hill with a suitcase! We are always happy to provide pickups and dropoffs when arriving by bus. Part of the service. Enjoy the rest of your time in New Zealand, and we do hope we get to see you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights pior to a cruise in January. This was our first B &B experience in New Zealand and it was wonderful. The accommodation was first class, our room was spacious, clean and modern. We enjoyed using the beautiful pool each day and sitting on the terrace after a day of sightseeing.Breakfast was great with fruit, cereals and eggs cooked to perfection by Phil. Best ever cakes by Wendy (I baked them myself when I returned home). Wendy and Phil also gave us help and advice on how to spend our days in the area.
You won't be disappointed if you stay here.
Thank you Wendy and Phil

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decksofpaihia, Owner at Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Wonderful kind words - thank you so much. We really look forward to catching up with you both again some time in the future - we enjoyed immensely our great chats every morning and hearing about your wonderful cruise experiences. If you think of any new yummy fillings for the friands - let me know ...... We will definitely keep in touch and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had 3 nights here with Wendy & Phil who were very helpful and gave us a great introduction into New Zealand as it was our first B&B on our holiday of a lifetime.Their house is set high up on the hill overlooking Paihia, quite a long steep walk up after dinner in town! Our room was spacious, clean and modern with air conditioning and an en-suite with a great shower. They even have a swimming pool to cool off in and patio to sit on in the evening.
Breakfast was good with lovely granola, fruit and cereals to choose from prior to being offered 'something cooked'. Each day there were freshly baked cakes called friands with fruits in them, delicious and I now have the recipe to try them at home with my B&B guests!
Thank you Wendy & Phil for your hospitality.

Room Tip: Ask for the cake recipe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy H, Owner at Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind review - we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you have had a chance to try out the friand recipe - it is really such a great thing and a wonderful recipe to share around. I am more than happy to share it, and the flavours just keep changing as the seasons move - latest combination peach and cinnamon (peaches in season) and pear and ginger. Both yummy! Apple time coming up so they will be next I think! I am sure you will wow your guests with them as well, and we hope we can get the chance to come and stay with you in your beautiful area of the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

If you are going to Paihia, staying at the Decks of Paihia is a must. The hosts, Wendy and Phil, are the nicest people. Wendy makes these wonderful cakes, friands. A very relaxing atmosphere with a lovely pool, not big but very clean. A first for me was the heated mirror in the bathroom, quite a very pleasant change not having to wipe the mirror when wanting to do one's hair! Everything about Decks of Paihia is wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decksofpaihia, Owner at Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Wow - great review thank you so much. Yes, the heated mirrors are a treat aren't they - we saw this idea overseas and were keen to include with our bathrooms when we built the house. Glad you enjoyed the Friands and hope that you wow your family with those magic little treats now you have the recipe.... my latest flavour is Rhubard and cinnamon - Phil picked some lovely fresh Rhubard from the garden at our beach house yesterday - they are scrumptious!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Beautiful Location, Superb rooms, Great Breakfast and great hosts who were so helpful and friendly. All this meant our 2 day stay there was the best accommodation of our 31 day trip to New Zealand. Well placed for trips to the Treaty grounds and for boat trips out of Paihia into the Bay of Islands. Good golf course nearby as well.

Room Tip: all rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decksofpaihia, Owner at Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We really appreciate your super review and your kind words. New Zealand has some fabulous properties, so we feel honoured that you reviewed our property so highly. This is a beautiful area, and we love it when our guests have a great time here in the Bay of Islands, as we truly enjoy living in this region. Being able to share it with visitors to the country is very special. We love it more when you come back for a 2nd time! There are lots more great golf courses around the North so maybe next time, you can sample some of those as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast

Address: 69 School Rd, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Paihia above the main village with great views, your friendly hosts Philip and Wendy Hopkinson have spent 2 decades in hospitality. A superior standard of accommodation in poolside rooms surrounded by peaceful private gardens abundant with birdlife. They are keen to share their extensive knowledge of the Northland region and New Zealand. Guest rooms stylishly furnished, heated and air conditioned, en-suite bathrooms, tea and coffee making facilities and very comfortable interiors. Complimentary wireless internet. Separate guest lounge adjacent to all rooms to relax in, or enjoy a relaxing afternoon poolside on the deck outside your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decks Of Paihia Luxury Bed And Breakfast Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.