We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   69 School Rd, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 Paihia B&B and Inns
Lilley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights pior to a cruise in January. This was our first B &B experience in New Zealand and it was wonderful. The accommodation was first class, our room was spacious, clean and modern. We enjoyed using the beautiful pool each day and sitting on the terrace after a day of sightseeing.Breakfast was great with fruit, cereals and eggs cooked to perfection by Phil. Best ever cakes by Wendy (I baked them myself when I returned home). Wendy and Phil also gave us help and advice on how to spend our days in the area.
You won't be disappointed if you stay here.
Thank you Wendy and Phil

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decksofpaihia, Owner at Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Wonderful kind words - thank you so much. We really look forward to catching up with you both again some time in the future - we enjoyed immensely our great chats every morning and hearing about your wonderful cruise experiences. If you think of any new yummy fillings for the friands - let me know ...... We will definitely keep in touch and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
96
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had 3 nights here with Wendy & Phil who were very helpful and gave us a great introduction into New Zealand as it was our first B&B on our holiday of a lifetime.Their house is set high up on the hill overlooking Paihia, quite a long steep walk up after dinner in town! Our room was spacious, clean and modern with air conditioning and an en-suite with a great shower. They even have a swimming pool to cool off in and patio to sit on in the evening.
Breakfast was good with lovely granola, fruit and cereals to choose from prior to being offered 'something cooked'. Each day there were freshly baked cakes called friands with fruits in them, delicious and I now have the recipe to try them at home with my B&B guests!
Thank you Wendy & Phil for your hospitality.

Room Tip: Ask for the cake recipe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy H, Owner at Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind review - we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you have had a chance to try out the friand recipe - it is really such a great thing and a wonderful recipe to share around. I am more than happy to share it, and the flavours just keep changing as the seasons move - latest combination peach and cinnamon (peaches in season) and pear and ginger. Both yummy! Apple time coming up so they will be next I think! I am sure you will wow your guests with them as well, and we hope we can get the chance to come and stay with you in your beautiful area of the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

If you are going to Paihia, staying at the Decks of Paihia is a must. The hosts, Wendy and Phil, are the nicest people. Wendy makes these wonderful cakes, friands. A very relaxing atmosphere with a lovely pool, not big but very clean. A first for me was the heated mirror in the bathroom, quite a very pleasant change not having to wipe the mirror when wanting to do one's hair! Everything about Decks of Paihia is wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decksofpaihia, Owner at Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Wow - great review thank you so much. Yes, the heated mirrors are a treat aren't they - we saw this idea overseas and were keen to include with our bathrooms when we built the house. Glad you enjoyed the Friands and hope that you wow your family with those magic little treats now you have the recipe.... my latest flavour is Rhubard and cinnamon - Phil picked some lovely fresh Rhubard from the garden at our beach house yesterday - they are scrumptious!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Beautiful Location, Superb rooms, Great Breakfast and great hosts who were so helpful and friendly. All this meant our 2 day stay there was the best accommodation of our 31 day trip to New Zealand. Well placed for trips to the Treaty grounds and for boat trips out of Paihia into the Bay of Islands. Good golf course nearby as well.

Room Tip: all rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decksofpaihia, Owner at Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We really appreciate your super review and your kind words. New Zealand has some fabulous properties, so we feel honoured that you reviewed our property so highly. This is a beautiful area, and we love it when our guests have a great time here in the Bay of Islands, as we truly enjoy living in this region. Being able to share it with visitors to the country is very special. We love it more when you come back for a 2nd time! There are lots more great golf courses around the North so maybe next time, you can sample some of those as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed with Phil and Wendy for 3 nights in February. They have created a really welcoming home for visitors with the perfect balance of friendliness and welcoming whilst also giving us privacy and space. Their house is in a great spot up on the hillside about ten minutes walk out of town. We were grateful for the walk after the wonderful dinners each evening. Unfortunately it rained pretty much all the time we were here but Phil gave us great suggestions of things to do so we were kept entertained and we also used the time to chill out in our very comfortable room and terrace. The house is spotless and very modern and breakfasts provided everything we'd want- freshly baked cake, fresh fruit, eggs, home made muesli etc. don't hesitate to stay here and it was a great price too.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decksofpaihia, Owner at Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review - it is very much appreciated. We love what we do, and really enjoy sharing our house with our visitors. We very much regret that you weren't able to enjoy some of the beautiful Bay of islands weather that we have been enjoying just this last week or so. It now seems very settled. Hopefully you can return some day to sample some of that and rediscover our stunning area in super weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stopped with Wendy and Phil for 3 nights. We found the rooms and attention to detail to be first class and would love to return when we visit New Zealand in the future.
The room was large and we made us of the deck and pool, and the breakfast was excellant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decksofpaihia, Owner at Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Super review - thank you so much. So glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit and hope that we can put on some more of our spectacular summer weather for you to make the most of the pool !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This was our first B&B experience in New Zealand and gosh did it give the others a lot to live up to! The property is about a 10min walk from the beachfront but after a lovely meal in the evening you will want the walk! The main benefit of the walk is that the B&B has stunning views and is so peaceful. Sitting by the pool with a beer after a day of sailing was just perfect.

Phil and Wendy were lovely hosts with good restaurant recommendations and amazing breakfasts - the cakes Wendy cooked were especially yummy!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decksofpaihia, Owner at Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thanks so much for your lovely review - so pleased we could start your holiday off in NZ on a good footing - just hope the rest of NZ has continued to delight. We have a wonderful country and it is with great pleasure we welcome visitors to our home. Thanks for the kind compliments on the friands - they are such a huge hit I will keep them coming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast

Address: 69 School Rd, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Paihia above the main village with great views, your friendly hosts Philip and Wendy Hopkinson have spent 2 decades in hospitality. A superior standard of accommodation in poolside rooms surrounded by peaceful private gardens abundant with birdlife. They are keen to share their extensive knowledge of the Northland region and New Zealand. Guest rooms stylishly furnished, heated and air conditioned, en-suite bathrooms, tea and coffee making facilities and very comfortable interiors. Complimentary wireless internet. Separate guest lounge adjacent to all rooms to relax in, or enjoy a relaxing afternoon poolside on the deck outside your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decks Of Paihia Luxury Bed And Breakfast Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.