We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hosts and stunning views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crisdon Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paihia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Crisdon Castle
Save Saved
You added Crisdon Castle to your Saves list
18 Goffe Drive, Paihia 0252, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 Paihia B&B and Inns
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Lovely hosts and stunning views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at the Crisdon Castle in December 2012. I have been meaning to write this review for some time so apologies for its delay. We chose Crisdon because the reviews were good and the views looked lovely. It is located about a 10 minute drive out of Paihia on a small housing estate. Our room, Kings Retreat, certainly did have stunning views and the balcony was spacious. There was also an additional balcony you could use again with stunning views inland. The bed was gorgeously comfortable with good quality linens. The bathroom was sizeable and a double jet bath with a view was a fun addition. There’s a fridge and microwave and kitchen supplies all tucked behind the door but no surface space or sink to prepare food. Okay for heating something up and making tea. My two biggest criticisms were that the room was a bit dusty with cobwebs in evidence and the wifi connection was very weak due to the thick walls. You could however pick up a good wifi connection on the communal terrace or breakfast area. Breakfast was fabulous. Best breakfast I had in New Zealand and plenty of it! Overall, a very relaxing stay. The hosts are absolutely lovely and have created a very relaxed atmosphere. We wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
71
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kaitaia, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have visited and stayed at Crisdon Castle on a few occasions now and recently had my wedding there and I have to say this place ticks all the boxes - great service, amazing rooms, delicious food, great views, the list goes on. Chris and Donna go above and beyond to ensure you get the best from your stay and I highly recommend this place to anyone who may be in the Paihia area, be it families, couples, friends, small functions - you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: They are all amazing, you will love the decor and bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Felt like royalty during our stay in the Royal Suite - room was luxurious and had everything you could possibly want. Liked the fact that we had a separate entrance, but nothing was too much trouble and the atmosphere created by Donna and Chris was one of pure relaxation. The breakfast was amazing particularly the pancakes!!!
The views from the property are stunning. Wished I could have stayed longer. Hope to return in the future.
Thanks Donna and Chris for a lovely couple of days.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stunning views and a breakfast to match, can’t recommend highly enough. The room amenities and quality of the linen were excellent, providing a luxurious experience. Our short break left us relaxed and rejuvenated for 2013. Thank you Chris and Donna for a memorable stay. Julie is still raving about the pancakes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The views are spectacular. The people were so helpful. Chris's beef wellington were yum. Would recoomend to anyone. top of the line Bed and breakfast. If your up that way we recommend the rail trail bike ride at Kaikohe.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We decided to spend our first few nights of our holiday in NZ at Crisdon Castle in the Bay of Islands through a friend's recommendation. After 3 weeks travelling around both the North and South Islands and enjoying every moment of our holiday, our stay at Crisdon Castle remains the highlight of our trip. I would recommend this beautiful retreat as the first stop on your NZ holiday as we unwound quickly and felt like royalty in our amazing luxurious suite. Donna and Chris's attention to detail and hospitality is exceptional. We hope to return soon!

Room Tip: Treat yourself to the Royal Suite .. Although Donna showed us some of the other rooms and they were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

All the photos I had seen could not prepare us for the breathtaking views from our Royal Suite. My wife and I were lucky enough to spend a relaxing 5 nights in this sensational room. We were afforded plently of privacy with a speperate entrance however we felt extremely welcome whenever we spent time with Chris & Donna. They were able to give us plenty of ideas for sighseeing and Donna's cooking is next to none. I highly recommend the Eggs Benedict for breakfast!

We have no doubt that we will be returning when we need some time to un-wind and escape the city life. Thank you Chris & Donna for making our stay so special, we will make sure that we spread the word of your little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crisdon Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crisdon Castle

Address: 18 Goffe Drive, Paihia 0252, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Crisdon Castle Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crisdon Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.