We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views and hospitality to match” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crisdon Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paihia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crisdon Castle
18 Goffe Drive, Paihia 0252, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 Paihia B&B and Inns
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stunning views and hospitality to match”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stunning views and a breakfast to match, can’t recommend highly enough. The room amenities and quality of the linen were excellent, providing a luxurious experience. Our short break left us relaxed and rejuvenated for 2013. Thank you Chris and Donna for a memorable stay. Julie is still raving about the pancakes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
71
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The views are spectacular. The people were so helpful. Chris's beef wellington were yum. Would recoomend to anyone. top of the line Bed and breakfast. If your up that way we recommend the rail trail bike ride at Kaikohe.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We decided to spend our first few nights of our holiday in NZ at Crisdon Castle in the Bay of Islands through a friend's recommendation. After 3 weeks travelling around both the North and South Islands and enjoying every moment of our holiday, our stay at Crisdon Castle remains the highlight of our trip. I would recommend this beautiful retreat as the first stop on your NZ holiday as we unwound quickly and felt like royalty in our amazing luxurious suite. Donna and Chris's attention to detail and hospitality is exceptional. We hope to return soon!

Room Tip: Treat yourself to the Royal Suite .. Although Donna showed us some of the other rooms and they were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

All the photos I had seen could not prepare us for the breathtaking views from our Royal Suite. My wife and I were lucky enough to spend a relaxing 5 nights in this sensational room. We were afforded plently of privacy with a speperate entrance however we felt extremely welcome whenever we spent time with Chris & Donna. They were able to give us plenty of ideas for sighseeing and Donna's cooking is next to none. I highly recommend the Eggs Benedict for breakfast!

We have no doubt that we will be returning when we need some time to un-wind and escape the city life. Thank you Chris & Donna for making our stay so special, we will make sure that we spread the word of your little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the King Room, which was extremely huge and well appointed, including having a stone spa. The views from the Castle of Paihia, Russell, etc. were terrific. Donna & Chris were fantastic guests. The breakfast options were plentiful and tasty. In addition, Donna & Chris were very accommodating, packing us a breakfast to take with us as we had to leave early in the morning. We definitely will return should be make another visit to Paihia in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in the property's 'Queens Quarters' and honestly couldn't be happier with our stay. Our hosts made us feel like family -offering to drop us off for local walks and cooking us the most devine breakfasts each morning. This will be the number one place to stay in the area and deservingly so.

Tip: again, make sure you order breakfast! Also town is only about 5 mins away by car, but probably a bit far to walk.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Most welcoming hosts we have ever had. We arrived at Crisdon Castle after an exhausting journey from the UK. When we tiredly asked for dinner recommendations, Donna offered to cook for us and the food was delicious. This was typical - they couldn't do enough to help us. And Donna's breakfasts definitely set us up for the day ahead. We stayed in the Kings Retreat and the view over the Bay of Islands was spectacular. We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crisdon Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crisdon Castle

Address: 18 Goffe Drive, Paihia 0252, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Crisdon Castle Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crisdon Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Crisdon Castle to your Saves list