We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our non-stay - unfortunately” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dolphin Motel to your Saves list
Dolphin Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   69 Williams Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% off Twin Tours
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in Paihia
Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our non-stay - unfortunately”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We had made reservations to stay at the Dolphin. However, a winter storm hit the north and highways were either closed by slips or flooded (and closed). Spoke with Paul and he very kindly cancelled our reservation without penalty. We hope to rebook in the near future and enjoy our stay in the Bay.

Christine

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thanks for your comments.Yes were happy to cancel without any charge.Yes it was a trying period with all the storms and road closures.Hope to see you in the future.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    56
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
48
49
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Waitakere, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Great location which is within easy walking distance of the wharf, beaches, shops and places to eat. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and tidy and the kitchen well equipped.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Many thanks for your great review and rating.Hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Very highly recommended. Great location within easy walking distance of beaches, shops and places to eat. Spotlessly clean rooms, well equipped and comfortable. Quiet. Management knowledgeable about area and very friendly Relaxed and relaxing place

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Your review is most welcome and look forward to entertaining your family and friends here again someday in the Bay of Islands and staying here at the Dolphin Motel.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We had two nights at the Dolphin Motel in a very lovely spa room. The room was exactly as seen on the website. It was clean, spacious and warm. We arrived shortly after reception had closed but Paul had left a note on the door telling us which room we were in. It was a cold evening but he had been kind enough to put the heater on so our room was warm and welcoming. We would strongly recommend it to anyone and are looking forward to when we can return.

Room Tip: I recommend the spa room, It's spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thanks for your nice review and rating.Much appreciated,
Look forward to seeing you again sometime.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We got a free upgrade and for the amount we paid, it was really good value for money. The rooms were kept very clean as there was daily housekeeping. Receptionists were very friendly and gave good suggestions and options for activities.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thanks Laura for your comments and rating.It was great to meet you family and it was a pleasure to have you all.Glad you found it good value and hope you return one day to see us here in the Bay.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We had a fantastic stay at the Dolphin Motel. We arrived late in the evening and luckily Paul had one room left! When we got to our room it was very spacious, had a neat tidy small kitchen with everything that you may need including a dishwasher! The bathroom was lovely and modern with a great hot power shower. The bed was big and extremely comfortable - the comfiest bed I have come across in a motel/hotel so far. Wifi and a few sky channels were also offered. The location is great 5/10minute walk to the beach front and the town set back far enough for it to be nice and quiet yet close enough that you didn't need to drive anywhere. We were running a little late in the morning to catch our boat trip but Paul kindly offered for us to leave our car there and he dropped us into town! If we had longer we would have defiantly stayed another night or two. It is very cheap for what you get, I would have been happy to pay a lot more for this room. I would highly recommend this motel to anyone that has a visit in Paihia. Thanks Paul for being a great host!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Shazza it was a pleasure having you.Glad you enjoyed your stay,and was able to assist.
Hope you visit us again sometime.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

It was a nice stay I enjoyed it. nice location , warm rooms, nice beds and excellent cleaning. Moreover motel manager was nice to us guided us well. I recommend this place to live it you are looking for cheap and best service.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Many thanks Devinder for your comments and rating.Much appreciated.
Hope to see you,family and friends again sometime in the future.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolphin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Motel

Address: 69 Williams Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#11 Family Hotel in Paihia
#16 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmarked 4 star. In the heart of Paihia 5 minutes flat walking from waterfront,shops. Wide range of accommodation from Small Queen Studio(Basic Facilities),King Studios,King Studio Spa, One Bedroom(sleeps 3-4),Two bedroom(sleeps 4) and Large Family units(Sleeps 2-7 people)with Spa Bath and BBQ. Kitchens, Sky TV 19 channels. Free WiFi with 2GB, Laundry. Knowledgeable Kiwi operators to help you with tours in the Bay of Islands and throughout New Zealand. Special packages arranged.BBQ also available.New Fast Wifi System.Great Discounts for Tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Dolphin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.