We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very hospitable owner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Motel

Save Saved
You added Dolphin Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dolphin Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   69 Williams Road, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Unlimited Wifi
Ranked #14 of 44 hotels in Paihia
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great location, very hospitable owner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Paul was extremely hospitable when we arrived and even shouted us a beer. The Motel is close to shops and restaurants but still in a calm and quiet area. The room we stayed in was clean but a bit small. Next time we will be in Paihia we will book a bigger room but definitely at the Dolphin.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Yes many thanks for your review.It was a pleasure to meet you.
Next time the family unit maybe better which is like a half a house!!Has full kitchen,A/Con,Spa Bath and huge Lounge.
Our location is great only a short walk to shops,restuarants,and waterfront.
We also offer free parking even if you have checked out and need to go on a morning cruise.
Which incidentally we can offer discounts.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    37
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
34
37
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed at the Dolphin motel again this weekend (second visit).
The rooms are spotlessly clean and the location is excellent.
Paul the manager is very friendly and helpful and has great local knowledge of the area.
Went on an overnight cruise and as Paul had space in his car park allowed us to leave the car overnight so it was safe and secure.
Looking forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Good variety of rooms to choose from - studios to 2 bedroom units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Many thanks for the wonderful review,and glad it was your second visit back to the Motel and meet you again.
Its always great to see return guests,knowing that they enjoyed their first visit.
Much appreciated Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We came across the motel by sheer accident we were parked outside the library using the free Internet looking for some where to stay. We had a few awful experiences in a number of hotels which we had located using the booking sites. I looked across the road and saw a number of motels / motels with vacancies. My husband and I were travelling with my son of 26 years who lives in New Zealand so we needed a place with space which we could all stay!
I sent my son to the Dolphin we were met by Paul who welcomed us with open arms and showed us to a very large apartment with lots of space and a very welcome spa bath at a very reasonable cost. The apartment was spacious and spotlessly clean with plenty of space to get a break from my son.
Paul was so kind we wanted to go to a venue for the evening which was quite a long way from the motel we enquired about transport Paul immediately offered us a lift he also informed us of a number of worthwhile places to visit for both my husband and I and my son as we all have various tastes.
I would strongly recommend this motel if staying in Paihia. I just wish I could return!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Kia Ora from the Bay of Islands
Yes it was great having your family here,and glad you enjoyed it.Hope you are able to come back one day.
Kia waimarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellsford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We arrived quite late on a Monday night, but Paul was there to meet us with a smile, to show us our room.
The units are clean and comfortable, just right to use as a base for activities around Paihia. They are centrally placed which is ideal as I am unable to walk far without tiring. Restaurants and convenience stores and the pier all easily reached from the Motel. The units have cooking facilities, a good sized fridge, a microwave and dishwasher.
We decided to stay another night while we were sightseeing and rang Paul to see if he could put us up again. He cheerfully allocated us another room at a very reasonable price.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and I will look no further than the Dolphin Motel on my next trip to Paihia.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Many thanks for your great comments.Really appreciate them.Hope you come back and stay with us again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Very comfortable well positioned motel. Paul is very friendly and helpful will even run you to the cheaper out of town supermarket if requested! The apartment was spacious and clean really can't fault it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Kia Ora
Thanks for a great review.Hope you had/have a greattrip back to the UK.
Glad you enjoyed your stay in the Bay of Islandsand hope get to come this way again sometime.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia,England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed at the Dolphin Motel Paihai for 5 days early February. The rooms at the Dolphin are comfortable, clean, and very reasonably priced. Paul, the proprietor is most helpful. As its a motel, most people stay only a day or so, so the lack of hanging space (no wardrobes) probably won't bother most people. Very convenient for all the amenities in Paihai, and walking distance to Waitangi for the Maori cultural centre which is very much worth a visit. We took the ferry over to Russell a few times, lovely restaurants and cafes to visit, also the museum in what used to be known as a Hell Hole in the days of whaling!
The motel has a laundry room for the use of clientele which was great as we were travelling around NZ. Would certainly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you have trouble with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Kia Ora and Tena koutou from the Bay of Islands
Many thanks for your kind review.It was a pleasure to meet you,and I am glad I made your holiday a good one.
Yes the Treaty House and Russell are a great place to visit.A must see too is the Dicover the Bay tour and Cape Reinga/90 Mile Beach which we can offer discounts on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel Islands, UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Excellent location - an easy 5 minute walk to the centre of Paihia, but still nice and quiet. Owner was very helpful and accommodating. We were upgraded to a larger room free of charge. Room was very clean and well presented. Pretty basic, but nice and comfortable, with good attention to detail throughout.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Tena koutou Kia ora from Paihia
Many thanks for your great review.All the best for the remainder of your journey in Aotearoa.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dolphin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Motel

Address: 69 Williams Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#14 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Motel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmarked 4 star. In the heart of Paihia only 100 metres from waterfront,shops. Wide range of accommodation from Small Queen Studio,King Studios,King Studio Spa, One Bedroom(sleeps 3-4),Two bedroom(sleeps 4) and Large Family units(Sleeps 2-7 people)with Spa Bath and BBQ. Kitchens, Sky TV 19 channels(including 3 Aussie), Free WiFi, laundry, 2 with Spa baths, knowledgeable Kiwi operators to help you with tours in the Bay of Islands and throughout New Zealand. Special packages arranged.BBQ also available.New Fast Wifi System.Free 1GB Daily.Great Discounts for Tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Dolphin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.