We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accomodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dolphin Motel to your Saves list
Dolphin Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   69 Williams Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% off Twin Tours
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Wellsford
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great accomodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We arrived quite late on a Monday night, but Paul was there to meet us with a smile, to show us our room.
The units are clean and comfortable, just right to use as a base for activities around Paihia. They are centrally placed which is ideal as I am unable to walk far without tiring. Restaurants and convenience stores and the pier all easily reached from the Motel. The units have cooking facilities, a good sized fridge, a microwave and dishwasher.
We decided to stay another night while we were sightseeing and rang Paul to see if he could put us up again. He cheerfully allocated us another room at a very reasonable price.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and I will look no further than the Dolphin Motel on my next trip to Paihia.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Many thanks for your great comments.Really appreciate them.Hope you come back and stay with us again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    51
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
43
44
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Very comfortable well positioned motel. Paul is very friendly and helpful will even run you to the cheaper out of town supermarket if requested! The apartment was spacious and clean really can't fault it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Kia Ora
Thanks for a great review.Hope you had/have a greattrip back to the UK.
Glad you enjoyed your stay in the Bay of Islandsand hope get to come this way again sometime.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia,England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed at the Dolphin Motel Paihai for 5 days early February. The rooms at the Dolphin are comfortable, clean, and very reasonably priced. Paul, the proprietor is most helpful. As its a motel, most people stay only a day or so, so the lack of hanging space (no wardrobes) probably won't bother most people. Very convenient for all the amenities in Paihai, and walking distance to Waitangi for the Maori cultural centre which is very much worth a visit. We took the ferry over to Russell a few times, lovely restaurants and cafes to visit, also the museum in what used to be known as a Hell Hole in the days of whaling!
The motel has a laundry room for the use of clientele which was great as we were travelling around NZ. Would certainly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you have trouble with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Kia Ora and Tena koutou from the Bay of Islands
Many thanks for your kind review.It was a pleasure to meet you,and I am glad I made your holiday a good one.
Yes the Treaty House and Russell are a great place to visit.A must see too is the Dicover the Bay tour and Cape Reinga/90 Mile Beach which we can offer discounts on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel Islands, UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Excellent location - an easy 5 minute walk to the centre of Paihia, but still nice and quiet. Owner was very helpful and accommodating. We were upgraded to a larger room free of charge. Room was very clean and well presented. Pretty basic, but nice and comfortable, with good attention to detail throughout.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Tena koutou Kia ora from Paihia
Many thanks for your great review.All the best for the remainder of your journey in Aotearoa.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The reviews online were fantastic overall, and the photo's on the website looked nice, however the photos were not of our room at all. The owner was lovely in the fact that he refunded us minus a $50 cleaning fee, even though we had only just unloaded and bags and then decided we couldn't stay there. The rooms are old, and small and definately weren't suitable for a family of 5 (3 children under 10). The mirror in the bathroom was dirty, the net curtains were mouldy, there was a coffee stain down the door in the kitchen, and a cockroach came out of the welcome book that I was reading. I wouldn't recommend at all and their photos on their website are not accurate. This is definately not a 4* motel - I would rate as a 2*. Thank you very much however for the refund. I realise that wasn't necessary

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thanks very much for your review.I tried my best to placate your needs and you/me decided it wasnt big enough for a family with 3 boistrous boys under 10,so set out to find other accommodation for you,which I recommended you to stay at $100 a night extra,which you took up.
However I also agreed to waiver the normal cancellation fee,and just charge a $50 cleaning fee.
I am sorry you didnt bring up any other points about the room at the time.Our reviews from previous guests in the past have been positive.
In hindsight it may have been more astute to book our Family Unit which is virtually half a house to meet the needs of young boys as it caters for 7 people.
Sorry it didnt work out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Dolphin motel is indeed a motel, but with some perks - Very friendly owner who will accommodate to anything you need. He booked our excursions for us. We were directly down the road from the port, and main street, so we were able to walk all over. We had the end unit, which proved too far for the wi-fi. All I had to do was sit in the parking lot. The beds were comfortable and clean. The kitchenette had a 2 burner cooktop, toaster, electric frying pan & a kettle. Very easy to make breakfasts or quick suppers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Its humbling to get so many positive feedbacks,and thanks for another one.
I try to project a good kiwi hospitality have little add ons that make it a special stay.
Glad you enjoyed your Christmas break here.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed at the Dolphin Motel over Christmas period. Paul the Manager was so friendly and welcoming. Excellent service Clean. Value for money and was close to all amenities and a short walk to town.
I would fully recommend this Motel for people travelling to Paihia for a holiday. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room with Spa bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Many thanks for yours and others kind review,much appreciated.
Sincerely Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolphin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Motel

Address: 69 Williams Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Paihia
#10 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmarked 4 star. In the heart of Paihia 5 minutes flat walking from waterfront,shops. Wide range of accommodation from Small Queen Studio(Basic Facilities),King Studios,King Studio Spa, One Bedroom(sleeps 3-4),Two bedroom(sleeps 4) and Large Family units(Sleeps 2-7 people)with Spa Bath and BBQ. Kitchens, Sky TV 19 channels. Free WiFi with 2GB, Laundry. Knowledgeable Kiwi operators to help you with tours in the Bay of Islands and throughout New Zealand. Special packages arranged.BBQ also available.New Fast Wifi System.Great Discounts for Tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dolphin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.