We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dolphin Motel to your Saves list
Dolphin Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   69 Williams Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off Standard Rate
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Paihia
Ontario
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Friendly & convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Dolphin motel is indeed a motel, but with some perks - Very friendly owner who will accommodate to anything you need. He booked our excursions for us. We were directly down the road from the port, and main street, so we were able to walk all over. We had the end unit, which proved too far for the wi-fi. All I had to do was sit in the parking lot. The beds were comfortable and clean. The kitchenette had a 2 burner cooktop, toaster, electric frying pan & a kettle. Very easy to make breakfasts or quick suppers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Its humbling to get so many positive feedbacks,and thanks for another one.
I try to project a good kiwi hospitality have little add ons that make it a special stay.
Glad you enjoyed your Christmas break here.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    59
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
54
53
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed at the Dolphin Motel over Christmas period. Paul the Manager was so friendly and welcoming. Excellent service Clean. Value for money and was close to all amenities and a short walk to town.
I would fully recommend this Motel for people travelling to Paihia for a holiday. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room with Spa bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Many thanks for yours and others kind review,much appreciated.
Sincerely Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Clean, tidy, no air conditioning but with fans in each of the rooms this motel is fine for a quick visit to Pahia.

It had great kitchen facilities if you needed them (with a dishwasher) and great location to the centre of Pahia.

Good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Many thanks Phillipa for your kind review.It was a pleasure to meet you both.
We try to offer good value and our location is great to walk to at an easy pace for all attractions and amenities.Besides that we give great discounts on all tours.So book with us Folks!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

4 of us stayed in Paihia for New year ( 2012/2013). We found Paul absolutely amazing, a bottle of wine and packet of biscuits to see the new year in and then in the morning he dropped off some fresh cruissants for our breakfast. Such a friendly helpful guy, like staying with a friend.
Motel was perfect location, clean and comfortable beds, nothing flash but excellent value. Just little short on bowls etc for us ladies who wished to rattle up a meal but had all the basic gear and a host of resturants at ones door, who would be cooking anyway!I recommend this Hotel and would stay there again.
Gail Nicholls of Speedwell Tours.

Room Tip: If one wishes to sleep, dont go new years Eve unless you have a sleeping pill....but whats new!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Kia Ora
Many thanks Gail for the kind review.It was great to meet you all.
I try to add little things to improve our guests stay.
Good old fashioned Kiwi hospitality where guests leave as friends.
We also arrange all the activities and tours from the Bay of Islands at discount prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Thanks Paul for a great stay in Paihia. We really appreciated your hospitality - especially the pack of ginger nut biscuits waiting for us on arrival after a long drive from Auckland! The double bedroom facilities provided us with most of our needs for a family of four, however it would have been great to have a bit more space in the kitchen. The beds were very comfortable to sleep in and rooms whisper quite considering the location and the summer holiday traffic. Will definitely recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springfield9, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review and glad you enjoyed your stay.Our kitchenette is designed for adequate cooking,and has own fridge,dishwasher,stove tops,and microwave,but with great many restaurants only 100 metres away with a huge choice I think our facilties are adequate.
An RSA is only 50 metres away as well which offers great value and a great variety as well
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

When booking accommodation on-line you never really know what you are going to get when you get there, and we were very impressed with our room when we walked through the door! We didn't arrive til almost 9:30pm, but Paul was up and waiting with a very warm welcome. The room was very modern and stylish with all the facilities needed on hand. Our luggage arrived a day later than our flight did and was sent to the motel in Paihai the following morning. We were on a 6 hour cruise when it arrived and when we returned back Paul had very kindly put in our room and also did our breakfast dishes and made our bed, which we did not expect! The location of the motel was within walking distance of our planned tour from the wharf and close to eateries and a small supermarket. Loved the spa bath with back massaging jets!! The bed was really comfortable and we had a great nights sleep after a long and tiring day. We really appreciated that free wi-fi came with the room. Worth every cent and thank you Paul!

Room Tip: Definitely select the room with a spa unit as you will not regret how heavenly the spa is!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thanks to all our past guests and latest reviewer for some incredible reviews.
Its making your experience staying with us at the Dolphin Motel and visiting the Bay of Islands a pleasurable time.
We also give discounts 10% on all single tours and a special deal of $195 for twin tours (Cape Reinga and Hole in the Rock/Dolphin Discoveries which saves you 20%.
Being local kiwis we can help with further arrangements through out New Zealand
Kia Ora from Dolphin Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Being a person who always makes sure every penny is well worth it, with Dolphin Motel, I would say, "yes it is all worth it." Arrived late at night and Paul was there to warmly welcome us. The unit we stayed in was clean & had all what you need to keep your stay comfortable - more than what you expect with how much you paid for. Better still, without hesitation, he let us park our car the following day - that was after we checked out - while we went for our overnight cruise. Thank you, thank you. If we ever get back to Northland, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
I really appreciate another great review.I try my very best to show a good Kiwi hospitality.
Its all combined to give our guests a comfortable stay and make sure they enjoyed themselves at our motel and have happy memories of the Bay of Islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolphin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Motel

Address: 69 Williams Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#10 Family Hotel in Paihia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmarked 4 star. In the heart of Paihia 5 minutes flat walking from waterfront,shops. Wide range of accommodation from Small Queen Studio(Basic Facilities),King Studios,King Studio Spa, One Bedroom(sleeps 3-4),Two bedroom(sleeps 4) and Large Family units(Sleeps 2-7 people)with Spa Bath and BBQ. Kitchens, Sky TV 19 channels. Free WiFi with 2GB, Laundry. Knowledgeable Kiwi operators to help you with tours in the Bay of Islands and throughout New Zealand. Special packages arranged.BBQ also available.New Fast Wifi System.Great Discounts for Tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dolphin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.