We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bounty Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bounty Motel to your Saves list
Bounty Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   42 Selwyn Rd | PO Box 170, Paihia 0200, New Zealand (Formerly Paihia Central Motel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast & WiFi
Ranked #24 of 42 Hotels in Paihia
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great stay, great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed Friday night and got an upgrade and breakfast included, it was greatly appreciated, we were made feel welcome from our arrival to departure, great location an easy stroll into town, comfortable bed and great shower pressure. We were lucky enough to get the same room at a great price when we came back very late Saturday afternoon after a change in plans and we decided to stay on. Overall a great stay with friendly service and we would stay again. Thanks.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalander42, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for your review. Whilst we may not be 5 star we try to compensate by offering value for money and 6 star service. This was obviously appreciated by you and Hesti and I would like to thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    30
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
19
38
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Excellent location, easy walk to town centre. Nice gardens and entrance. Friendly welcoming from Keith.
Our room was superbly comfortable, clean and well appointed. Previous to our arrival, Keith kindly assisted me in organising a gift for my partner to our room.
We will definitely be back and we highly recommend The Bounty Motel :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalander42, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your comments. It is nice to know that the gardens are becoming a feature again. Pruning and planting is now completed and by summer the gardens should be in their prime. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom room and were very happy with the comfort and quaintness of the rooms. The Bounty is close to everything, and we had to just step out of our room to have a magnificent view of the bay. Thanks Keith and his lovey wife for an excellent and quality for money stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalander42, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for your comments, Leah. We will continue trying to give good value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Amazing stay, close to all amenities, welcoming, comfortable and clean.

My family and I came up for easter weekend and it was a great sleep, big bed and very clean facilities. We liked the fact we had free WiFi which kept the Lil ones happy and the continental breakfast didn't go a miss too.

Worth every penny,
#happy cutomer.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalander42, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Many thanks for your kind words. Easter was our first "big weekend" since we took over 5 weeks ago and we had our moments but it is good to know that our efforts were appreciated. We are thrilled with the wifi comments, it seems as though the new system is working fine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muffin1978
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I hate writing bad reviews, but in this case I feel I'm forced to. I will try and be as honest and paint true picture as somethings were bought on by my own miss understanding.

Whilst looking to stay in town for another day we (myself, my lady and our baby boy) wandered around Paihia inquiring about rooms. After being shown a few rooms by the lady from the front desk ( and being follwed by another person who we weren't sure who he was, but he did make some rather strange comments) we agreed that it looked lovely and wanted to stay. When booking in I had miss heard the price (there may have been a slight language barrier as well) and queried it. No voices were raised and it was my fault which my partner pointed out quite quickly and I apoligioesed (it was a difference of 10 dollars so I wasn't overly bothered any way). When we arrived in the morning I was greeted by a elderly gentleman who was out and out rude to me and said that I had upset his wife and proceed to shout at us. As any one with a small child knows the amount of packing etc that you need to do to move from any one place to another is a pain, to then have to run around looking for another place to stay was stressful. If an establishment has a problem with anyone who queries price then they are going to run into problems.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalander42, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Your comments are not true. You were refused accommodation because of racial abuse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

The Probus Group that I was part of recently spent 2 great nights at the Bounty Motel with Keith and Hesti (who had only recently taken over) as our hosts . They were excellent in dealing with an older group of people and went out of their way to help us in any way they could. The rooms were well equipped, clean, comfortable and roomy. The beds were especially comfortable. Although they don't have a restaurant as such, the continental breakfasts they provided as part of our package and the atmosphere in the dining room each morning were great. Their staff were also very friendly and helpful. The proximity to the heart of town was was very convenient. I wouldn't hesitate recommending a stay here at any time. Thank you Keith, Hesti and Staff.

Room Tip: Not sure which way we were facing, but the room I shared was quiet and we slept well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalander42, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hi lyn,
Thank you for the great comments. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip as much as Hesti and I enjoyed having at the Bounty for a couple of days. You will be pleased to know that new signage will erected this week and the new wifi system will go in on Monday. The wifi will cover all apartments, all devices and will be completely free of charge and unlimited access. Just as we discussed. Thank you again and give our love to your mum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

The motel is under new management, and they were at sixes and sevens, but they were very obliging and did their best to please. The rooms were good, and they had refitted a conference room for breakfasts. We were a group of 35 people and everyone went away happy

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalander42, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Hi TykeHB, You really understate it when you say we were at sixes and sevens - more like tens and elevens. We had finished converting an old restaurant/conference room/storage room into a new breakfast room about an hour before you arrived. Your group were absolutely fantastic and once we rearranged the rooms, got the luggage organised and got them a good nights sleep we had lots of fun for two days. We are keeping in touch with quite a few of the group through Facebook and we understand you had a great trip. We would be very happy to host your group again anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bounty Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bounty Motel

Address: 42 Selwyn Rd | PO Box 170, Paihia 0200, New Zealand (Formerly Paihia Central Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bounty Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bounty is a Kiwi owned and operated property, located in a quiet suburb approx 100 meters from the Paihia Beach, shops and restaurants. It is a 3 minute walk to the wharf for dolphin watching, fishing trips, sightseeing and ferry to Russell. Tours to 90 mile beach and Cape Reinga pick you up at the motel entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bounty Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bounty Hotel Paihia
Bounty Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bounty Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.