We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owners comments not adding up? .......” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Adventurer

Bay Adventurer
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bay Adventurer to your Saves list
Bay Adventurer
28 Kings Road | PO Box 29, Paihia 0247 , New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Queenstown, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Owners comments not adding up? .......”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I see all these comments from the owner saying that the night manager has changed but my friend went there last week (not to stay, just to visit her friend off the magic bus who got roped into staying there as they recommend it apparently - sort it out Magic Bus, you're better than that!) and said it was still the same girl living upstairs, Michelle I think she was called.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    11
    7
    7
    7
See reviews for
5
13
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Very average hostel completely spoilt by dishonest managment. We were last in the kitchen one night cleaning up and the staff came in to close up. We left a couple of plates and a pan with our groceries to clean up the next morning before checking out. However, by morning someone had done them. On check out we were told they had played the video camera back to see who hadn't finsished washing up (are we school children?). I explained why we had left them and that we were to finish them off the next morning but they said they would have to fine us. I told them that this was disgraceful and that I was not paying.

A week later $50 was taken from my bank account by this hostel. I contacted the trading standards commission in NZ and although they stated that the money should not have been taken without consent they had no power over this sort of issue. They also said we were not the first to complain about money being taken from our bank accounts by this hostel. Maybe this is an issue for the Police.

If you really have to stay here make sure you use a credit card so that you can claim back on the cards insurance scheme if they rip you off. But really, there are much nicer places to stay if you book in time.

To the management: theft aside, I can not understand what sort of business risks losing repeat customers and recommendations, especially in these times were internet review sites are readily used. How desperate are you?

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

When I googled this place, I was very excited to stay there. It just looked great!
But the reality was far different from what the website said.
I stayed in a 6 person dorm. Though clean, the room for 6 was the size of my average sized bedroom at home for just me.
The common room/kitchen was TINY. There was plenty of people trying to watch television and struggling to even find a place on the floor to sit. Also, common room/kitchen closes crazy early in the night. They lock it and you cant get back in. Even for a glass of water or something to eat!
They also dont let you sit outside in the courtyard at night and anything more than a tiny whisper, you are told off.
The showers/toilets were clean but it was a long outdoor walk from my room to get to it.
The pool area also closes very early.
Because of all of these restrictions, nobody sticks around the place to socialise so there is NO atmosphere. I spent all my time in Base Hostel (Next Door) Where they have a bar, great atmosphere and none of these restrictions.
If your under 40, DONT STAY HERE.
I'm not a mad party person, I was in Paihia to see the wonderful scenery, wildlife and meet new people. It would just have been nice to have stayed somewhere enjoyable while I was at it. It actually felt like being in boarding school....

Room Tip: Dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

I'm very impressed by this place. The showers, toilets, kitchen was always clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. Its quite at night so I could get a good sleep. If you want to party late there is the Pipi Patch just foot steps away. I have stayed at so many backpackers and never got a good night sleep because it was usually really loud and full of drunk people. The Bay Adventurer was perfect for a good nights sleep.

I highly recommend this place when staying in Paihia. I didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012 via mobile

I really didn't enjoy my stay here. Despite seemingly having an army of cleaners the bathrooms were constantly filthy but may be this had something to do with the fact that you had to walk outside to get to them. Which was great fun in the middle of the night when it was raining. I was there over New Year but there seemed to be a lot of kids staying here who were on a missin to get as drunk as possible every night and leave puddles of sick for you to find the next day.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

I was to stay at this hostel for two nights while visiting the bay of islands. Just before we reached the hostel I received a telephone call from home about a death in the family and I had to return home. I contacted the hostel to cancel the reservation and told them the circumstances and the lady who I was talking to told me that the hostel had a 24hour cancellation policy and I would therefore i would be charged for one nights accommodation! I asked her if that was still the case when there was a sudden death and she replied 'yes, we require 24 hour notice'. it's hard to give 24 hour notice in a situation like this!!!!!

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012 via mobile

The good:
It has a pool. There is good parking and its close to some bars and restaurants.

The bad:
The staff were very standoffish and not welcoming AT ALL.
The room smelled of pee.
There are passive aggressive rules plastered everywhere about how they "have great CCTV".
Worst of all the rude manager would not return our key deposit, because our dorm room-mates (who we did not even know) were making noise outside. We managed to sleep, but apparently someone "complained".

Turns out the angry manager lives upstairs...


Overall:
This place is run with an iron fist. I've stayed in loads of backpackers, and this was by far the most unpleasant.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkHarnden, Owner at Bay Adventurer, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
I am the owner of this hostel and must first of all apologize for the bad experience this guest had.
We have now changed our night manager and trust that the problems experienced by a few reviewers has been solved.
We do have a few signs around, as do most hostels, encouraging guests to clean up the kitchen after them selves- always a problem-but we are certainly not over zealous in our attempts to have the place kept clean. We have cleaners who do the job upto 4 times daily.

Once again, sorry, and our new manager will, I am sure, be much more focused on good customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Adventurer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Adventurer

Address: 28 Kings Road | PO Box 29, Paihia 0247 , New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Adventurer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Adventurer Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Adventurer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.