We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stay at Blue Pacific” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Pacific Apartments Paihia

Save Saved
You added Blue Pacific Apartments Paihia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Pacific Apartments Paihia
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   166 Marsden Road | PO Box 351, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Fabulous Stay at Blue Pacific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our family of four (two boys, 14 and 11) spent four fabulous days at Blue Pacific in late March. The two bedroom apartment had a great view of the bay and was well appointed, including with a kitchen that had all of the supplies and nice touches one would want. The main part of town is on the next beach, but is a pleasant 10 minute walk along the water. There is also a supermarket around the corner that we visited every day; we had a couple of nice grills on the patio. Staff was very helpful and the office has movies and boogie boards (and towels) for guests to use. Our only complaint was the wifi: rather the being continuously available, came in pre-paid cards that kept running out; there was no charge but it was a hassle asking for a top-up every day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPPaihia, Manager at Blue Pacific Apartments Paihia, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your positve feedback. Our team do take a lot of pride in maintaining the high standard of our property. We are pleased you were able to experince our location and all the facilities provided within the Apartment.
The WiFi is provided free to all guests.
The vouchers expire only after 7 days or 1GB of usage, which ever comes up first..
We quite happly provide additional vouchers on request at as you stated no charge.
WiFi usage is complimentary to all our guests at all times.
The vouchers can be used on more than one apparatus at any time although this may slow down the speed when using.
Look forward to a return visit one day for your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    20
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
47
80
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victor Harbor, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

OMG is the first words I can remember... , the view across the bay is breath taking and we were so lucky to wake up to this every morning . The apartment (one bedroom) was just amazing everything you need and more ! I loved the choice of teas great ! We also enjoyed the BBQ on the deck on the nights we didn't go out, shopping is close by....just up the road. Every time we returned to our apartment everything was immaculate even the glass surrounds on the deck cleaned just beautiful . Thank you thank you for our first North Island NZ experience we will return and as Doug (Owner) knows I had tears in my eyes leaving such a beautiful part of the world . This is the best accommodation in Paihia and great for photos of the Bay !

Room Tip: One bedroom apartment fabulous for a couple and great for taking photos of the bay ...very comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPPaihia, Manager at Blue Pacific Apartments Paihia, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments..
We are delighted you were able to soak up the ambince of the location.
Look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed in Apartment 9 for 3 nights and it was one of the most wonderful stays we have had. We booked a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment. Both bathrooms have a shower (fantastic pressure) but the downstairs bathroom also has a hot tub! There is a full kitchen which we used to make breakfast, lunch and dinner; and there is also a BBQ on the balcony. Other amenities include in room separate washer and dryer, in room safe, free unlimited WiFi and even a clothes horse with pegs provided. The views are stunning and we fell asleep every night to the sound of waves crashing along the beach.

Doug is the manager/owner and was extremely helpful and responded immediately to any problems (not that there were many) that we had. The housekeeping staff are excellent and I really cannot fault this place. The only negative is that there is no air conditioning (though you don't need it if you leave the balcony doors open) but fans are provided. The hotel is not in the main centre of Paihia (but it's not exactly a big place!) which we found to be advantage as it was peaceful and quiet. It was only a 10 minute stroll down the beach to reach the main wharf.

The place was fully booked whilst we were there so make sure you book early - you will not regret staying here - we didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPPaihia, Manager at Blue Pacific Apartments Paihia, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing our Property. I will pass on your comments to the Housekeeping Staff.
Look forward to hosting your return again in the furture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

we finished our tour of NZ here. the apartments are 5 min walk out of the centre but because of their elevated position above the beach, have possibly the best views of the bay of islands. our apartment, apartment 8, is possibly the best in the complex being on the top two floors both with balconies. the first floor consists of a large lounge/diner, good kitchen and a spa bathroom. the upper floor master bedroom, shower room laundry facilities and second smaller bedroom. the views are to die for and we spent more time on the balcony watching than we would normally because so much was happening. expensive but worth it.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it, the only downside was that the manager was the least friendly person we met on our tour round this wonderful country

Room Tip: apartment 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPPaihia, General Manager at Blue Pacific Apartments Paihia, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We appreciate your comments. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed recently in a 2BR apartment - incredible views. The apartment was well fitted out - great kitchen, main bedroom had a queen bed, the other room 2 singles. Upstairs a bathroom and separate washing machine. Downstairs a bathroom with a spa.
The apartments are a little out of the 'main' strip, but the views are better from where they are.

Room Tip: higher rooms have the better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPPaihia, Manager at Blue Pacific Apartments Paihia, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing the Blue Pacific Apartments. Yes all the Apartments face the Pacific Ocean and has some fantastc views out into the Bay and over the beach in front of us.
It certainly can be very picturesque with all the water activity taking place. Look forward to a return trip from you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

WONDERFUL location overlooking the bay. Loved the view, well equipped kitchen good quality fittings throughout. Staff wonderful. DAILY SERVICE. Loved falling asleep to the noise of the waves on the beach below
Drawback is that the2 bedroom United stayed in was designed for mum dad and the kids. For 2 couples one does very well the other less so. The second bedroom is quite small and contains a king sized bed and little else. It has poor ventilation even with the window open. The second bathroom contains a spa bath but is on the downstairs level.

Room Tip: If you are a foursome and not into Jacuzzis request a unit without it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPPaihia, Manager at Blue Pacific Apartments Paihia, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
We appreciate your comments about the bedding in this type of Apartment.
Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This place was nothing like their photos!!!! Beds are lumpy no way we could do 5 nights. We checked out. We left our jacket and cell phone in the room we called 4 days later and the manager said it was no where to be found. I wrote an email and they somehow found it after we returned home. They charged us to ship it and removed the cell phone battery. The manager was very rude when we went to check out. We offered to lay a nights stay. I have picture to share with oyster.com. This shows the real and actual photos not doctored up

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel at all cost!!! This place was over $300 a night and should be a backpackers hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPPaihia, General Manager at Blue Pacific Apartments Paihia, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Let us balance the reviewers comments to what actually took place.
We have six types of apartments on site. When booking on the Internet, make sure the type you are seeking is the one you are booking. In this case the Apartment wanted by the reviewer was not available. On arrival, demanded to be placed in an Apartment that was occuipied by other guests.
Photos. All photos taken and placed on our web site are from the actual Apartment as you can view when selecting to view each Apartment type and then the individal Apartment.
We do not need to doctor our photos.
Star Rating. We like the marjority of NZ accommodation providers are accessed by New Zealands Qualmark. Qualmark awards the star ratings.
Lost Property.If a third party makes an enquirey for lost property, they will be declined of any knowledge of the property. ( Company policy).This is what happened on this occasion.
Charging for returning lost Property. Yes when directed to use a particular service that is more expensive than the preferred option. Lost property is the owners responsibilty to recover.
Removal of the Cell phone Battery. Yes, this is a an instruction by the Courier Companies when using air transport to move such goods.Thought that was obvious with unaccompanied live cell phones on aircraft are a dangerous and prohibited item.
Qualmark is very though and check everthing in the Apartments to ensure it meets the required New Zealand Standards they set for all Accommadation providors.
Unfortunally in life you can not please everyone.
We do our best to ensure everyone has an undisturbed enjoyable stay with us.
This can be vilifed by the Travelers Choice 2013 Winners Award.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Pacific Apartments Paihia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Pacific Apartments Paihia

Address: 166 Marsden Road | PO Box 351, Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Paihia
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Blue Pacific Apartments Paihia 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 10 Apartments offer spectacular and unrivalled vistas of the Bay of Islands including The Waitangi Treaty Grounds and historic Russell as guests relax and restore in comfort and style.Our exquisite waterfront location overlooks Paihias most popular swimming beach and out to the Pacific ocean, and is a leisurely 12 minute stroll to the centre of Paihia for shopping, cafes, restaurants, and the wharf area for Tours and Cruises.Each of our 1,2, or 3 bedroom Apartments offers a fully equipped luxury Italian styled kitchen and bathroom(s), own laundry (washer and dryer). Flat screen TV's, Sky TV,free Wifi and Broadband. Each has a private balcony with uninterrupted views, and is equipped with a BBQ and outdoor furniture. Four apartments include jacuzzi's outdoor on the balcony with 1 inside and two include spa baths inside their second bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Blue Pacific Apartments Paihia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Pacific Apartments Paihia Hotel Paihia
Blue Pacific Apartments Hotel Paihia
Blue Pacific Apartments Paihia Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Pacific Apartments Paihia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.