We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet,Tranquil and Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands to your Saves list
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   58 Seaview Road | Paihia, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quiet,Tranquil and Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Friendly staff at check in, and extremely helpful. We had a deluxe room, with a balcony looking out on to a central garden, very tranquil. The room was very clean, there were ample clean towels, a selection of toiletries to take home (on top of what was already provided) or purchase larger sizes if you liked them. There was also a selection of pillows depending on your needs. We had access to 1hr free wifi each day,which was perfect as we spent each day exploring the surrounding areas. Yes you can pay for extra wifi though. We used the laundry facilities and it only cost $4 for the wash which included detergent and then $4 for the dryer. Both machines were clean and large in size. Both took about 30 mins. The dining room was very lovely, the menu catered for all needs, and the food was presented well and tasted great. They make great coffee too. It took about 10 minutes to walk into the main area of the town but having the ocean to one side of you and interesting buildings on the other made it for an interesting walk. The town has restricted parking, most parking spots were only 30 mins, so a walk was perfect. We highly recommend a small pub called "Splash Bar" with the sea as your view and great food at even better prices. We would stay at the Scenic Hotel again, and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Any of the deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind words after your recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of islands. I am very pleased to read that you found all our facilities and amenities to your satisfaction.As you say it is better to walk into the town centre and enjoy the surroundings. Hopefully we will get to see you again in the near future. Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    141
    39
    8
    2
See reviews for
64
184
15
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Impressed with size of rooms. Ours had two queen beds, large sliding door to a patio with chairs. Guest laundry available. Wifi available at a cost, but a very reasonable $10 NZ for 24 hours.
Only drawback is the distance to downtown. About a ten minute walk which is okay if the weather is good.

Room Tip: Ground and second floor rooms. There is no elevator for luggage. First floor room we had came with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your review after your recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands. Good to read that you found the rooms spacious and to your liking. Whilst the walk to town maybe 10 minutes it is a very stimulating 10 minutes with beach on one side and historical buildings on the other - obviously way more enjoyable when the weather is fine! Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

My partner and I went to Paihia for a romantic anniversary weekend, and it was delightful to stay at Paihia Scenic Hotel. The booking process was easy, and we received a free juice on arrival which was a lovely touch to have after getting out of a hot car. The Deluxe room was great, had a little veranda area, 2 queen size beds and a large bathroom. It even had a coffee plunger in the room, which was nice. The breakfast the next morning was included in our room rate, and was very nice. The hot selection was good, as were baked goods and the fruit. Coffee was nice and strong - which is important to me. I would really recommend this hotel, and would happily return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your review after your recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands. We are very pleased to read that we provided a pleasant and comfortable base for your special weekend. It is also pleasing to read that you enjoyed our breakfast offerings as this is an important start to the day. Hopefully we will see you again in Paihia and Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands. Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We went for our Honeymoon last Year in December 12 and chose Bay of Isalnds as one of the destination. A highly recommended destination for water lovers, and smallness of the city !. Hotel is tad far not in realistic terms but for Bay of Islands it seems like a long walk if nature blesses you with Wind chills. Except the location, Very clean, good food, hospitable staff. We were unlucky with good internet connection though, but I would guess it was due to the location of our room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your review of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands. The hotel and township must have left a very favourable impression on you to remember us after almost one year! Hopefully one day you will return to visit Paihia again and we welcome the opportunity to provide accommodation for you should that be the case. Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at scenic for two nights in Nov and had an amazing time. The staff were warm, friendly, knowledgeable and prompt from pronoun to check out. They always had a smile and welcomed us back from wherever we had been and we felt a genuine sense of care from them all. The room was VERY clean, comfortable ans well appointed. The beauty products were luxurious abd replaced daily. Quiet and secluded, we felt truly relaxed on our room. We got fantastic local knowledge and recommendations from staff which led us to having an unforgettable holiday. The buffet breakfast we had each morning was fresh and delicious, loved how they made eggs to order! The package we purchased reflected value for money, and for what we recieved, would have happily paid more! Thanks for giving these young parents a much needed break :-)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review after your recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands. I am very pleased to read that our team, facilities and service all combined to provide you with a peaceful, comfortable and relaxing time away from the family!Hopefully we will see you back in Paihia in the near future. Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

If you want a nice ambience you can't go wrong with Scenic Paihia. I have stayed here for work on numerous occasions and have always found it to be very friendly and welcoming. Accommodation is in different blocks. I've stayed in standard and superior rooms and they're lovely. Superior rooms are spacious, with lovely little garden patio at front of room accessed by sliding doors. Beds are comfy, bathroom spacious and you get an Eco bag to take home leftover toiletries that are abundant. Food is fine, if a little pricey. For brekky I tend to opt for a la carte but continental and full brekky is ok if you're extra hungry. Agnes is lovely as are all the staff. Only downside is 1 free hour of Internet. For a hotel that size it should be free.

Room Tip: 800-900 rooms very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your review after your most recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands. It is gratifying to hear of guests enjoying the service and facilities over multiple stays. Thank you for your comments on Agnes - she is one of many staff who are hospitality professionals here at Scenic Hotel Bay of islands, all of whom love to deliver superior service to our guests. Looking forward to your next stay with us. Regards Graeme Horsley General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Also just got back from 2-night stay with the hotel, everything was spotless and well presented, the only frustration we had was the Wireless Internet connection. We were told by the reception whilst checking in and also displayed in the foyer, the hotel offers high-speed wireless internet free for one hour; and guests need to pay $5 - $24 for various hours selection.

- Don't think its right in the first instance for charging for using the wireless internet;

- The Internet speed is quite slow that pictures on mobile phones cannot be displayed;

- The 'hours' consumed are clock hours, rather than 'actual usage' hours, which means once it starts, it will run continuously for the designated time frame, if you decide to do something else, e.g. have a dinner, your time-frame will be wasted.

Please revise the Internet usage policy as I have signed up with your Return Rewards program and I do look forward to seeing some changes in the future if I were going to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your review after your recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands. The internet solutions in place are a continually reviewed project and we have invested considerable time and money in establishing a good cost effective system. Prices,as you mention, range from $5 for phone, ipad etc, $10 for PC and a $20 family plan that allows up to 4 devices simultaneously. These prices are all 24 hour based. We have introduced one free hour this year for all users and the target is for completely free internet within 12 months. I will discuss the internet speed with our IT experts - thaks for bringing this to our attention. Good to see you have joined the group loyalty program - hopefully we will see more of you in the future, either in Paihia or NZ wide. Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands

Address: 58 Seaview Road | Paihia, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Paihia
#14 Family Hotel in Paihia
#15 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands has a sub-tropical resort ambiance, with island-influenced architecture, beautifully landscaped grounds and light airy rooms. Situated at the entrance to the seaside town of Paihia, it’s a pleasant stroll into town to access the main wharf, visitor activities, fine dining and shopping. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, the relaxed atmosphere of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands will melt away your stresses in moments. The entire property has been extensively refurbished and expanded, and the attention to detail will impress you. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of accommodation styles including standard, superior and deluxe rooms. Beautifully presented guest rooms, with earthy tones, splashes of colour, and quality room amenities. Excellent hotel facilities, including swimming pool, ample parking, wireless Internet and comprehensive conference facilities. Quality, relaxed dining and socialising in our licensed restaurant, and lounge bar. Easy walking access to Paihia’s main wharf, shops and local attractions. Our lush sub-tropical gardens, with water features and feature lighting, are attractive and relaxing by day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Paihia
Scenic Hotel Bay Of Islands Paihia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.