We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands to your Saves list
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   58 Seaview Road | Paihia, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 42 Hotels in Paihia
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Overall nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Also just got back from 2-night stay with the hotel, everything was spotless and well presented, the only frustration we had was the Wireless Internet connection. We were told by the reception whilst checking in and also displayed in the foyer, the hotel offers high-speed wireless internet free for one hour; and guests need to pay $5 - $24 for various hours selection.

- Don't think its right in the first instance for charging for using the wireless internet;

- The Internet speed is quite slow that pictures on mobile phones cannot be displayed;

- The 'hours' consumed are clock hours, rather than 'actual usage' hours, which means once it starts, it will run continuously for the designated time frame, if you decide to do something else, e.g. have a dinner, your time-frame will be wasted.

Please revise the Internet usage policy as I have signed up with your Return Rewards program and I do look forward to seeing some changes in the future if I were going to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your review after your recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands. The internet solutions in place are a continually reviewed project and we have invested considerable time and money in establishing a good cost effective system. Prices,as you mention, range from $5 for phone, ipad etc, $10 for PC and a $20 family plan that allows up to 4 devices simultaneously. These prices are all 24 hour based. We have introduced one free hour this year for all users and the target is for completely free internet within 12 months. I will discuss the internet speed with our IT experts - thaks for bringing this to our attention. Good to see you have joined the group loyalty program - hopefully we will see more of you in the future, either in Paihia or NZ wide. Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    157
    52
    9
    3
See reviews for
72
213
18
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Series of large accommodation blocks with gardens between and a central reception/bar/restaurant building.
Huge rooms, very smart presentation and nicely finished. Very restful, so much so that I fell asleep and missed going out for dinner! A dash to the hotel restaurant at 8:30pm(closing at 9pm) enabled me to get a last minute order in. I ordered Steak and eggs with fries and salad($24.50), fortunately it was a small steak but cooked as requested medium/rare. An excellent meal at the last minute! As I was the only diner there the waiter asked if I needed anything more before leaving with the chef. The receptionist came in to present the bill and clear away.
Breakfast was continental, toaster worked well needing only one pass to give good colour to bread. Good variety of pastries, breads and spreads. Variety of fresh fruit and juices.
Scenic Hotels add surcharge of 1.5% for Credit Card payments

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your review after your recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands. It would seem that our signature feather beds are still doing the job and providing a superior , comfortable sleeping platform! Your comments on the food quality are appreciated and I will pass this on to the kitchen and restaurant teams. Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Just back from a 2 night stay. We were upgraded to a deluxe room with 2 double beds. Everything was spottless. Although it doesn't have sea views the beach is only a couple of minutes walk away.
We had breakfast as part of our package and it was ok - but I wouldn't pay $24.50 per adult. I think you could do better in town. Hot food consisted of streaky (fatty) bacon, watery scrambled eggs, very cheap sausages, hash browns, baked beans and tomatoes. Staff were helpful and there was no issue when I asked for poached eggs. Dinner is a good deal if you are travelling with children. Buy 2 courses and the child eats for free. They provided a little note offering "happy hour" on drinks at a time suitable to guests. I had an issue - I called Auckland with a calling card and it was expensive and when I noticed it on the bill the amount was quickly taken off (even though it was my fault for not checking prices first).
Would nightly recommend this hotel - it would be great is there were a couple of bar-b-ques for quests to use, as eating out can get costly - especially if you are travelling as a family.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your review after your recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of islands. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed the majority of the amenities and services we offer and I will review the breakfast buffet offerings in light of your comments - thank you. Also happy to read that the staff were quick to deal with your phone charge issues at check out. Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I hadn't prebooked this hotel and got what I think was a pretty good rate at the reception desk, so if you arrive in Paihia without accommodation, it's worth asking. They also upgraded me from a standard to a superior room, and it was lovely. Two very comfortable queen beds, very spacious room, two arm chairs, lots of luggage space. Best bit was the outlook - it opened straight onto a wilderness garden filled with trees and shrubs, with two chairs and a table to sit at. The only downside of all that greenery was the noisy birdsong in the morning! Otherwise the rooms were extremely quiet - didn't hear the neighbours at all

The room and bathroom were spotless. A couple of very minor issues - the shower cap pack was neatly placed, but when opened was empty. And the body lotion I used on the first day wasn't replaced on the second. And it would be lovely to return to a hot bath at the end of a day of touring - only having a shower is a (very minor) drawback.

The hotel is a smidgeon out of the way for accessing boat trips, shops etc, but probably quieter for that. Probably a 10 minute stroll to the centre of action.

The staff were incredibly helpful and nice to deal with.

I had a lovely stay here - was only planning to stay one night, but rapidly changed my mind when I realised how good it was. Warmly recommended.

Room Tip: If you can get an upgrade to a superior room I think it's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your review after your recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands. We are happy that you enjoyed the environs of the hotel and the peaceful gardens - will have a word to the birds to keep it down in the morning though!
I have discussed the issues you had with the housekeeper so thank you for bringing those iotems to our attention. Hoping to see you back at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands sometime in the future. Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The room was spotless, and had a private garden courtyard. The gardens throughout the complex were very well maintained.
The rooms were quiet - didn't hear any noise from other guests.
Even provided a small bag to place half-used toiletry items in if you wanted to continue to enjoy them after your stay.
Staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your review of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands after your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the peaceful garden setting of the hotel and that our amenties and staff service was to your satisfaction. Hopefully we will see you again should you travel to Paihia again in the near future. Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Room was clean and well appointed, service was outstanding. While not directly by the shore, it is a quiet hotel with a relaxed feel. I would agree with our guests however, no heated pool or spa pool was a disappointment. All this aside, definitely my favorite place to stay in the Bay of Islands.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your review after your recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay Of Islands. We are pleased tp read that you found our rooms and service to your satisfaction. From the comments about the pool area I will be suggesting to the owners that they consider heating. We have just extended the area around the poolside and placed more sun loungers so this will be a great area for the summer ( and the pool will be warmer then too!) Regards Graeme Horsley General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muenchen
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed with our children (2 & 4 years) at the hotel in one of the loft rooms. Perfect - since they are seperate rooms (upstairs & downstairs) whilst still connected. The layout, furnishing and overall presentation of the room is great and combined with the well kept property has resulted in a great stay. Great value for money too. Only downside is that the property is not beachfront, but a only a 5 minute stroll to the beach and 10mins to town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your review after your recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands. We are pleased you and your family found our amenities to your satisfaction and that the loft room suited your needs well. We hope you choose Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands again should you visit Piahia in the future. Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands

Address: 58 Seaview Road | Paihia, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paihia
#17 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#18 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#19 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands has a sub-tropical resort ambiance, with island-influenced architecture, beautifully landscaped grounds and light airy rooms. Situated at the entrance to the seaside town of Paihia, it’s a pleasant stroll into town to access the main wharf, visitor activities, fine dining and shopping. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, the relaxed atmosphere of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands will melt away your stresses in moments. The entire property has been extensively refurbished and expanded, and the attention to detail will impress you. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of accommodation styles including standard, superior and deluxe rooms. Beautifully presented guest rooms, with earthy tones, splashes of colour, and quality room amenities. Excellent hotel facilities, including swimming pool, ample parking, wireless Internet and comprehensive conference facilities. Quality, relaxed dining and socialising in our licensed restaurant, and lounge bar. Easy walking access to Paihia’s main wharf, shops and local attractions. Our lush sub-tropical gardens, with water features and feature lighting, are attractive and relaxing by day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Paihia
Scenic Hotel Bay Of Islands Paihia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.