We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paihia, Bay of Islands, Scenic Hotel. - All Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands to your Saves list
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   58 Seaview Road | Paihia, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Mangawhai, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Paihia, Bay of Islands, Scenic Hotel. - All Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Everything about staying at the Paihia Scenic Resort Hotel was tops. We pre-booked by phone no problem, got the best deal, and on arrival, the friendly Manager was helpful and dealt with our bookings very efficiently. Our rooms were in a quiet wing surrounded by beautiful gardens and away from the road. Parking was nearby.

We found everything in the way of service and rooms to be 5 star +. Good large rooms, clean and with everything we needed.

We dined in the hotel restaurant and the dinner menu provided a good choice as did the wine list. Good meal portions, well presented and perfectly cooked.

Breakfast in the dining room was another pleasure. Friendly efficient wait staff and a high quality selection of both continental and full cooked breakfast.

We have now stayed at Scenic Hotel Paihia twice and would have no hesitation in staying again.

Room Tip: Ask about their special Bed and Breakfast package.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for once again choosing Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands. It is great to read of your experiences here and I am very pleased that all amenties and services were to your complete satisfaction. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit. Regards Graeme Horsley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    141
    39
    8
    2
See reviews for
64
184
15
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Our stay was exceptional from the time we arrived on Saturday until we left on the Monday .We were greeted with a very warm welcome and the hotel manager really went the extra mile to accommodate our group . The rooms were great - they were spotlessly clean with very comfortable beds and the bathrooms had plenty of cosmetic supplies .
The breakfast was amazing making the nightly rate extremely good value . We will definitely be back .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review after your recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands. It was very pleasing to read of your great experience with us and that your group was satisfied with our amenities and service. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip north! Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were greeted with a huge smile from the receptionist. Showen to a lovely spotless room.
The bed and beding were of a very high quality and oh some comfortable.
The staff in the resturant were so happy and freindly nothing was to much trouble.
The food in the resturant was of a very high quality and plenty of it.
We had such a lovely break. So relaxing.
A spa pool would be the only thing missing.
Well done Scenic you have it just right, keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a more open feel about them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review after your recent stay with us. It is very gratifying to read that you found our facilities and staff to your satisfaction. I note your comments on the spa pool - maybe I can persuade the company to install one! We look forward to seeing you again should you revisit Paihia in the future. Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were greeted by a very friendly member of the reception staff who made us feel at home straightaway. The hotel, its amenities and the area was all explained quickly and clearly and we had been upgraded which is always welcome. Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable with all facilities as expected. The mini bar was comprehensive although as expected a little expensive. The town centre was only a short walk away and although the season is coming to end, plenty of shops and cafes/restaurants were open. We ate in both nights and the food was very good with a lovely selection to choose from. Service was quick and even though we ordered from their 'lighter meals' selection the quantity we had was excellent. No need to leave hungry! Breakfast was also plentiful both in the continental and cooked food choices. All staff we meet were very friendly and always had time to talk, they seemed interested in us which was very nice to see. A hotel to recommend and visit again in what is a lovely part of the north island.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands after your recent stay. I am pleased to read that you found all facilities to your satisfaction. Our staff are our biggest asset however and your comments on them reflect their warm and hospitable nature. We look forward to seeing you again should you venture back to the Bay of Islands. Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised by the decor, quality of the room and facilities. It's not beach-front, but still within an easy walking distance to the main dining/shopping area.

The landscaping was absolutely beautiful & lush, with birds galore singing right in front of the balcony. The garden view was really beautiful. The room was quiet, with a heat-pump.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The welcome cocktail (non-alcoholic) was a delightful start, having just driven a long way.

The only thing I missed was a hot pool, and another towel rail in the bathroom.

We ate breakfast in the restaurant, which was fresh and plentiful. We didn't dine in, so can't comment, although the menu looked enticing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of the Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands after your recent stayin Paihia. It was pleasing to read that you found our facilities to your satisfaction and that the tuis performed for you!! Should you visit the Bay of Islands again in the near future we would welcome the opportunity to have you stay with us once more. Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in a Deluxe room. Immaculate hotel rooms, comfy as beds, lush gardens, ample free parking and the Nikau restaurant was awesome. Staff very friendly and helpful, would definately stay here again - the only thing that could have improved our stay, was a spa pool for the winter evenings :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands after your recent stay. We are very pleased that all facets of your stay were to your total satisfaction (sorry about the spa pool however!). We hope you will visit Paihia again in the near future and we look forward to the opportunity to have you stay with us should you do so. Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We travelled as part of a tour group to Bay of Islands recently, the Scenic Hotel was absolutely fabulous, will definitely be back there again and will stay at Scenic again, rooms extremely clean and comfortable, staff absolutely fabulous

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind review after your recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands. The team is very pleased that you found them and their service to be to your satisfaction. We look forward to your return to Paihia and our hotel! Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands

Address: 58 Seaview Road | Paihia, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Paihia
#14 Family Hotel in Paihia
#15 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands has a sub-tropical resort ambiance, with island-influenced architecture, beautifully landscaped grounds and light airy rooms. Situated at the entrance to the seaside town of Paihia, it’s a pleasant stroll into town to access the main wharf, visitor activities, fine dining and shopping. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, the relaxed atmosphere of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands will melt away your stresses in moments. The entire property has been extensively refurbished and expanded, and the attention to detail will impress you. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of accommodation styles including standard, superior and deluxe rooms. Beautifully presented guest rooms, with earthy tones, splashes of colour, and quality room amenities. Excellent hotel facilities, including swimming pool, ample parking, wireless Internet and comprehensive conference facilities. Quality, relaxed dining and socialising in our licensed restaurant, and lounge bar. Easy walking access to Paihia’s main wharf, shops and local attractions. Our lush sub-tropical gardens, with water features and feature lighting, are attractive and relaxing by day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Paihia
Scenic Hotel Bay Of Islands Paihia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.