We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treat to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands to your Saves list
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   58 Seaview Road | Paihia, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A treat to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This lovely hotel is not done any justice by the companies web site.Our stay here was one of many we stayed at while doing a trans New Zealand tour with Collette Tours.The room was very comfortable and spacious,only a .short walk to the sea front,which was great as my partner cannot walk great distances.The breakfasts were substantial with a very good choice(The Bircher Meusli was excellent).
The night we arrived they knew just how to get to amans heart witha very good carvery ala UK,with as much as you liked to have,can,t fault that.
The staff again were very helpful and accommodating,with nothing to much trouble and every request done immediately.Some United Kingdom establishments should take heed.

Room Tip: This hotel is set out in blocks and it depends which one you as to outside noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments after your recent stay. We are particularly pleased with your comments on the restaurant and the staff as we try hard to provide the best of services at all time. Wishing you a safe journey home! Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    141
    39
    8
    2
See reviews for
64
184
15
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed for a week and whilst the hotel was lovely and the room was spacious we found that the cleaning staff let them down. The room was not dusted or vacuumed for the entire week and the bed was only changed once. The facilities in the hotel were lovely and we had some great meals in the restaurant and would like to thank Paulo in particular for his wonderful service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your feed back after your recent stay although the housekeeping staff seemed to have had a bad week. I have passed your comments on to the Head Housekeeper and she apologises for the shortcomings you experienced. On the more positive aspects of your stay we are pleased you enjoyed the restaurant and Paulo's hospitality.
Regards
Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Everything was great, the room was modern, clean, spacious and well decorated, air conditioning, high quality furnishings and linen, a balconey with an outlook over a nice tropical garden and very private. very very comfortable to stay in. The staff are informed and genuinley helpful, the restaurant food was great with an interesting take on a menu, complimentary newspaper delivered each morning.

Room Tip: Deluxe room is what i stayed in, 3G reception can be a bit hard to get but i asked the staff to cons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your great comments after your stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands - we are pleased we met your accommodation requirements. You seem to have worked out what works for you when staying so please do not hesitate to request particular rooms etc when booking again! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Regards Graeme HOrsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland NZ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Gorgeous place to stay. Large well appointed rooms. The staff were incredibly helpful. We arrived before check in time and were let into our rooms. Fantastic! We were going to a wedding and it was raining so they lent us umbrellas. Particular thanks to Thaias and Teena who were excellent!

Room Tip: The rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your great feedback. I have let both Thais and Teena know of your comments and thanked them very much for making your stay an enjoyable one!
Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We planned this trip for our family. The first night we ordered a meal at the hotel restaurant and it was extremely poor! Not only did we wait an hour and a half for our meals we did not receive the meals to our satisfaction. The steak was over well done when we wanted it medium rare and the Caesar salad consisted of just lettuce shaved bacon and a poached egg on top! For the prices that we paid the result was unsatisfactory!

We stayed for three (3) nights. We wanted our rooms made up in the way of new towels and coffee and milk refreshments. We put our sign on the door when we left at 8:30am and when we returned four (4) hours later our room had still been unattended. The next day our room was attended to but the floors were not vacuumed!

We feel this was a poor experience for the prices that we were charged! We will never revisit this resort again!/.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments after your recent stay although it appears we failed to deliver on several fronts.
I was made aware of your problems with your meals after the fact and although not happy with either the time taken to prepare your meals and the shortcomings on two of the dishes served I was pleased to see that the staff on duty made the decision not to charge for those two meals although I realise this is small consolation when all you expected, and rightly so, to have an enjoyable family meal.
Whilst we endeavour to have all our rooms serviced as promptly as possible it is impossible to have all done at once. We generally find that most of our guests are out enjoying the lovely area all day and do get caught short when guests go out for a half day instead. Our daily target is to have all rooms serviced and ready by 2.00 pm daily.
I have addressed the problem with the lack of proper vacuum cleaning with the Head Housekeeper and she apologises for her department's shortcoming in your case.
I am disappointed we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion as we pride ourselves on our service and this is generally recognised in the majority of our TripAdvisor comments.
I hope your experience did not unduly spoil your visit to our lovely area.
Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

A 4 night stay here with our sailing team was great. Handy location in Paihia meant we could walk to dinner.
The rooms, while simple, are well appointed and nicely decorated in modern but comfortable and clean lines.
Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your great comments - we are very pleased we managed to cpmplement your sailing experiences with our accommodation offerings.
Hopefully we will see you again in Paihia and we look forward to the opportunity of hosting you once more.
Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Scenic Hotel in Paihia in the beautiful Bay of Islands and found it to be a peaceful spot, our upstairs room and balcony overlooking the lawns and gardens . It is an easy 5 minute walk to the beach and shops, and a very pleasant 10 min walk to the central jetty area. The room and bathroom were well appointed, and clean and attractive, and all the staff friendly and helpful. We would especially recommend having dinner there , the menu was excellent and good service with great attentive staff, we ate there every night. The breakfast choice was good too. We would certainly stay there again.

Maxi Brisbane

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room close to the reception area if you have mobility problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your very positive feedback - obviously we are delighted you found our facilities and staff to your satisfaction. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Paihia in the not too distant future. Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands

Address: 58 Seaview Road | Paihia, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Paihia
#14 Family Hotel in Paihia
#15 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands has a sub-tropical resort ambiance, with island-influenced architecture, beautifully landscaped grounds and light airy rooms. Situated at the entrance to the seaside town of Paihia, it’s a pleasant stroll into town to access the main wharf, visitor activities, fine dining and shopping. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, the relaxed atmosphere of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands will melt away your stresses in moments. The entire property has been extensively refurbished and expanded, and the attention to detail will impress you. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of accommodation styles including standard, superior and deluxe rooms. Beautifully presented guest rooms, with earthy tones, splashes of colour, and quality room amenities. Excellent hotel facilities, including swimming pool, ample parking, wireless Internet and comprehensive conference facilities. Quality, relaxed dining and socialising in our licensed restaurant, and lounge bar. Easy walking access to Paihia’s main wharf, shops and local attractions. Our lush sub-tropical gardens, with water features and feature lighting, are attractive and relaxing by day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Paihia
Scenic Hotel Bay Of Islands Paihia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.