We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands to your Saves list
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   58 Seaview Road | Paihia, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very Quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The rooms here are spacious and very comfortable, even with 2 double beds in a room. The beds were the most cosy that we stayed in out of all the hotels we visited during our trip. Lovely and quiet location, despite being close by the main street, although you may choose to drive if going to the shops as it is a few blocks away. Lovely garden setting, and rooms have balconies which are very peaceful to relax on. The staff were very cheerful, and helpful. Very good new computers & fast internet available in the lobby, for a reasonable fee. Loved it here and would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for your complimentary comments and we are happy that your stay was enjoyable and problem free! I would agree that the beds in the deluxe rooms are super comfy and ensure a great sleep. I will pass your comments on to the staff and they do offer great service and enjoy helping guests.
Hopefully we will have the opportunity to host you again should you return to Paihia
Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    141
    39
    8
    2
See reviews for
64
184
15
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Location is great, easy walk to central area. Room was spacious, but fairly basic. Good hospitality. Great cocktails, great service at happy hour!

Room service was generous, and fairly well priced. Worth a visit.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we are pleased that you enjoyed the facilities we have on offer. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again should you return to Paihia.
Regards
Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the hotel. Rooms were fine. But they didn't make the beds till 5pm. We had to ring then twice. It was pouring down with rain, fortunately, we had a brolly in the room but we came across other guests who didn't . Would not recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Please see my response to B C above re cleaning staff - an unfortunate situation that we tried as hard as possible to rectify.
Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk vulcan
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

stayed in a disabled access room that was large and comfortable. plenty of space to move around and store the wheelchair. good guest laundry so could top up the clean clothes. really near the sea front and easy to walk to the center of town. Staff very helpful and friendly.
hotel generally clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments. We are pleased we could offer suitable accommodation to suit your needs and that the staff offered their usual helpful and friendly service!
We hope you will return to Paihia in the futute and again give us the opportunity to provide your accommodation requirements.
REgards
Graeme Horsley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

this hotel is absolutely lovely. we had booked a room for the family, and it was a loft, with a queen upstairs and king bed downstairs. the room was very clean and modern. the beds were very comfortable. the only thing I would suggest to the property is to look after some air conditioning for the room upstairs which can get very hot during the day. it is also nice that the hotel is within walking distance to the beach and the main strip in paihia.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments on our property - we are pleased you enjoyed the accommodation as well as the handy location to the beach and township. We are working our way through the air conditioning of the rooms and whilst not all rooms are yet fitted with AC a good number are. We hope you will find yourselves back in Paihia in the future and we look forward to be able to welcoming you back to the Scenic HJotel Bay of Islands.
Graeme Horsley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I found the staff at Scenic Hotel BOI to be very helpful, friendly and accomading. The rooms were clean and the pillows comfortable. I found the bathroom space and lighting both left much to be desired. The breakfast options in the restaurant were affordable and hearty, and the service there was really nice as well. I found it pretty silly that wifi was not provided (even at a small amount of MB) as I've stayed in really cheap, budget accommodations that provide wifi for their guests. In this day and age I guess I take it as a given, but this place has reminded me to check all the available amenities before I book a hotel. I also think the ambiance would be greatly improved with a spa tub by the pool :)

Room Tip: Family rooms are great options for a group of friends travelling together, as they are still very af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands and recognising our friendly and helpful staff! Your comments about our breakfasts are very welcome also - we seem to got the formula right here to ensure the first meal of the day is an enjoyable experience. Please see my comments in the previous review about wifi. As mentioned we will shortly be offering free service just to allow our guests to access emails etc.Whilst I appreciate other types of accommodation providers offer free wifi we consider we offer high speed, quality, secure and uncapped internet service similar to that you experience at home - all at very competitive rates compared to other large hotel groups.
Would love a spa pool here also - will try and twist the hotel owner's arm!
Again - thanks for your comments and we look forward to the opportunity to accommodate you should you revisit Paihia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

We had one of the recently refurbished ground floor rooms and it was top notch. Lovely bed and a good choice of channels of the tv. The breakfast was a good hearty continental feast and was only € 16.00 each which by NZ standards is a bargain

The bad bit is the Internet access which I guess is a theme in NZ hotels. I bought a 2 hr package on the iPad but didn't realise that you must use it in one session and got stung a further € 10 for logging in twice more... Very confusing approach , they need to get with the rest of the world but this is it unique to this hotel, it's a time throughout...

Staff were very helpful and pleasant and you got to park your car right outside your room

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your favourable comments on the accommodation and breakfasts. With regards to the internet charges it is clearly stated that the packages are for specified time frames which is why we recommend users to take a $10 - 24 hour package as opposed to a $5 - 2 hour package. As a group Scenic Hotels have introduced the most cost effective wifi plans as compared to other major hotel plans - at $10 for 24 hours we compare very favourably against the usual $30 charged by others. We would love to give it free but internet in NZ is still an expensive commodity. As a group we will shortly be offering free internet for short periods to enable our guests to quickly check their emails.
Again , thanks for your comments.
Graeme Horsley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands

Address: 58 Seaview Road | Paihia, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Paihia
#14 Family Hotel in Paihia
#15 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands has a sub-tropical resort ambiance, with island-influenced architecture, beautifully landscaped grounds and light airy rooms. Situated at the entrance to the seaside town of Paihia, it’s a pleasant stroll into town to access the main wharf, visitor activities, fine dining and shopping. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, the relaxed atmosphere of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands will melt away your stresses in moments. The entire property has been extensively refurbished and expanded, and the attention to detail will impress you. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of accommodation styles including standard, superior and deluxe rooms. Beautifully presented guest rooms, with earthy tones, splashes of colour, and quality room amenities. Excellent hotel facilities, including swimming pool, ample parking, wireless Internet and comprehensive conference facilities. Quality, relaxed dining and socialising in our licensed restaurant, and lounge bar. Easy walking access to Paihia’s main wharf, shops and local attractions. Our lush sub-tropical gardens, with water features and feature lighting, are attractive and relaxing by day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Paihia
Scenic Hotel Bay Of Islands Paihia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.