We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality hotel in a handy location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands to your Saves list
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   58 Seaview Road | Paihia, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 42 Hotels in Paihia
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Good quality hotel in a handy location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Good size room, comfy bed & pillows and a good hot power shower. Just what every hotel should have. Decent choice for breakfast and friendly service.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    155
    50
    9
    3
See reviews for
71
209
18
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

Stayed here for four days and were very impressed with the hotel itself and the level of service.
On arrival we were told that we had been upgraded to the new deluxe rooms due to the fact we were staying for a longer period which was a nice gesture and the rooms really were deluxe as they were pretty new and of a very good standard amenities wise.
The restaurant food for dinner and breakfast was very good and the price reasonable for what you got.
There is lots of free parking on site and also a nice swimming pool adjacent to the dining area.
Overall very impressed and we would return here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Single storey units (more like a motel really) around a garden and swimming pool. Large restaurant as well as a buffet and bar. Reception very helpful. Room was good. Two complaints - couldn't see any loungers by the pool (but didn't investigate further) and had to pay for wifi and internet. Why can't hotels supply this free of charge when people want to just check their e-mails. Otherwise full marks

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

We came to Paihia for the Easter break and stayed 2 nights here. Our room was a deluxe King (but for some reason our bed configuration was 2 queens). The room was spacious and was equipped with a 32inch LCD TV which was mounted on the wall. There were only about 4-5 Sky channels including Sky Movie 1, SkyNews channel and one sports channel. Also, you have to pay for wifi / LAN internet connection which I find is rather behind times nowadays. It cost $10 for 2 hrs. Otherwise, there were the usual minibar, ironing board, full length mirror and well equipped bathroom (there was no bath tub, only shower).

Room was very quiet, clean and modern and it opened out into a garden which was quite nice. However, the bed was rather "soft" and sunk a bit in the middle and the pillows were not firm enough. I am not sure if this is the case with all other rooms. Check out time was 1000hrs. I would recommend getting the package that includes breakfast as the buffet had good variety.

Walk to the town centre was approximately 10minutes and did not include any uphill walk. Reception was friendly and check in/out was a breeze.

We would recommend this hotel to travellers who would want a relatively modern hotel at a reasonable price. It is not located at beach front unlike a lot of the other self service apartments / hotels but those would definitely cost more.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

Stayed 2 nights as part of our NZ Coach tour.
Included in our package was breakfast and evening meal. Food was OK but nothing exciting. Was not a lot of choice for breakfast for those of us who dont eat cooked fry-up breakfasts. Evening meal was rather repetative. Hotel does cater for coach parties- but the staff were finding it hard to cope with the numbers.
We had a very spacious room on 1st floor that had a balcony looking onto a central garden area. Would recommend requesting 1st floor room as the groud floor rooms seemed very dark because of the gardens.
Hotel was more of a motel set up, so you could get rather wet going from room to reception/ dinning room if raining.
Easy walk to town centre and harbour.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

The hotel is a short walk from the many restaurants along the seashore, but in a sideroad and therfore far enough away that the nightlife is not a disturbance. The hotel personnel were very friendly and helpful, and the room large, bright and spotlessly clean. We didn't use any of the facilities of the resort so cannot comment on them.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

I can agree with all the reviews below, both positive and negative - there's no misrepresentation amongst the opinions offered. However, we came down on the positive side...

It's not on the seafront, but then we didn't like the look of the places there. It's 2-3 minutes walk to the sea and the nearest bar, and a further 5 minutes or so to the centre of Paihia.

From our angle, it's best described as a motel. We had a room for four of us somewhat distant from reception, with an entrance from the outside rather than from a hotel corridor. The room was a good size, and very clean.

There was a rather 20th Century attitude to WiFi - way too high a price for restricted availability.

The swimming pool was also outside, and in late December it was quite cool - but that didn't stop our children. The point about smoking (by a fellow reviewer below) is well-taken - the hotel should have a No Smoking policy and enforce it, especially in the swimming pool environment.

We felt comfortable here, and didn't need to test the capabilities of the hotel staff at all, so cannot comment on their performance under stress. We liked Paihia, and liked going 'home' to our hotel after an exhausting day enjoying ourselves.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands

Address: 58 Seaview Road | Paihia, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paihia
#17 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#17 Family Hotel in Paihia
#18 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands has a sub-tropical resort ambiance, with island-influenced architecture, beautifully landscaped grounds and light airy rooms. Situated at the entrance to the seaside town of Paihia, it’s a pleasant stroll into town to access the main wharf, visitor activities, fine dining and shopping. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, the relaxed atmosphere of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands will melt away your stresses in moments. The entire property has been extensively refurbished and expanded, and the attention to detail will impress you. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of accommodation styles including standard, superior and deluxe rooms. Beautifully presented guest rooms, with earthy tones, splashes of colour, and quality room amenities. Excellent hotel facilities, including swimming pool, ample parking, wireless Internet and comprehensive conference facilities. Quality, relaxed dining and socialising in our licensed restaurant, and lounge bar. Easy walking access to Paihia’s main wharf, shops and local attractions. Our lush sub-tropical gardens, with water features and feature lighting, are attractive and relaxing by day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Paihia
Scenic Hotel Bay Of Islands Paihia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.