We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful part of the country” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paihia Harbour

Paihia Harbour
Paihia harbour, Bay of Islands, Paihia, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$115*
and up
Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on R. Tucker...
Ranked #2 of 6 Attractions in Paihia
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Redland City, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful part of the country”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We did the Hole in the Rock cruise and it was such a beautiful relaxing day. Also just sitting at the harbour enjoying our fish and chips on the beach is a great way to finish the day

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    128
    26
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
india
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Crowded !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Crowded... Tough to park.. Kitschy souvenir shops.... Find another close by beach or harbour for a quieter and easier time.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Cream Trip (Fullers Great Sights Bay of Islands)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Just spent the day cruising with Fullers on "The Cream Trip". Was a fantastic time, saw dolphins but not enough to swim with, sailed around many of the islands and sailed through 'The Hole in the Rock'. Captain Billy was a great skipper - very informative with a lovely sense of humour. Would definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A pretty little coastal town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Paihia is located on the east coast of Northlands and looks out over the beautiful Bay of Islands. It is nestles between hills and while it has extended out along the adjacent coast, it remains centered on the coastal road and a main street which runs inland from the dock. There are many motels and B&Bs, and some very good restaurants along the waterfront and back into the town. We stayed at the Averill Court, and ate at 35 Degree on the dock and the Only Seafood, but I understand Alfresco's is very good. Bars, cafes, the post office and gift shops line the main street. The dock serves tour boats, fishing boats and the ferry to Russell, and we found the café at the south end of the dock was a nice place for breakfast. There are also public toilet if needed. The main grocery store and gas station are along the road heading west from the round-about at the north end of the beach.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stratford upon avon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“trip to see dolphins”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

As a final insult after 4 years of battling to get some compensation from the ACC finally got some, an amount so ridiculous and embarrassing its not worth telling you how much, but put it into some sort of context I would have been worth £20,000 dead! So be very careful, do not go on a boat trip with Xplore New Zealand as the skipper made a wrong call on the day and injured me so badly I have to live with it for the rest of my life.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paihia Harbour also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Paihia Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paihia Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.