We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waited 45 minutes for pizza!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sauce

Sauce
Marsden Rd, Paihia, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 44 Restaurants in Paihia
Cuisines: Pizza & Pasta
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Waited 45 minutes for pizza!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Paid for our order only to find out from our sister who ordered after us the wait was 45 minutes!!! Disappointed we weren't told at the time we made the order. Was 45 mins before we got our order, and would have been longer except the group before us canceled there order and went next door to the fish and chip shop. Pizza was good but not good enough for a 45 min wait. Lovely location, staff friendly but they didn't give out numbers for the tables so they didn't know what order went to what table. A recommendation if Sauce management are reading this! Wouldn't rush back but a good place if your happy to wait!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    28
    10
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A great little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

During our four night stay in Paihia we went here every night, either for a drink or something to eat, or both. They serve an excellent range of beers and the light bites are very good. We had a pizza on our last night and my only criticism would be is that they are inflexible when it comes to the standard pizzas. I asked if I could swap one ingredient for another on the menu and was told that this wasn't possible. As it turned out the one I wanted taken off was fine, but a little more flexibility would be good. otherwise the staff are friendly and the place has a good atmosphere. We eould certainly go back if we were in the area again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Given that Sauce is quite new, the staff were really on to it, and the pizzas are to die for. Lovely view straight out over the bay. Highly recommended.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Pizza was good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

After walking to Haruru Falls,we were very hungry. We enjoyed a really good pizza at Sauce. Service was good and the location very nice.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Thanks Tori, Shawnee and Simone ...three awesome ladies!! Our pizzas were tasty, fresh and well seasoned. It was a great end to a fantastic day out. Best of luck ladies and hope your business goes from strength to strength! And remember ...you may not always please everyone but the ones you do are those will keep on coming back!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sauce also viewed

 

Been to Sauce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sauce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.