We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, nice staff, clean, but overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paihia Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Paihia Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   116 Marsden Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 44 hotels in Paihia
Whangarei, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great view, nice staff, clean, but overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Had an enjoyable weekend with friends here. We got the massages which were great, but I haven't had a lot to compare it to.
Dined at the restaurant which was good and offered good value food.
Something is up with the carpark as I see previous comments about this area being under construction but no one is working on it, we had to park on the street as there was insufficient parking.
We were on the top floor which offered great views out into the bay and more privacy from the road below.
There were some items not working in our rooms and the staff already new about them when we raised them.
The place seemed full but I feel it isn't value for money and while it is self rated 5 stars, I feel 4 or 4.5 would be more accurate.

Room Tip: Top floor has the best view, and privacy from roadway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    19
    10
    13
    4
See reviews for
15
67
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was the last stop on our two week New Zealand trip and we were looking for a place to relax, we'll I to say we found it. The Paihia Beach Resort is a luxury accommodation, the rooms are very modern and VERY large. The view of the Bay of Islands is beautiful from the room and hotel.

The staff was friendly and helpful. We eat at the restaurant for breakfast and dinner during our two night stay. The dinner menu was very gourmet in comparison to other restaurants we ate at in NZ and very good. The walk to other restaurants in Paihia is a little bit of a walk, so it was easy to eat at the hotel restaurant.

This hotel was a perfect way to end out trip to New Zealand.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMILTON
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel really does have it all. My husband and I stayed there in March for our wedding anniversary. We had a studio room on the top floor and it was great. Not too big or small with a large flat screen TV on a swivel bracket so you could watch TV in bed or on the couch while looking out at the view. The kitchen had mostly everything you needed. It had a very large patio with a deck lounger and the view from there is fantastic. It had a spa bath (just a normal size bath) but we did not use it as pool and spas on the ground floor are pretty good. There are room at the pool level which would be great for familys or anyone wanting to make good use of the pool but not if you are wanting any privacy. We dined in the restaurant which was ok but did not have a huge menu but good if you want to have a few drinks and not drive or walk back.

Overall I would definately go there again and for more than one night.

Room Tip: If you want privacy dont book the poolside rooms and the top floor has awesome views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This accommodation was excellent. Friendly helpful staff. Beautifully appointed. Superb location with sea views and beach just over the road. Would definitely recommend to our friends.
Did not use pool or spa but both looked excellent.

Room Tip: Request a room on the higher levels for better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Poor start on checking in at reception. Had to ask for tea bags in our room at least five times. Breakfast didn't turn up at time ordered. Very uninviting swimming pool area, all white, no plants, etc, blinding to the eyes! Nice massage in spa but could hear road noise. Good position and views. A lot of money for an average hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at the Resort for 3 days... It was wonderful.
Our suite had a great view across the Bay.
The restaurant served great breakfasts.. my husband enjoyed the Eggs Benedict ( with salmon ), twice..
Our evening meals (tapas) were also great.. We had great service in the Restaurant, and poolside for pre-dinner drinks.
All in all, we found the staff most helpful, and did all they could to ensure a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Went into the resort on a Thursday afternoon. It was around 4 pm. Lady at reception was not very warm or receptive. Was an older woman. Not very helpful. A fresh, enthusiastic person would have enticed me to stay! Went outside to discuss with family but first impressions do count. If you were the owner of the property you do very little for your business as it is in a beautiful location. The competition is all around you and we chose to go elsewhere and spend our money.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paihia Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paihia Beach Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Paihia Beach Resort And Spa
Paihia Beach Hotel Paihia
Paihia Beach Hotel
Paihia Beach Resort
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa Bay Of Islands
Address: 116 Marsden Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#16 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Paihia Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa Hotel overlooks Paihia’s most picturesque beach and is in walking distance of Paihia Wharf, the departure point to discover the wonderful Bay of Islands.Located within the Hotel is the chic poolside and ocean view restaurant Puretastes offering only the finest culinary experience. Visit the hotel's award-winning spa, La Spa Naturale expanded again to include a Hair Day Spa, offering first class spa treatments with a uniquely New Zealand flavor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Paihia Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paihia Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.