We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location,location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paihia Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Paihia Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   116 Marsden Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
London, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Location, location,location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

This hotel is all about where it is (wonderful, wonderful views overlooking the bay) and the best appointed rooms you will find. We had a lovely kitchenette. Our room had everything we could ask for and at the top end. Yes, it cost more but it was certainly worth it. The reception staff were just great and very helpful. I have to say that although breakfast was fine it was a bit slow and it was hard to get the server's attention despite, or probably because, we were the only people in the restaurant. Don't let this put you off. If you are travelling around treat yourself to this hotel as a special event.

Room Tip: MUST have a view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaihiaBeachResortNZ, General Manager at Paihia Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Dear StumpyLondon,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, we are delighted that you have enjoyed your time with us.

We are a little disappointed that we did not seem to have delivered up to your expectations with regards to service at breakfast time, and be rest assured that we have passed on your comments to our Maitre D'.

We look forward to welcoming you again should you travel to the Bay of Islands in the future.

Sincerely,

Stephan Rudich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    22
    11
    14
    4
See reviews for
16
71
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

I would highly recommend this Resort if you are on a romantic holiday, very nice view of the ocean from the rooms, excellent restaurant - Puretastes and a relaxing Spa.

Room Tip: Take the room on the 2nd floor facing the ocean with personal balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaihiaBeachResortNZ, General Manager at Paihia Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Dear Gourmand_Kolkata,

Thank you for your review on trip advisor, we are glad you both enjoyed your romantic stay with us and we certainly look forward to welcome you again when you are next in this area.

Sincerely,
Stephan Rudich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Having stayed in hotels and resorts all around the world I can confidently say this facility is extremely over priced. If you are paying more than $250 a night here you will most likely be disappointed. The view is great but that's where it ends. As we are both vegetarian we were at a loss to find more than one dish on the menu, so choose to eat out. The information in the room was out of date as the restaurant we choose from the in room guide had closed some time ago.
There is not a comfortable piece of furniture in the room if you want o spend the night in, the cheap cane chairs on the deck are especially disappointing as you can't even enjoy the view sitting in these for longer than 2 mins. The quality of the in room intertainment I.e. TV and skye offered is pathetic with barely 7 Chanel's offered. The room was not clean enough in our opinion, with light shades full of bugs and mold in the bathroom. The bed is advertised as a super king (same as I have at home) being 6 ft 3 I like a big bed. The one provided is to singles pushed together and zipped up. Very soft and of very low quality. The bath room is very small as is the bedroom, the dining area takes up most of the lounge/kitchen area meaning the sitting area is very small and has once again been filled with furniture no one would sit on for long as more cheap uncomfortable cane.
We did fill out the hotels in room survey and gave this to them at check out, but they have made not attempt to contact us or offer to refund some of the $605 we paid for one night in this establishment. This rate does not even include breakfast. We would have stayed more nights but simply found it a complete disappointment. There is no way that this facility should have a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaihiaBeachResortNZ, General Manager at Paihia Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear Daniel S,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor as well as your in-room feedback form which was reviewed by myself and my management team.

It is certainly disappointing that on this occasion you did not enjoy your stay with us and for this we are sorry, as it is so out of the norm from the positive feedback we do received from our Guests.

However, for the benefit of the wider audience on Trip Advisor, and of course whilst inviting all readers to read comments from other Guests so as to get a better overview of our services, I will reply to the comments you made.

1. Our Menu offers a small range of Vegetarian Dishes, however our Chefs are more than happy to oblige to any Guests requests with regards to dietary requirements – may they be allergies, vegetarian, vegan or other requests. A call to the Reception or the Restaurant would suffice to organise this.
2. The information found in your Room Compendium is reviewed periodically and changes / amendments are made during this time. A couple of Restaurants have indeed closed in the very recent weeks since we had done an update of the information. We do endeavour to inform our Guests with correct information, and again, a call to Reception would suffice to find out what to find and where to go – we are also very happy to organise reservations/bookings for our Guests.
3. We are at a loss to respond on your comment on the furniture, as these are top of the line Dedon, which is not ‘cheap’ as you so put it.
4. Once again, we are very surprised with your comment on the ‘poor entertainment system’ we offer, as it comprises; a Sonny Midi Stereo System, a Sonny DVD Player, a Sonny IPod Station/Radio, a 40 inch Sonny LCD TV, free Broadband. This entertainment system is 4 years old.
5. Apart from the standard TV channels, we do offer indeed 7 channels on Sky, which include Sport, Movie, Cartoon and News, as well as the normal other channels – we also offer a selection of DVD available from Reception.
6. We are again surprised with your comment about ‘mould’ in the bathroom as the silicone around the baths and basins have all been replaced in 2011 during our mid-year maintenance. Exit Mould is also regularly sprayed so as to avoid mould and all bath jets are dismantled and cleaned after each stay as per health and safety requirements. We also have regular inspections from Ecolab and the reports always receive the highest marks.
7. The Bed is indeed advertised as Super King but the technical term is actually Split Super King, which is indeed made up of two King Singles zipped in the middle – most hotels around the world use Split Super King beds so as to offer Double or Twin bed configurations. The brand of our beds is Sealy Posturepedic, and again, we receive much positive comments from having such great quality bedding.
8. The Superior Suite you stayed in, offers a separate bedroom, separate bathroom, dining area with kitchen facility, and sitting area, it also has a private deck with ceiling louvers. The size of the room is 55 square meter and the deck is another 10 square meter. Once again, the ‘cheap’ cane furniture is Dedon, a reputable European Brand found around the world in exclusive retail outlets.
9. The rate you paid over the internet through Wotif indeed did not include breakfast, and is clearly specified. It is common knowledge that one can often get a better deal or package by calling a hotel directly, rather than trying to find the cheapest deal available online. We invite Guests to contact our Reservation Desk on our Free Phone number, as found on our web site to discuss their requirements.
10. Contrary to the comment you made on the feedback sheet, we do offer in-room massage treatments, however we prefer to conduct these in our Day Spa facilities which offers 5 single and double treatments rooms, set up for such and making it much more comfortable for our Guests. We also prefer to conduct our Spa Treatments in our Day Spa, from a safety aspect. Again, a simple call to Reception would have sufficed to organise this.

We did not consider refunding part of, or all of your booking, as we did not find your comments justified. We would also be cautious in inviting you to stay again as we do not feel that anything we could do would satisfy your expectations.

Sincerely,

Stephan Rudich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012 via mobile

We only managed to get two nights accommodation as it was heavily booked over the weekend. There is a huge difference in rates from a normal hotel style room to one with a kitchenette so make sure you check. The restaurant was good and the service and staff were very helpful

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaihiaBeachResortNZ, General Manager at Paihia Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear ChrisandBob87,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor, we are glad that you enjoyed your sojourn with us and we look forward to welcoming you again to our Resort should you travel to the Bay of Islands in the future.

Sincerely,

Stephan Rudich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

All rooms have a great view of the ocean and hotel pool. Service was outstanding and in house restaurant is Pure Tastes which is great. Cost was well worth it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaihiaBeachResortNZ, General Manager at Paihia Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Lauren f,

Thank you for your positive comments posted on Trip Advisor, we are glad that you enjoyed our hospitality during your stay and trust that we will have the pleasure to host you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Stephan Rudich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Fantastic service - the reception ladies were very well presented and very helpful! They booked airport transfers, winery tours, restaurants and spa treatments with no hassles!
The room was immaculate complete with a bottle of bubbly on arrival!
The view has to been seen to be believed - panoramic view's of the Bay of Islands and overlooking the Waitangi Treaty Grounds!
It was absolute luxury staying at this Hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaihiaBeachResortNZ, General Manager at Paihia Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Dear Rachel H,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, we are pleased that we met your expectations and were able to assist you with organising some aspects of your travels while staying with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future and continue to deliver services and products that enhance our Guest Experience.

Sincerely,

Stephan Rudich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Our three nights here were lovely. Great views, the pool is wonderful & the staff incredibly friendly and helpful - we took recommendations from the evening receptionist in particular who was very knowledgeable about the area and recommended places we wouldn't have necessarily come across via the guide books. The breakfasts were huge - and delicious. Dinner was a little disappointing - fine but not all it promised, although the staff were lovely.

Room Tip: we think rooms on level 3 were best choice - definitely would not pick a room on level 2 too close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaihiaBeachResortNZ, General Manager at Paihia Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear Angelec69,

Thank you for your review on trip advisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found our staff friendly and helpful.

We are disappointed that dinner did not meet all your expectations, please feel free to contact me directly by email should you wish, stephan@paihiabeach.co.nz, or through Trip Advisor, to discuss what aspects of the dinner did not satisfy you entirely. Our aim is to always improve on our products and services, so as to ensure the best Guest experience possible.

Sincerely,
Stephan Rudich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Paihia Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paihia Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 116 Marsden Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#17 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#19 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Paihia Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa Hotel overlooks Paihia’s most picturesque beach and is in walking distance of Paihia Wharf, the departure point to discover the wonderful Bay of Islands.Located within the Hotel is the chic poolside and ocean view restaurant Puretastes offering only the finest culinary experience. Visit the hotel's award-winning spa, La Spa Naturale expanded again to include a Hair Day Spa, offering first class spa treatments with a uniquely New Zealand flavor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Paihia Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paihia Beach Resort And Spa
Paihia Beach Hotel Paihia
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paihia Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.