We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast with a views” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Upper Deck

Upper Deck
76 Marsden Rd, Paihia 0211, New Zealand
094028147
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 44 Restaurants in Paihia
Price range: $0 - $16
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Breakfast with a views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Breakfast with a great view, had a couple of grab one vouchers so went for late breakfast, if we did not have vouchers would of walked out and gone elsewhere. Staff were extremely busy but could of at least acknowledged you on arrival and said something like have a seat and we will be with you shortly, here are a couple of menus.. . Tables were behind on being cleared, restaurant bit messy, helped our selves to menu and waited. Then advised to order at counter and pay in advance however good sized breakfast meals, nice coffee and hot chocolate.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    34
    16
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tea time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

There were 3 of us having morning tea here. My daughter and I shared the delicious carrot cake- I have never tasted one so good- fresh, HUGE and FULL of carrots; nuts and other lovely ingredients. The tea was hot and there was plenty of it. The waiter was friendly , courteous and attentive

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitaia, Northland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Love the Lamb & Kumera Pies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great little cafe. We loved our lunch there today. The fish and chips were nice but the Lamb and Kumera pies were amazing and worth trying!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“odd breakfast menu combination”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We visited twice over the last week as i had 2 grabone vouchers. Great location and views. Cafe breakfast and the bacon and egg option very nice, poached eggs perfectly done on both occasions. The only odd thing i found is that some of the breakfast options had quite odd combinations ie smoked salmon omlet with cream cheese and then hollandaise sauce over the top. and one other options with olives. Other than that would recommend

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“ABSOLUTE WASTE OF MONEY!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had a grabone voucher for our meals and we were disgusted! The fish in the fish and chips was old and not eatable. It was absolutely a waste of money. I would not recommend this place to anyone. We didnt receive our coffees until after we had finished our lunch, the coffee was horrible and cold. It is bad value for money, there was 1 piece of bread in the french toast and the filo wrap was a curry, it stated different in the menu!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upper Deck also viewed

 

Been to Upper Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Upper Deck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.