We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breakwater Motel

Save Saved
You added Breakwater Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Breakwater Motel
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   1 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST RATES GUARANTEED
Ranked #1 of 44 hotels in Paihia
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Great views, friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, everything worked very well for us. We chose it for views and we were not disappointed. An easy walk to the jetty for cruises (we booked at motel reception and were given a discount on one of them) and a easy walk into town. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Hi Chris, thanks for the time taken to review our Motel.
We are the closest Motel, to town and activities, with the best views and it is great to see everyone reiterate the facts.
It is nice to be able to pass on the discounts on some activities as we are allocated.
Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again`in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    193
    45
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
43
159
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, NZ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed at the Breakwater for the weekend, the welcome was warm and friendly which started off the whole experience really well. The room was modern and clean even though this motel has been here for some time the room was very up to date with decor and furnishings which made the whole stay very very enjoyable. We will definitely be back to stay at the Breakwater, the proximity to Paihia township, the beach and the ferry to Russell makes this motel very appealing.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Hi Brett, thanks for taking the time to review our modern newly furbished Motel.
You said it all and we thank you for that. We have hand picked cleaners who take a pride in their work which helps give our Guests the experience they deserve.
Thanks for staying at Breakwater and we would love to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We chose the Breakewater for its location, in front of the seaside but far from the cheap motels concentration at the entrance of Paihia. The location is perfect, just 5 minutes walk from the cruise harbour. The staff was very friendly and we could even negotiate the price a little :) But the best thing are the views from the suites, awesome. The rooms are newly furbished with good taste. Complete kitchenette and satellite TV. Perfect for enjoyng your stay at Bay of Islands!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Hi Miriam, thanks for the glowing review. Our location is an asset and enjoyed by all our guests and as you say away from the cheap end of the town. We do have wonderful friendly staff who we value highly. Thanks for staying with us and may we welcome you another time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qld, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We recently just spent 3 nights at The Breakwater Motel. It is clean and comfortable and only a short walk to the town centre. We were on a lower floor seaview room and would certainly have been able to see the bay and enjoy our deck, but the weather kept us indoors for most of the time.
The unit was everything we needed with a separate bedroom, kitchenette; sky TV ; aircon/heating and free wi-fi.
We would definitely recommend this property for a visit to Paihia.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Hi PetenDeb

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our Lower Seaview Suite. What a pity about the weather but also a good excuse to visit the Bay of Islands again to really appreciate the beauty of the area.

Thank you for your recommendation.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Great view, position perfect, friendly service and the little touches eg fresh milk (not UHT?) The rooms seemed to have everything that was needed. Free wi-fi. Made this hotel ideal for our needs. Will stay here again. Thank you to our lovely hosts.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Hi SeanCussie

Thanks for the fabulous review of our Motel and happy to hear that the suite 'ticked all the boxes' for you both. Special thanks for mentioning the fresh milk we provide on arrival - plus a choice of full cream or trim milk!

Delighted that we could host you for your honeymoon and wish you both a happy and fun-filled marriage.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

A terrific place to stay, we stayed for 4 nights. Great location with easy walk to shops, restaurants and wharf for cruises and ferry transport. The accommodation was spacious, clean and very modern. Motel is only just over a year old. Our room had a balcony and great bay views, windows in the living area are large to enjoy the views. Cooking facilities are excellent, and bathroom large, bed was a king size. Would highly recommend this accomodation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Hi Kerry R

Many thanks for your high recommendation of our motel and for sharing your experience.

Always great for fellow travellers to read just how ideal our location is, with the breathtaking views of the Bay and a stroll to our town and wharf.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline Springs, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed two lovely nights at the Breakwater Hotel. Our room was very spacious, comfortable and clean. Ken & Lyn were extremely helpful and welcoming. Only problem was that we were not there long enough !! We would highly recommend Breakwater to any travelers wishing to spend time at the most beautiful Paihia and Bay of Islands.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Hi Rita S

Thanks for taking the time to review our Motel.

You reitterate what most of our guests say - that they did not stay here long enough. There is an abundance to SEE and DO in the Bay of Islands and also a great place to just RELAX for a few days at the end of your tour around the country.

So we look forwarding to seeing you next time for a longer stay!

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Breakwater Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakwater Motel

Address: 1 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#1 Business Hotel in Paihia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#3 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breakwater Motel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Waterfront Accommodation on Central Paihia Waterfront that is only a two minute walk to cafes, restuarants, shops and Paihia Wharf where tours depart from.Spectacular interrupted ocean views from Waterfront Suites, partial sea views from Seaview Suites. Sky Guest Select 50 channels - Free WiFi.Paihia is the perfect base to explore the Bay of Islands and up to Cape Reinga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Breakwater Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakwater Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakwater Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.