We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HIGHLY RECOMMEND BREAKWATER HOTEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breakwater Motel

Save Saved
You added Breakwater Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Breakwater Motel
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   1 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST RATES GUARANTEED
Ranked #1 of 44 hotels in Paihia
Caroline Springs, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“HIGHLY RECOMMEND BREAKWATER HOTEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed two lovely nights at the Breakwater Hotel. Our room was very spacious, comfortable and clean. Ken & Lyn were extremely helpful and welcoming. Only problem was that we were not there long enough !! We would highly recommend Breakwater to any travelers wishing to spend time at the most beautiful Paihia and Bay of Islands.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Hi Rita S

Thanks for taking the time to review our Motel.

You reitterate what most of our guests say - that they did not stay here long enough. There is an abundance to SEE and DO in the Bay of Islands and also a great place to just RELAX for a few days at the end of your tour around the country.

So we look forwarding to seeing you next time for a longer stay!

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    45
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
159
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ballina, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

great hotel-great location-friendly people-great advice on what to do-lovely view. we would certainly stay there again. Good cooking facilities also. easy access to boats for tours and to get to Russell.

Room Tip: get a sea view room-great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Hi James & Annette C

Great concise review of Breakwater - thank you so much!

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at the Breakwater Hotel with a group of seven friends and had booked three rooms.
All our rooms were very spacious and clean with the Hotel been completely refurbished in June 2012.
Our hosts Ken and Lyn were very welcoming and went out of their way to make our stay an enjoyable one, as I'm sure we tripled their recycling intake during our stay. The hotel also has free wifi, over 50 channels with Austar and is only a two minute walk to the centre of town.
I will bring the wife next time as I'm sure the other six will too. Thanks Guys

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Darren K

Such a pleasure to host you guys! So glad you all enjoyed yourselves and problem about the recycling - fishing is a very thirsty occupation!

Look forward to seeing you all again together with your ladies.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Breakwater Hotel with my family who were visiting from the UK. The rooms were very comfortable and well equipped with lovely views. The motel is within walking distance of the shops and restaurants of Paihia. The service was great and I was suprised with a bottle of wine as a birthday gift which I was really touched by. They also helped to organise the fishing trip for the boys the folowing day and book our restaurant for that evening. I highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Hi Stephmcmillan

Many thanks for the fabulous review and delighted that you enjoyed our modern Waterfront suites that share that extra special view of the ocean.

Such a pleasure to assist with recommendations and bookings for the activities etc offered in the area thereby ensuring our guests maximize their time in Paihia.

Hopefully one day we will host the Scottish gathering once more!

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had decided to wind-up our New Zealand holiday at Paihia in the Bay of Islands without knowing where to stay. On the road we met a couple of fellow travellers who highly recommended the Breakwater and further research confirmed their view. Arriving one day early, we dropped in to see if we could get another night. Our hosts could not have been more accommodating and helpful. Confirming local bookings, providing towels for our day sailing and a room upgrade, we were thoroughly impressed with the service and hospitality. The room was clean, well equipped and had an amazing view. The perfect location to relax and/ or launch into the variety of local attractions and dining venues. Just a short stroll to restaurants, pier. Free wi-fi.

Room Tip: Waterfront rooms are definitely worth considering. TV in both lounge area and bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Hi Paul N

Very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in the beautiful Paihia. Word of mouth is certainly the best marketing tool so thanks to the past guests who recommended us and to you for sharing your experience at Breakwater Motel.

Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Absolutely Superb. All the way from the Scottish Highlands for an 'Autumn Break' with our family and to be met with hospitality second to none from Sue & Ken. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, nothing and I mean nothing was too much for these hosts. Fishing trip - arranged, evening meals- booked, free wifi, super comfortable accommodation, all our needs catered for in this beautiful town in the far north. Five stars without a shadow of doubt.
PS - thanks for the unexpected and touching gift for Steph's birthday

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hi Murdo428

We are absolutely delighted that you and your family had a memorable stay at Breakwater Motel. What a pleasure to host a family gathering and thank you so much for sharing your experience. We do hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in New Zealand.

We hope that we can welcome to you back to the Southern Hemisphere again.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Our welcome at the Breakwater Motel was very friendly, offering excellent advice about what we could do during our stay. Our apartment had lovely decor, extremely clean and comfortable with a balcony with a view of the sea; the kitchen was well equipped. Free wifi is a bonus. The location is excellent, opposite the beach, short walk to both the pier for ferries and the shops and restaurants. Really recommend visiting the Waitangi Treaty Grounds, 5min drive from the motel, the history of the early years of New Zealand is fascinating and the best cultural experience that we saw throughout our time in New Zealand.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Wendy F

Thank you for sharing your experience at Breakwater Motel. We are happy that enjoyed our well appointed suites and the great location opposite the beach.

Waitangi Treaty Ground is New Zealand's most historic site therefore a 'must see' for all visitors.
The cultural performance is professional, interactive and most informative.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Breakwater Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakwater Motel

Address: 1 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Paihia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#3 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breakwater Motel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Waterfront Accommodation on Central Paihia Waterfront that is only a two minute walk to cafes, restuarants, shops and Paihia Wharf where tours depart from.Spectacular interrupted ocean views from Waterfront Suites, partial sea views from Seaview Suites. Sky Guest Select 50 channels - Free WiFi.Paihia is the perfect base to explore the Bay of Islands and up to Cape Reinga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Breakwater Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakwater Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakwater Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.