We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A view of the bay and handy to everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Breakwater Motel

Save Saved
You added Breakwater Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Breakwater Motel
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   1 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST RATES GUARANTEED
Ranked #1 of 44 hotels in Paihia
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A view of the bay and handy to everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had a single bedroom unit on the first floor with a view of the bay. The view was very relaxing in the evening and early in the morning.
Everything appeared to be brand new, in great shape and very clean and tidy.
It was just a very short walk to bars, cafes, restaurants and shopping.
Wifi was include in the tariff.
Although we were very close to the main road we did not find traffic noise a problem and had no trouble sleeping

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear 2Elk

Many thanks for taking the time to review our Motel.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that stunning view of the bay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    45
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
159
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My colleagues and I had been at a conference in Auckland for the week and decided to check out the Bay of Islands before travelling back to Australia. I would highly recommend the Breakwater Motel. Spotlessly clean. Great service and value and well appointed. Couldn't be happier.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hi Kirsten

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay at Breakwater Motel.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Lyn and Ken were absolutely wonderful hosts, very hospitable and friendly. Went over and above expectations.
The room and view was an absolute sensation, I particularly liked that the 'make up' bath cloth was a biege/ brown colour instead of white (as I feel bad when I leave make up stains on white towels at accomodation places!).
Had everything we could possibly need for our stay.
The spa was absolute bliss, a great way to end the day.
Very close to all the great attractions of Paihia, right on the beach, near the ferry to Russell, close to the Waitangi ground and Haruru falls, and the Paihia trail walks. Didn't need to use our vehicle for the entire stay, which was fantastic!
We left a couple of items behind, and they got in contact with us to let us know before we left Paihia, which I've never come across before, which was exceptionally well received from our end.
Will definitely come back to visit during summer!

Room Tip: We chose a water front suite, which had such a peaceful, gorgeous view. Would definitely recommend s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hi Courtney

We take such pride in the service we provide, and truly appreciate you sharing your great feedback.

Glad to hear you enjoyed your getaway and all the wonderful attractions the Bay has to offer.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Breakwater Motel.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Aroha
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, great location as restaurants and shopping within walking distance. Lovely room very clean, quiet and had everything you'd need with a great view of the water. Would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Debbie

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your stay.

Delighted to hear that the room met all your needs plus you got to enjoy that beautiful ocean view. We certainly do have a great location, right on the waterfront and close enough to the restaurants and cafes and away from any noise.

Kind Regards
Lyn and Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinamba, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

stayed here 2 nights with my partner for a weekend away. had a top room with a view of the bay very nice it was close walking distance from shops and our fishing charter bed was comfortable shower was nice after a day on the water very good for money considering the location and the types of property in the area. recommend this place to any 1 wanting to stay in the bay.

Room Tip: get a room on top story over looking the bay very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi Tracy and Jono

Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback and for the recommendation. Yes the Waterfront Suites do have a magnificient view across the bay! Delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards
Lyn and Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here for two nights it was an excellent location, everything was only a short walk away. Our room overlooked the bay - stunning view. The room itself was modern. clean and very comfortable. Great service. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hi CatherineC
Thanks for coming to spend time with us in this beautiful part of New Zealand. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Breakwater Motel.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Regards
Lyn and Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at this motel for 2 nights and it was fantastic. Modern, clean and roomy. Our room had a fabulous view of the bay and we did not find the traffic noise a problem. We were in walking distance to restaurants and shops. Highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, General Manager at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hi Dreamholidays25

Thanks for giving us a high recommendation and glad you enjoyed that spectacular ocean view from your suite. We look forward to hosting you again.

Regards
Lyn and Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Breakwater Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakwater Motel

Address: 1 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Paihia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#3 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breakwater Motel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Waterfront Accommodation on Central Paihia Waterfront that is only a two minute walk to cafes, restuarants, shops and Paihia Wharf where tours depart from.Spectacular interrupted ocean views from Waterfront Suites, partial sea views from Seaview Suites. Sky Guest Select 50 channels - Free WiFi.Paihia is the perfect base to explore the Bay of Islands and up to Cape Reinga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Breakwater Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakwater Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakwater Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.