We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect property in paihia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Breakwater Motel

Save Saved
You added Breakwater Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Breakwater Motel
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   1 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST RATES GUARANTEED
Ranked #1 of 44 hotels in Paihia
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect property in paihia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed here in june 2013. Excellent location close to all restaurants, tours and shops. And bay
Is across the road. I stayed n the garden view room. This was up the top part of the property which was nice and quiet.
Very clean, modern facilities.
Loved the heated towel rail , electric blankets! Nice personal touch. Especially in winter!!
Hosts ken & lyn are very friendly, helpful. Nothing is too much trouble.

We only stayed in paihia 2 days but stay longer if you can, their is so much to do.
Would defiantly come back and stay here. Very enjoyable. Thankyou.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, General Manager at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Many thanks for the great review on our 1 bedroom Garden View Room and appreciating the value of these units. Although they do not have the seaview, they are special in that you enjoy the tranquility of their location and being nestled near the native bush you are treated to the amazing sounds of the birds.

Very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and yes we do agree, that there is so much to do in the Beautiful Bay of Islands you could spend weeks here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    45
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
159
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manukau
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Mixed review with this motel, purchased a Grab One deal, great location and nice and central but out of the way from the main shops just enough too. No restaurant on site but not needed as close to wharf & eating establishments. Rooms were one back from the ocean & our deck looked straight into the owners quaters and carpark, so not very private and I am guessing as we had a 'sea view suite' we had a slightly larger room than the front seaside units, still an ok view of the ocean but I was disappointed as the front units were all empty and they are the ones that had the best views and had been advertised in the photo on Grab One. No spa bath in room as there were some advertised on the website? (and didn't even know there was an outdoor spa pool? didn't get a rundown from owners) there was no oven but there was a microwave and hot plates and kitchen had full utensils and crockery and also salt & pepper which was thoughtful as I had forgotten ours! Also had under floor heating in the bathroom (amazing) and beds were lovely and new and firm.
All in all a great holiday and would recommend, didn't find the hosts overly friendly or helpful as I gave in my voucher (so didn't have it on hand to read and had booked it 2 months beforehand) and completly forgot about the late check out and the hosts didn't remind us when we checked out at 9.30am....there are so many lovely looking resorts at Paihia and most were cheaper than here.

Room Tip: Maybe beachfront upstairs room as decks open out onto roadside and ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, General Manager at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and glad that you did enjoy your stay. There are a few points that I need to clarify. Yes you were in a Seaview Suite as this was the deal with GrabOne. The Waterfront Suites are more expensive and were not included in the deal. However, should you have expressed your wish to be upgraded whilst here, rather then once you had departed, we would certainly have obliged.

All the details about the Spa Pool are stated in the compedium in the suite. As are all the other facilities we have on our property.

Regarding the late check out. These details are clearly written on the GrabOne voucher that you presented at check in. We certainly cannot query guests leaving earlier than their check out time as this is a personal choice.

Yes there are lots of cheaper accommodation providers in Paihia and there is a reason why they are cheaper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Thank you to Breakwater motel for going beyond the call of duty for my family in March 2013. My husband and I along with my sister and her husband stayed 2 nights and very much enjoyed our stay. The new remodeled units were awesome(we each had a top floor unit next door to each other), the owners so helpful and we would stay again if ever in Paihia. After an amazing day diving with Dive North we relaxed in the lovely spa pool, walked into town for a great dinner and relaxed with our family out on the deck:-) THANK you Breakwater Motel!! :-)

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, General Manager at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Hi GMirus

An absolute pleasure to host such effervescent guests such as yourselves! So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and your great adventure diving off our beautiful coast. Thanks so much for your positive feedback and taking the time to submit the view. Happy Diving and hope that we can host you again in the Bay of Islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This motel is on the main road in Pahia. However, little traffic noise and superb view of the bay (and storm!) from our room. Recently refurbished to a very high standard. Easy walk to a number of good restaurants. Hosts very welcoming. Highly recommended.
Peney and Richard C.

Room Tip: Rooms on second level facing the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, General Manager at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Hi Peney and Richard
Many thanks for giving our motel a high recommendation and providing other guests with your valued opinion. We certainly do have a great location for both the amazing views of the ocean and the very close proximity to the restaurants, cafes and Paihia Wharf.

Sincere thanks for taking the time to review our motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Ken and Lyn the proprieters were just lovely. Lyn even frought umbrellas to the car as it was raining when we pulled up. I am fussy about cleanliness and the place was spotless. They had everything you could want. We had ocean front views that were fabulous. Would thoroughly recommend to stay there.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front as it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, General Manager at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Hi James M

Many thanks for taking the time to review our property. We do always strive to go the extra mile for all our guests to ensure that each and every guest has a superior and memorable stay with us.

We do maintain a very high standard of cleaniness and thank you for the compliment, which we have passed onto our hard working team which share the same vision as we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband and I arrived in Paihia with no accommodation booked due to it being the quiet season. We viewed a couple of properties but loved the look and location of Breakwater Motel. We had 3 'must haves' - kitchen facilities, water views and the right price. This place had all 3 and much more. It was like having our own home on holiday.

The staff were all so friendly, from the lady who serviced the room to the lovely couple on reception (whom I assume are the owners and/or managers). It was a shame we didn't get to say good-bye to them when we left as they were very accommodating.

Highly recommended and will definitely stay there again on our next trip to Paihia.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, General Manager at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Hi Shannyn N

Thank you so much for your high recommendation on our property. We love to hear that you felt like you were in your own home. We are very proud of our friendly dedicated team. We look forward to hosting you and your husband in the future and apologise we did not see you to say goodbye.

Thanks
Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We booked in early evening, although we were given possibly the smallest unit it was certainly of high standards well within walking distance to nice restaurants nearby. The spa was closed due to the water shortage at the time of our stay, but it did look very inviting

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Breakwater Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakwater Motel

Address: 1 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#1 Business Hotel in Paihia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#3 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breakwater Motel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Waterfront Accommodation on Central Paihia Waterfront that is only a two minute walk to cafes, restuarants, shops and Paihia Wharf where tours depart from.Spectacular interrupted ocean views from Waterfront Suites, partial sea views from Seaview Suites. Sky Guest Select 50 channels - Free WiFi.Paihia is the perfect base to explore the Bay of Islands and up to Cape Reinga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Breakwater Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakwater Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakwater Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.