We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breakwater Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Breakwater Motel to your Saves list
Breakwater Motel
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   1 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolute Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

One couldn't wish for a more welcoming, clean, comfortable and convenient location.
Definitely deserves a mega tick and we have no hesitation in recommending this to others.
Shops, restaurants, beaches and loads of other excursions close on hand due to its position in Paihia.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    55
    10
    0
    2
See reviews for
58
187
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here and the owners were very welcoming and friendly.
Breakwater Motel is situated centrally in Paihia and the units have been recently renovated to a very high standard.
With a perfect seaview, our stay was magic. Couldn’t have asked for anymore.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Nice rooms, and good location enabling you to walk left or right and take in the town and beaches. Best takeaways in NZ is walking distance. Waitangi Grounds are a must do. The owners were very nice and helpful. Pay for the location, but you'll be happy with the rooms and service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette S, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hello WTH01

Thanks for taking the time to review our lovely Motel.

We agree the location is the best end town, being at the quiet end and having views from the most rooms in town.

The town is blessed with some great takeaways, restaurants and having the birthplace of New Zealand on our doorstep.

I thank you for mentioning paying for LOCATION and QUALITY along with the service. Thanks for staying with us and would the opportunity to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Elected to stay in their 'best' unit which was on the front corner, it was sunny, warm and had great views across the Bay, but I was surprised at the road noise which started about 5.30 am which put an end to any sleep in. At night it wasn't as bad , as you tended to be out at the local restaurants (very good) and traffic tended to drop off by about 11 pm. As with previous reviews, the hosts were very friendly and the rooms were spotless with recent bathroom and kitchen renovations which were to a high standard. I suppose my only real gripe was we stayed a second night and the soap/shampoo etc wasnt replaced, appreciate this seems minor, but with paying over $200 a night for a motel room I dont feel I need to have to juggle the little bar of soap between the handbasin and the shower.

Room Tip: I will stay at the back units next time - view isn't as great but less road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette S, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hello Toja69.
Thanks for review. Thanks for bringing the problem to our notice whilst on site enabling us to rectify the issue immediately for you to enjoy your stay.

Good to read there were positives from your stay and would the chance to welcome you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Breakwater Motel has one of the best positions in Paihia with a lovely view of the harbour from several of its units. There are other units towards the back of the property with no view that are a little less expensive. The downside of the view was that the road was on the same side however the noise did not worry us at all, in fact it was interesting to watch people on the beach or walking along the street.

The hosts could not have been friendlier or helpful when planning our time in Paihia, from booking a Dolphin Cruise for us or suggesting a restaurant (after they had made enquiries to that restaurant) that would cook our freshly caught snapper.

The unit we had (number 11) had a full sized kitchen, lounge/dining and separate bedroom. Very modern and clean, very happy with the facilities. There is also a laundry although we didn't use it.

We would stay there again should we be lucky enough to holiday in Paihia again. Give it a go you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: If you are travelling off season you will get a better "walk in" rate than pre booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette S, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hello Lind.Fran
Thank you for your time taken to review our Motel. Must agree that it is a shame that the road through Paihia runs in front of all the Waterfront Accommodation in Paihia.

The views from 21 of our 25 units at the people walking by does create an ambiance of its own that you see in top holiday resorts.

Thanks for staying with us and we would love to welcome you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our family of 5 (3 children and 2 adults) loved our Easter holiday in Paihia. We were so impressed with our unit (no. 23), which was set back from the road and had a great view out over the bay at Paihia. The children loved the balcony and the two tvs (one in lounge and one in bedroom). There was one bedroom and a very comfortable pull out, double couch and bed in the lounge. The unit was serviced each day and was spotless, everything was new, it was a treat staying there. Lynn and Ken the hosts were very friendly and helpful, and always around if you needed them. They were knowledgeable with info about boat trips too, and can book them for you. They even let us know when some huge marlin had been caught and we took the kids down to the wharf to see them! The restaurants and shops were a very easy walking distance and Waitangi was just around the corner. We will definitely recommend this motel to family and friends, and hope to stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette S, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hello LorraineB34 Thanks for taking the time to review our Motel. It is great to have a family staying like yours, well behaved and appreciative of the news suites.

We have put our hearts into the new Breakwater Motel and yes we are always on site for our guests as we live on site.

The Marlin fishing is an exciting season and for guests to view the fish is a bonus as most are tagged and released. We love to share with our guests what the Bay has to offer.

Thanks for staying at our place and hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from the Breakwater and would just like to say that this is the best motel we have stayed in. What really impressed us was the standard of cleanliness.You could eat off the floor. The hosts were very warm and friendly,and on our way home we had a call from Lynn to say we had left our charger and she would forward it straight away. What great service.We will recommend the motel to friends and family and hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette S, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hello Allyson W Thanks for taking the time to review our lovely Motel. It is very encouraging for us to get positive comments like you have made. Thanks for staying with us at Breakwater Motel and look forward to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Breakwater Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakwater Motel

Address: 1 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#1 Business Hotel in Paihia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#4 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breakwater Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Waterfront Accommodation on Central Paihia Waterfront that is only a two minute walk to cafes, restuarants, shops and Paihia Wharf where tours depart from.Spectacular interrupted ocean views from Waterfront Suites, partial sea views from Seaview Suites. Sky Guest Select 50 channels - Free WiFi.Paihia is the perfect base to explore the Bay of Islands and up to Cape Reinga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Breakwater Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakwater Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakwater Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.