We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breakwater Motel

Save Saved
You added Breakwater Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Breakwater Motel
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   1 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST RATES GUARANTEED
Ranked #1 of 44 hotels in Paihia
Frome, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The check in process was smooth and friendly, with advice being given on where to eat, local maps etc. Our room was lovely, with great views of the bay, A/C and wi-fi. It was also spacious. The location was excellent, just a short walk to the shops, restaurants and pier.

We booked a trip to see the dolphins and hole in the rock via Beachwater desk also which worked fine.

Room Tip: Sea views are a little more but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette S, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thanks NeilLanning for taking the time to review our Motel
It is good to have positive feed back from someone as well traveled as yourself making the comments more credible.
Our check in process is polished but we do have the time to spend with each guest as required.Most people enjoy a chat (and so do we!) and want advise on what will make their stay an experience to remember.
We are fortunate that we have great views from 21 of our 25 suites and the air conditioning is a must for the lovely hot summer days we enjoy here.
Once again thanks for staying at Breakwater Motel and we would love the opportunity to welcome you again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    45
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
159
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

What struck me the most about this motel was how impeccably clean our room was! Cleanliness is very important to me and I would even say this room was cleaner than what most 5-star hotels offer. We stayed in the Garden Suite which was nice and quiet at night. We had an air-conditioner unit which kept our room nice and cool. All our linen and furniture looked very new and the sofa and bed were both very comfortable. Our room was serviced each day. Parking was right outside our room. The motel is perfectly located around a quiet corner with easy walking distance to all the shops, cafes, ferries. Owner Lyn was a great host and was kind enough to upgrade our room on our first night. She also booked our dolphin cruise tour and provided a discounted price. When I come back to Paihia there is no doubt in my mind about which motel I will choose to stay at. Breakwater Motel had everything we needed!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette S, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thanks Kellyellie for taking the time to review our beautiful Motel which we are very proud of.

Cleanliness is very important to us and it is great you too appreciate the efforts of our staff and see 5 star cleanliness.

The rooms are well appointed and when we came to Paihia 12 months ago, we saw the need for the type of accommodation we provide. Accommodation in Paihia is very much a place where you get what you pay for and our rates do reflect the extra quality and decor provided as great value.

Yes the location is the best in Paihia with short walks to all the shops and activities so your car can stay safely parked at our motel at no cost. It is a pleasure to be able to help and book the activities/cruises for you and we enjoy seeing you on your return from these after you have had a great day.

Thanks for choosing to stay at Breakwater Motel and we will look forward to welcoming you to our Motel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Ken and Lynn are amazing hosts
This was our first trip to Paihia with the family.
The family room was very spacious with full kitchen facilities, rooms were good sizes and very quiet. Good on site parking.
The property was close to all amenities.
The fishing charter the motel offered was a great trip with plenty of action
I would recommend this motel is definitely worth a look if your planning a trip to Paihia
We've been back twice

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette S, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thanks Elisabeth F for taking the time to review us on tripadvisor.
We are very proud of our new Motel on Paihia's beautiful waterfont.
Your comments are heart warming and yes we also feel the size of the Seaview Suites are great for families with the airconditioning and 50 plus channels of Sky television. The two televisions allow the family to spread out and still leave space for food preparation and dining.
We thank you sincerely for reiterating what previous reviewers have written it gives us the confidence to continue to operate in the same vain going forward.
We have a fantastic play ground here in the Bay especially for the people who love the water activities. It is great to have feed back on the charter operators we suggest and use. I hope your family caught fish to eat and enjoy also.
Thanks again for your kind remarks and great to see you have been back since. We hope that we can welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at The Breakwater for three nights and it was our first time in the Bay of Islands - it's a lovely area! The motel has a nice view and is close walking distance (2 minutes) to restaurants, cafes, shops and the wharf where the ferries go over to Russell and around the BOI. A walk around the corner takes you to a nice beach on the way to Waitangi (a MUST see) and a walk in the other direction takes you to a nice swimming beach also. The beach out front of The Breakwater, is not as nice as those two but it's still beautiful to sit on. Our room was upstairs and looked over the car park to the sea. Not a perfect view, but still pretty good. I think the units in the front would have had more traffic noise. The room decor is lovely, obviously recently done up. The bathroom was roomy with a terrific glass shower box. The kitchen was great with everything you need, and the lounge/dining furniture was comfortable and of high quality. Our unit could have slept 5 because there was a sofa bed and a daybed. The bedroom was slightly small and the space around the bed was a little tight, but there was still room for bags and the choice of pillows and wardrobe space and drawers was appreciated. There were two TV's which was a treat, and the small dining table was great for us one night as we ate our takeaways and took in the view. We did experience a bit of neighborhood noise, with neighbors at the Breakwater who were noisy on their deck and leaving very early one morning. We also heard a bit of noise from the Swiss Chalet next door - there are a lot of motels around! But really the only thing I would mention was that there was no service at all over the three days. No change of towels, no emptying of our kitchen rubbish, no vacuum. No nothing. I was quite surprised and wondered if there was a sign that we were supposed to put out on the door...but no. We left without seeing the owners as the office was unmanned, so the mystery remains a mystery! We loved Paihia though and we will definitely be back, but may try another motel next time - there's no shortage!

Room Tip: Perfect sea view is on a main road, partial sea view is back behind carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette S, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to do a review. We are shocked to read that you had been missed off the service list 2 days in a row! Shock horror!! We apoligize sincerely and have now a cross check in place to ensure this will not occur again from today. We take a huge pride in our New Motel and live on site 24hours per day which makes us available to act imediatrely to this type of situation should it happen or we be informed of it happening. This does remind me of the person who eats the entire steak meal then complains that it was under cooked. (too late)
The noise from neighbours could also been remedied as we have both phone numbers for the owners who do not live on site.
The comment about the office being unmaned was incorrect ,as we can distinctly remember you telling us that you broke a wine glass and the salt shaker, on your departure.
The office is open 12 to 15 hours per day as required and we know when the office door is approached. No mystery!!
Thank you for staying with us and we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We recently enjoyed two nights at the Breakwater Motel (booked direct $210 p.night). This is a very good motel in a good location on the sea front, about five minutes walk from the town centre. We had a sea view room and was very well appointed with everything you will need to make your stay a pleasant one. Accommodation comprises a separate bedroom (small), bathroom (large), open plan living and dining area with full kitchen facilities. Tea and coffee facilities also included (milk provided first night only). The living area is air conditioned, but not the bedroom. Free Wi Fi is available.
As mentioned, this is a very good motel, but not without it's design flaws (you pick them out), but these will not detract from your stay.
I thought the room rate was on the expensive side, but this is probably reflective of accommodation rates in this location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma, Queensland, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We didn't have a booking at this motel we just walked in off the street. We originally stayed for one night and ended up staying for 4. Ken and Lyn were ever so helpful to us. We had our son with vomiting and they just helped us immensely and it was New Years Day. They also helped book our trip to the Hole in the Rock. I would highly recommend this motel to friends and family.

Room Tip: We had the bottom floor at the front which overlooked the bay was very good for the New Years Eve fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bc
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had the pleasure of spending 5 days in this hotel last week. We had a view of the bay from our room. The units, while smallish, were well designed. The kitchen area was nicely laid out and perfect for having dinner in which is all one needs after long days seeing the sights the bay of islands has to offer. Lynn was the consummate host looking after all of our needs. She was kind enough to book our tours for us both of which were marvellous with terrific guides. We were fortunate enough to have a unit with a garden out front well above the road which helped reduce the road noise, something which is constant in Piahia. Would recommend to all travelers.

Room Tip: Stay in room 5 or 6 for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Breakwater Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakwater Motel

Address: 1 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Paihia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#3 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breakwater Motel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Waterfront Accommodation on Central Paihia Waterfront that is only a two minute walk to cafes, restuarants, shops and Paihia Wharf where tours depart from.Spectacular interrupted ocean views from Waterfront Suites, partial sea views from Seaview Suites. Sky Guest Select 50 channels - Free WiFi.Paihia is the perfect base to explore the Bay of Islands and up to Cape Reinga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Breakwater Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakwater Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakwater Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.