We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breakwater Motel

Save Saved
You added Breakwater Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Breakwater Motel
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   1 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST RATES GUARANTEED
Ranked #1 of 44 hotels in Paihia
Dargaville, Northland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Friendly hosts giving the impression that we have been friends for ever, nothing been a problem to them. A the rooms are excellent with outstanding views overlooking the beach. Central location to attractions and all dining needs in Paihia. Looking forward to taking the kids with us next time :). Five star rating at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    45
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
159
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The Breakwater at Piahia is a great motel in a perfect loction. The owners were so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Our view of the island over the water was a delight, quiet, air conditioned room....it all just worked. Walking distance to ferries and shops it made our stay in the North Island. We will be back for a week next time. Happy Aussie

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We spent eight nights over the Christmas holidays at this motel - a lovely complex and in a superb location. Unit 8, on the corner, has to be our favourite but all the units look inviting. Ours had superb views from our lounge and deck right across the water and down to the wharf and cafes and restaurants and the wharf itself were just two minutes walk away. Excellent kitchen facilities, spacious bathroom, separate bedroom (also with balcony) all bright, modern and oh so clean. Our car happened to break down on Christmas Eve and Lyn and Ken were quick to offer transport for shopping should we need it. And on the Day itself Lyn delivered to our unit a lovely bottle of wine and some delicious chocolates! So, despite the car dramas, we returned home feeling we'd had one of the nicest Christmas breaks ever . . . . . thanks to hosts second to none - and Breakwater. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Upstairs waterside units all have balconies with lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

This motel was just perfect. A view overlooking the bay with rooms recently modernized clean and fresh. Staff were extremely helpful and the central location ideal for local bars and restaurants. No need to take the car.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in October for four nights with friends. Have finally found a bit of time to write a review. This is an excellent motel in one of my favourite spots in New Zealand. The Breakwater is very close to everything in Paihia, the facilities are pristine and the service is very friendly and knowledgeable. I have stayed in Paihia many times in the past ten years and would now not stay anywhere else other than the Breakwater. Thanks Lynn and Ken for a fantastic time, we will be back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My partner and I decided on a last minute trip from Auckland to Paihia over Christmas/New Year and most properties were booked.

We found this one on Wotif and it ticked all the boxes and seemed to do the trick

Reception was very friendly and the recently renovated room was very nicely presented.

Separate bedroom with a comfortable pullout bed in the lounger area. Large bathroom (shower only) was clean and tidy with nice soaps

There's a small kitchen area where you can do some light cooking but they ask you not to cook anything "odiferous" like fish - which is reasonable I guess but as many people catch fish in this region, it's a bit limiting.

Quick walk to main pier and restaurants as well as Waitangi. This also meant there was a lot of foot traffic outside the room's beach views.

The only thing preventing me from giving a higher rating is value for money. The room rate was too high (in my mind) for what you got, but what you got was nice.

Room Tip: The higher water view rooms would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights prior to a long journey back to UK. What a lovely location with marvellous views across the bay and just a few minutes from the centre of Paihia. Very high quality accommodation and friendly owners who gave useful recommendations on where to eat etc. Rooms 5 & 6 had access to a rear lawned area looking across the bay, a wonderful place to sit and soak up the atmosphere with whatever liquid one prefers. A first class establishment and one to be recommended.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Breakwater Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakwater Motel

Address: 1 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Paihia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#3 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breakwater Motel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Waterfront Accommodation on Central Paihia Waterfront that is only a two minute walk to cafes, restuarants, shops and Paihia Wharf where tours depart from.Spectacular interrupted ocean views from Waterfront Suites, partial sea views from Seaview Suites. Sky Guest Select 50 channels - Free WiFi.Paihia is the perfect base to explore the Bay of Islands and up to Cape Reinga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Breakwater Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakwater Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakwater Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.