We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B and C Newcastle NSW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breakwater Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Breakwater Motel to your Saves list
Breakwater Motel
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   1 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“B and C Newcastle NSW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Had front room for 3 days , loved it , was unwell at the time but it was very relaxing and recuperrrated well . Quiet , elevated room with a fantastic view from the bedroom , overlooking the garden and across to the bay. Saw the cruise ships, ate out, and cooked breakie. Was welcomed to leave car at the Motel and put our milk and fruit in the fridge while we enjoyed an overnight cruise. Loved the apt. Woulsd certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a guided tour, we liked our front room, thought it might have road noise, but not an issue a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    55
    10
    0
    2
See reviews for
58
187
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I ended up staying here for 2 nights. The motel is in a great location, ideal for visiting the town. It is very easy to find when arriving. The rooms are a good size and provide you with everything you need should you want to cook. Bathrooms are book, and equipped with new fixtures and fittings. Nice bog television with Sky.

The owners were great. They were very attentive and helped me book my day trip. They were also interested to hear how it went so they could pass on advice to others. Also when I ran into problems with my keys they were very supportive and helpful. I cannot speak highly enough about them.

When I go back I will definitely be staying here.

Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I had to stay in Paihia for the night to attend a friend's wedding and wanted something that was affordable. Well Breakwater was very well priced and I was greatly impressed at quality of the accomodation. It is well positioned and the main attractions are in easy reach of the motel. I would highly recommend Breakwater, the next time I have to stay in Paihia this motel will be first place I will look at staying in.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Have stayed a couple times now while up north on business. Great central northland location, very peaceful, great restaurants nearby, owners Ken & Lynn are very helpful.
I can imagine coming staying at Breakwater's for aleast a week for a holiday, so much so relaxing, yet plenty to see and do if you so desire.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is a modern and superb motel. New and clean, and it is close to the heart of the town. We were impressed! However, please note: there is no late-checkout option here. Well, it is still Highly recommended to all!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette S, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your valuable positive feedback. Our team take as much pride as we do maintaining the high standard of our property. We do apologise about the misunderstanding of a late check out. We certainly do offer both early check ins and late check outs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at Breakwater to participate in the State ocean swim. Lyn phoned me around 6pm on our check-in day as we were late! I had forgotten about the expected arrival time I had put on my booking, so this was very nice touch to ensure we were OK (as well as still coming). I had booked the Garden Studio as only staying for one night. However Lyn very kindly gave us a complimentary upgrade, so we wouldn't have to share a bed and would be well rested for our swim. We were well rested the next day! The 1 bedroom unit was spacious, modern and well equiped. The sofa bed was most comfortable and a good way to watch the TV! We didn't get any time to use either the pool for fitmess centre, so can't comment on these.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette S, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thanks so much for your comments and it was an absolute pleasure to provide you with a more suitable suite for the night prior to the Paihia swim. Our new spa pool area will be opening early 2013. We look forward to hosting you for the 2013 Ocean Swim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My Husband and I stayed in this very clean, modern and well appointed motel for 4 nights and loved staying there. We had been driving around both the north and south islands and had stayed in many places and this was one of the best. The views from the lounge room and bedroom were fabulous and the staff very friendly and accommodating. Would definitely recommend this lovely motel to anyone wanting a quality motel at a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Breakwater Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakwater Motel

Address: 1 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Paihia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#4 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breakwater Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Waterfront Accommodation on Central Paihia Waterfront that is only a two minute walk to cafes, restuarants, shops and Paihia Wharf where tours depart from.Spectacular interrupted ocean views from Waterfront Suites, partial sea views from Seaview Suites. Sky Guest Select 50 channels - Free WiFi.Paihia is the perfect base to explore the Bay of Islands and up to Cape Reinga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Breakwater Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakwater Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakwater Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.