We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breakwater Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Breakwater Motel to your Saves list
Breakwater Motel
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   1 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lovely spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This was a surprise weekend away for my partner's birthday and we loved it. I think we had the best spot in Paihia. We will definitely be back. Friendly staff, clean, tastefully decorated and gorgeous views. It was the little touches that made the difference too. The look on my partners face when we walked into our room was priceless. He also mentioned that Lyn wished him a Happy Birthday and hoped he enjoyed his stay which was nice.

Thanks Lyn and Ken. We think you do a fabulous job and we look forward to seeing you again next time.

Leanne and Mike

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    55
    10
    0
    2
See reviews for
58
187
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a great motel, wonderfully remodelled from the previous rooms. Very highly appointed rooms, all the things you expect in a top quality facility. Ken & Lyn are wonderful hosts, fully accomodating and delightfully cheerful. A very pleasureable stay.

Room Tip: You can't beat a sea view to wake up to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We booked cheap rooms on a "daily deals" website and were a bit concerned about what we would get. We shouldn't have worried. Our rooms were clean, modern and well appointed (including under-floor heating in the bathroom!) and had fantastic sea views. The hosts Ken and Lyn were friendly and helpful. The motel is also in a great location so we couldn't had asked for more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putaruru, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Fantastic place to stay. So close to everything and so much to do in Paihia. Hosts Ken and Lyn were most helpful. Motel is like new!!! Have been telling everyone what a great place it is. Thanks Ken and Lyn, we will definitly be back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We had a spacious, very clean room with sea views in this modern beautifully furnished motel. Our hosts Ken & Lyn were friendly and helpful. This recently refurbished motel is a must stay location, within easy walking to the wharf, shops, restaurants and of course, the beach. We had outdoor furniture and sun unbrella on the deck.This motel was so good, we added an extra night to our original booking!

Room Tip: We had a 1 bedroom with spa bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

excellent motel...the standard of the room was excellent. On arrival was offered a choice of milk, free internet tokens and just a general all round nice welcome.
i was just very very impressed with the room and the attention to detail of all the items that were in the room.
the only down side i could think of was that it is hard to change the channel on the sky box (yes a sky box which i was really impressed with that it was there in the the first place) from the bedroom as the sky unit was in the sittingroom and there was a wall inbetween so some leaning out of the bed was required :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Last Minute booking for 2 nights in the idyllic town of Paihia, and without a doubt the best choice of motel we could have made! Welcomed by smiling faces, small touches including free internet tokens, newspaper and a preference of milk! perfect location in Paihia 5 mins from ferry terminal, personal car park spaces outside room a bonus!

Rooms were stunning, we took the studio apartment which was spacious, immaculately clean, extremely well equipped and furnished to the highest standard.

Will without a doubt be returning!

Many thanks!!

Thankyou so much for such a brilliant stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Breakwater Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakwater Motel

Address: 1 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Paihia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#4 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breakwater Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Waterfront Accommodation on Central Paihia Waterfront that is only a two minute walk to cafes, restuarants, shops and Paihia Wharf where tours depart from.Spectacular interrupted ocean views from Waterfront Suites, partial sea views from Seaview Suites. Sky Guest Select 50 channels - Free WiFi.Paihia is the perfect base to explore the Bay of Islands and up to Cape Reinga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Breakwater Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakwater Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakwater Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.