We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good croissants” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Krumz Bakery

Krumz Bakery
144 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 44 Restaurants in Paihia
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Good croissants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The best croissants we have had in NZ where they are often too bready! Nice location too so you can buy your food and eat it on the beach!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paihia, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Yummy food!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This bakery is great but you gotta be quick! They run out of food quite fast. It is opposite the Paihia beach so very handy and the staff are nice too. Pies are nice and a good variety. Kept in clean and cool environment and sandwiches are tasty too. If they are out of pies and you are wanting to purchase them cold or frozen, they will sell you those too to heat up back home or in your hotel. You just have to ask!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Sweet and savoury yummies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Take a 20 minute break from your busy day and partake in a sweet or savoury snack... which ever your chosen weakness

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ouyen, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Pies are personal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

If an authentic New Zealand interpretation of the familiar is what you are after, then this little bakery is worth a visit. Be early, their popular styles can sell out..in fact, really early and you might grab a seat at one of the few tables outside and catch the magnificent, pink sunrises. Staff are genuinely friendly and proud of what they bake. Everything is fresh and great kiwi produce abounds. I'm not a pastry fan - my family are fussy - and the other treats impressed me too. Worth a stop!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oztraylya
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Edible yes, gourmet no and what does world famous mean exactly?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We were out for something to ward off the hunger pangs and the Implausible claim of ‘World Famous Pies & Cooked Breakfast’ still attracted my wife.
This bakery did come up on a previous Tripadvisor forum, now closed and I thought that given their captive clientele in this area, I would update and start a review to test their claim. Well, we had a world famous pie and it tasted just like an ordinary one.

Maybe some other reviewer will check out the ‘World famous cooked breakfast’.

My instinct tells me any claim to the status of gourmet and awesome, according to the Tucker's first law of culinary self promotion cannot be so, and Krumz Bakery, proved no exception to that world famous law.

Trouble is, a sign promoting ordinary pies would be a world famous waste of time.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Krumz Bakery also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Krumz Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Krumz Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.