We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service & very clean :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Admiral's View Lodge & Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Admiral's View Lodge & Motel to your Saves list
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   2 McMurray Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Great service & very clean :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We've just got back from a great weekend staying at Admiral's View lodge. The accommodation is walking distance from the main street & activities. The accommodation was super clean and the hosts were very hospitable directing us to nice restaurants and ferry time tables etc. I will certainly visit them again when I'm back in Paihia

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1NickK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penellie, Manager at Admiral's View Lodge & Motel, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Thanks for the excellent weekend, really enjoyed our stay, thanks to Craig and Penny for being such Great hosts. What a lovely place to visit when the people are so friendly and accommodating.........

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceP831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I have to say both Craig and Penny certainly went the extra mile to make our stay memorable.
Very friendly and helpful with great local knowledge to point us in the right direction for meals, entertainment and helping us organise our day.
Rooms are very roomy and immaculate. Nice big bathrooms and great showers. Serviced daily with clean towels. Toiletries supplied and replenished when needed. Hairdryers provided also.

Free upgrade so our group ended up with rooms next to each other, nice tiled area's out front of rooms with outdoor furniture, allowing us to sit outside and enjoy a few quiet drinks.
Thanks - will definitely recommend your motel and will be back myself for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 348DebW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Great hospitality, very friendly people and the accommodation was everything you could ask for. Went the extra mile to make our 2 night stay informative and an enjoyable stay. Thank you. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penellie, Manager at Admiral's View Lodge & Motel, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review, we look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We traveled to Paihia in early February, 2014 on holiday. We stayed at Admiral's View for 2 nights. The room was on the street level in the middle. We faced the parking lot so it was a tad noisy with cars and other hotel guests.

Having said that the location of the hotel is great; not right on the main street but only 1 1/2 blocks off the main street. We had only a 5 mins walk to several places to eat and to the water. The parking is free and there were plenty of onsite parking spots.

The room was clean and big enough with a kitchen area, a small table and chairs, and a chair near the bed. The bed wasn't the most comfortable bed we'd ever slept in but it was only 2 nights. The bathroom was plenty big and was supplied with toiletries. The odd thing was the entry to the room was a sliding glass door which opened right to the parking lot. The drapes had to be kept drawn or else you were looking at everyone coming and going and they the same at us. The wi-fi was free and it worked. That's always a plus!

The couple who ran the place (Craig and Penny) were very nice and quite welcoming. They booked us a "Hole in the Rock" boat tour and explained that the trip through the rock may or may not happen depending on the waves so we knew what to expect. They answered all of our touristy questions and shared some of their experiences, as well.

I would definitely stay here again but book an upper level room. And, I'll take Craig up on the offer of that glass of milk!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mlas101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We visited over Easter break and were greeted with a wonderful smile and warm welcome after a long drive from Auckland. We we given an upgrade which was fabulous. Beautiful views, lovely walk into town (not too far - 5mins max) and great place to stay! We'll be back and would highly recommend to all!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The property is very clean and ideally situated within walking distance to attractions and restaurants. The manager, Craig is very pleasant and couldn't be more helpful. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: there are only 11 rooms and while all are good, the ones one the top floor have a balcony and a sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank banga1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#8 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 450 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral's View Lodge & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral's View Lodge & Motel

Address: 2 McMurray Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Admiral's View Lodge & Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly 4+star self-contained and serviced motel in a central location. Relax and enjoy the view to the sea from the sunny balcony or patio of most units. Admirals View Lodge is well located for walking to all your Paihia activities and attractions - plus tours pick up daily from the motel. We are close to the Paihia beach (only 1 block, 250m) but benefit from a peaceful location away from Paihia's main road. Let us help you plan your trip to see the Bay of Islands and the famous Hole in the Rock. Take a bus on an exciting journey to Cape Reinga or enjoy the thrill of swimming with dolphins. Enjoy a ferry ride to Romantic Russell or soak up the history at Waitangi Treaty Grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Admiral's View Lodge & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admirals View Hotel
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing