We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Great hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Admiral's View Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Admiral's View Lodge to your Saves list
Admiral's View Lodge
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   2 McMurray Road, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Best Price Guarantee
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Great Place, Great hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Thanks for the excellent weekend, really enjoyed our stay, thanks to Craig and Penny for being such Great hosts. What a lovely place to visit when the people are so friendly and accommodating.........

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    28
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
59
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I have to say both Craig and Penny certainly went the extra mile to make our stay memorable.
Very friendly and helpful with great local knowledge to point us in the right direction for meals, entertainment and helping us organise our day.
Rooms are very roomy and immaculate. Nice big bathrooms and great showers. Serviced daily with clean towels. Toiletries supplied and replenished when needed. Hairdryers provided also.

Free upgrade so our group ended up with rooms next to each other, nice tiled area's out front of rooms with outdoor furniture, allowing us to sit outside and enjoy a few quiet drinks.
Thanks - will definitely recommend your motel and will be back myself for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Great hospitality, very friendly people and the accommodation was everything you could ask for. Went the extra mile to make our 2 night stay informative and an enjoyable stay. Thank you. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penellie, Manager at Admiral's View Lodge, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review, we look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We traveled to Paihia in early February, 2014 on holiday. We stayed at Admiral's View for 2 nights. The room was on the street level in the middle. We faced the parking lot so it was a tad noisy with cars and other hotel guests.

Having said that the location of the hotel is great; not right on the main street but only 1 1/2 blocks off the main street. We had only a 5 mins walk to several places to eat and to the water. The parking is free and there were plenty of onsite parking spots.

The room was clean and big enough with a kitchen area, a small table and chairs, and a chair near the bed. The bed wasn't the most comfortable bed we'd ever slept in but it was only 2 nights. The bathroom was plenty big and was supplied with toiletries. The odd thing was the entry to the room was a sliding glass door which opened right to the parking lot. The drapes had to be kept drawn or else you were looking at everyone coming and going and they the same at us. The wi-fi was free and it worked. That's always a plus!

The couple who ran the place (Craig and Penny) were very nice and quite welcoming. They booked us a "Hole in the Rock" boat tour and explained that the trip through the rock may or may not happen depending on the waves so we knew what to expect. They answered all of our touristy questions and shared some of their experiences, as well.

I would definitely stay here again but book an upper level room. And, I'll take Craig up on the offer of that glass of milk!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We visited over Easter break and were greeted with a wonderful smile and warm welcome after a long drive from Auckland. We we given an upgrade which was fabulous. Beautiful views, lovely walk into town (not too far - 5mins max) and great place to stay! We'll be back and would highly recommend to all!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The property is very clean and ideally situated within walking distance to attractions and restaurants. The manager, Craig is very pleasant and couldn't be more helpful. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: there are only 11 rooms and while all are good, the ones one the top floor have a balcony and a sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Our room was clean, spacious, and stocked with everything we needed to make our own meals, we had great plunger coffee provided every day, The water pressure in the showers was awesome, plenty of hot water to fill the giant Jacuzzi in the bathroom, and a TV that wirelessly connected to our laptop. The staff was friendly and helpful, and very warm and welcoming. We had access to good bikes, tennis courts across the street, and a pool next door. Every day when we went out for activities our room was totally cleaned, dishes, bed made, linins and towels replaced, and hot drinks re stocked. My missus and I had a wonderful time, couldn't have been any better.

Room Tip: Our room was the King suite or something like that, but It was the most expensive one, but all the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Admiral's View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral's View Lodge

Address: 2 McMurray Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Admiral's View Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly 4+star self-contained and serviced motel in a central location. Relax and enjoy the view to the sea from the sunny balcony or patio of most units. Under new management - April 2012 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Admiral's View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admirals View Hotel
Admiral's View Lodge Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Admiral's View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.