We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The others must be exceptioally good.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Admiral's View Lodge

Save Saved
You added Admiral's View Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Admiral's View Lodge
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   2 McMurray Road, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3 pay for only 2 nts
Ranked #15 of 44 hotels in Paihia
WIRRAL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The others must be exceptioally good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights over Easter and really enjoyed our stay. The owners were very friendly and helpful (one was pregnant and one is a scouser) and our room was very clean and comfortable and well fitted out. From our 1st floor shared balcony we had a view of Pihia and the beautiful Bay of Islands.
It was a very short walk to shops, restaurants and the pier for ferry bookings. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: !st floor for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penellie, Manager at Admiral's View Lodge, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation! Our baby George is now 5 mths old, no doubt soon he will be helping out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    27
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
54
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed for five nights at the Admiral's View Lodge in Paihia. We had booked a studio room with a view but upgraded to a studio apartment with the spa bath and a GREAT view of the Bay. The room was very comfortable, extremely clean and comfortable. There was a small fridge, microwave and hotplate so you could cook a small meal if you so desired. The Manager was very nice on our arrival and the other staff were also very helpful.
This is good accommodation at a very good price and more than convenient in location to visit all the tourist places in the area. It is a short walk to the centre of town and the restaurants/cafes. Walking distance to the wharf for boat travel. I would certainly recommend this to anyone visiting the area.

Room Tip: Within easy walking distance to the centre of town and all the restaurants etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penellie, Manager at Admiral's View Lodge, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your time in Paihia and your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We have arrived in Bay of Islands with no accommodation prebooked. We looked at 4 motels and the Admiral was an immediate 'yes' from the three of us having seen it last. It was clean, new, welcoming owners and beautiful views over the ocean. The motel offers all facilities you may need, on site launderette, high speed unlimited wifi, even bicycles!

The rooms are spacious, tidy and fresh. Air conditioned, big bathroom with a spa tub and separate shower cubicle. I have to say that having spent 3 weeks in various motels across both islands in New Zealand this one scores my top marks! Especially as I'm quite a demanding traveller being used to staying at Sheraton etc when holidaying overseas.

On my last day I forgot to pack a dress I left in the wardrobe. I contacted the owners asking whether they could post it to me to Auckland. To my surprise the owners got on to it straight away and offered to post it for free. This is a great customer service and I strongly recommend the Admiral as a place to stay in Bay of Islands. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penellie, Manager at Admiral's View Lodge, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review, my husband and I appreciate your comments. We endeavour to provide a room and service that we ourselves would be happy to receive and are pleased this enhanced your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed here in February 2013 and would reccomend this Lodge to anyone. It is nicely furnished ,has good facilities,and the apartment we had, also had wonderful views. It is clean ,and has an on site laundry facility, bikes are for hire ,and with overall good impressions,it is inviting. It is also within walking distance to shops and sea front.

Room Tip: Upstairs have a deck with seating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penellie, Manager at Admiral's View Lodge, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased that you found Admirals View to have everything you required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Admiral's View Lodge was a great find.
We had 2x Luxury studio apartments, one with a King size double Bed, the other with Twin beds.
Both were spacious and superbly equiped. Well situated 5mins from the beach and restaurants etc. The hosts, Craig and Penny, are excellent!!!! Nothing is too much trouble and full of information and advice. Many other establishments could learn a few things from this couple.
Excellent value for money. Extras like bike hire and tennis rackets loan, for use on the adjacent court - all free of charge.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penellie, Manager at Admiral's View Lodge, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review and very kind recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Work takes me to Paihia every two months and I always stay here. The rooms are well equipped, comfortable and very clean. Close enough to access the beach and town on foot, but out of the way of noise. Penny and Craig are friendly, excellent hosts, and make you feel very welcome.All of these things will keep me returning to Admirals View Lodge!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penellie, Manager at Admiral's View Lodge, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
It is a pleasure having you to stay with us, thank you so much for taking time to post the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Its our first time here at Paihia and our accomodation was the best!!!! We booked their 2 bedroom apartment. I'm really impressed with it. First bedroom has two singles and double and other bedroom has double bed. Nice kitchen. Big bathroom. Nice decor. Plus very accomodating host penny and craig. Its quiet at night and far from the party central so its good. Short walk to town. Close to the beach. Definitely recommended to everybody with a smile. Thank you: :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penellie, Manager at Admiral's View Lodge, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Admirals View, we appreciate your comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay. We wish we had more two bedroom apartments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Admiral's View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral's View Lodge

Address: 2 McMurray Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#12 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Admiral's View Lodge 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly 4+star self-contained and serviced motel in a central location. Relax and enjoy the view to the sea from the sunny balcony or patio of most units. Under new management - April 2012 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Admiral's View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admirals View Hotel
Admiral's View Lodge Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Admiral's View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.