We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful and friendly.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Hai Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bali Hai Motel to your Saves list
Bali Hai Motel
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   8-10 Coutts Avenue, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very helpful and friendly.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Barbara is one of the most friendly moteliers I have met. We had some dramas with some of our flights and other accommodation and she helped us out, far beyond what she needed to do.

We stayed ins 2 bedroom unit that had great views. The bathroom brand new. Tv's in all rooms. Kitchen was well stocked.

Location is a bit out of paihia central, but if you have a car it is no problem. It is also walkable but it is over a hill. When we were booking we found a lot of motels were really expensive but Bali hai was good value for money.
I definitely recommend this motel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Bali Hai Motel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hello Cherie
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, and so quickly too. I am glad that you found the motel had what you needed, and that you felt the rate reflected a fair value. I wish the 3 of you well with your onward travels.
Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    67
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
83
125
19
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paihia, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

An excellent facility. Well appointed modern room with lots of nice touches.
Wonderfully clean and very well equipped. Good wifi connection
Friendly welcome, good advice about the area. ...............................Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Bali Hai Motel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hello Jonathan & Jan
Thank you for such a lovely review - I truly appreciate it. Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Very pleasant, well presented and clean motel with a very helpful and courteous manager, Barbara. It is a short walk to the main town but a very pleasant one unless of course you don't like walking then you take your car. Can also walk to and from town around the coastal path when the tide is out. Great views and a most enjoyable stay especially as we only originally intended staying for one night and were able to stay for three which gave us access to the town Piahia and Russell by using the local ferry.

Room Tip: Personal choice of type of room, all rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Bali Hai Motel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Sue & Graham
Thank you for staying the extra nights, and for taking the time to post a review. I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay.The coastal walk from us to Paihia is lovely. It makes my day when I know guests have had a good stay and we really enjoy receiving our positive reviews. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great views, clean and well presented, modern bathroom, extremely friendly and helpful manager, Barbara. Excellent attention to detail and great BBQ with all cooking requirements provided. Short drive to main beach and shopping areas. Modern, clean kitchen with all facilities for cooking.

Room Tip: Room 9 has more extensive views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Bali Hai Motel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Well, thank you!! That is the kind of review I like to read:)
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review, and for providing such a neat summary of what we offer. Best regards,Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarac, Florida
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This 9 room motel located about a mile from the actual beach area is great for a mountain goat. The manager, Barbara, is very sweet and tries to be helpful. In fact, because we were booked in room #9 at the very end of the building, she allowed us to park in the space reserved for unit #2. Visualize a building half way up a hill with open carports under each room. The access to the rooms is via a steep wooden staircase or by walking up a steep driveway to the rear of the building where there is a continuous patio running behind the units. After dragging our three roller bags (we were packed for 3 weeks and 2 climates, plus a wedding) up the hill (Barbara helped) we then dragged them down the patio to room #9. Since I am handicapped it was a real chore. She wanted us to do the reverse when we left and would not allow us to back up the driveway along the building that we dragged the bags up so that we could load them at the patio level. The room was fine but not anything special. Not much of a view and a long way from the beach by foot. The weather was perfect so there was a nice cool breeze, but had it been hot, there would not have been adequate ventilation. There was inadequate water pressure in the stall shower. We had a sitting area (with an extra bed) as well as a decent sized bedroom. There was also sufficient closet space and the rooms were clean. Wi-fi was available at no charge. As nice as Barbara was, we will not return to this facility. There are so many more in the area.

Room Tip: There are only 9 rooms all up the hill and on the second level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Bali Hai Motel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hello Dick, thank you for taking the time to post a review. It is disappointing to read that you feel the property is for mountain goats.

However, we have a wide range of people visit and all of them manage our access well.

We do check with guests who specify they are likely to have difficulty with access, and in some cases I turn bookings away, if we cannot meet requirements. Unfortunately, I only got a request for lower floor and extra pillows, and at no point was I advised that you would have mobility issues.

I did upgrade you to the one bedroom, at no cost to you, from the studio as I thought the extra space and furniture in that room would be better for you.

I do have to say we have excellent showers, and high pressure and we are less than 2 mins walk to the nearest beach, and I regularly explain to people how to gain beach access. There are many beaches in Paihia, not just the ones in town.

With regard to parking to load up your car, I did say, I did not want you to do that, as the area
you wanted to do that from is not a safe parking place for a vehicle.It is too narrow, and opening doors or trunks on a slope is not safe, as they usually slam shut. I did notice that you were not happy with me politely saying, I did not want you to do that, and as you say you are physically impaired, so from a safety aspect I made a decision, that this would not be a suitable thing for you to do. That is my job. I do not let anyone park in that area.


Thank you for your positive comments, regarding myself and the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

A little outside the city center, we have found a very nice and comfortable hotel with a friendly and magic atmosphere. Beautiful view. Our room was extremely clean and furbished. Barbara the manager of the Hotel is very kind and helping.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Bali Hai Motel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are 1km from Paihia and we value the quiet and lack of hustle that gives us. The motel is small, and we differentiate on being personal and hoping that people just relax and enjoy their stay. I am glad to know that you did. Thank you once again for taking the time to post a review. It means a lot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the end of Feb, and were really happy with our suite. It looks newer on the inside than it does on the outside so don't be fooled.

We had a one bedroom deluxe unit. The bathroom looked brand new and modern. The furnishings and kitchen were all updated, and our bed was very comfortable.

You would be better off with a car for this Motel as it is not right in town (I liked this)

The only thing I wasn't completely happy about was the cost of the laundry facilities - it is $5.00 per wash and $5.00 per dry. This seemed excessive. This most I have paid at similar hotels is $2.00 (or I had insuite laundry).

I would still come back here again though.

Room Tip: We had room 9 and it had a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Bali Hai Motel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review, and for the positive feedback you provided. I am sorry that you felt the cost of a washing load was high. I factor in the cost of water, power, and wear and tear of washing machine, cleaning of laundry into the $5 charge.
We also do provide a guest washing line, where laundry can dry for free.

I really appreciate you highlighting that the motel facade does not represent the internal appearance, this is an older property, and we cannot change drastically the external look.
So, it is good when guests highlight that for us.

I hope you will be able to return in the future. Best wishes Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bali Hai Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Hai Motel

Address: 8-10 Coutts Avenue, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#4 Best Value Hotel in Paihia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#8 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bali Hai Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bali Hai is a small family run business. We are personal in our approach and our size allows us to ensure that we respond to guests as individuals. With only 9 units, you are never crowded, our lay out gives you optional places to sit and take in the atmosphere, be it on our back patio, your front balcony, or somewhere in your room.We look forward to welcoming you to our spot in the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bali Hai Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Hai Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Hai Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.