We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Hai Motel

Save Saved
You added Bali Hai Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bali Hai Motel
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   8-10 Coutts Avenue, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
stay 3nts
Ranked #4 of 44 hotels in Paihia
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Had four wonderful nights at the Bali Hai. Our host Barbara could not have been more helpful and catered for our every need. Our room was spotlessly clean and the motel had the most amazing sea views. It was the ideal place to stay while in Paihia, not as noisy as in the town.Just a short walk from main resort. Excellent value for money. I will be telling my friends about this little gem.
Feel we made a new friend in Barbara and hope to return one day.

Room Tip: Small motel. All rooms are high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Bali Hai Motel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you Rita & Steve, for taking the time to write a review. I enjoyed having you visit. I am glad that the motel was perceived as excellent value to you, and that the location and noise levels were not an issue. We are 1km from the beginning of Paihia and we feel this is an advantage in many ways, certainly for quiet and privacy. As many of our guests comment, they feel it is a place to relax after a busy day being a tourist and exploring the area. Thank you both once again & I do hope you make it back in a couple of years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    65
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
81
120
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Bali Hai was the perfect place to start our two week trip of New Zealand Nth Island.
Very modern, clean and well maintained. Barbara was so helpful and it is a credit to her as she does it all on her own, she could not have been more helpful....nothing was too much trouble.
We found it the perfect place to stay as it was close to everything and only a short walk or drive to main shops etc.....we loved every bit of our stay and the cars travelling past were only a few and not a problem at all considering it was peak time too straight after xmas. The hotel is set well off the road so traffic noise was not an issue and where we live in Melbourne is a very quiet street so if traffic was going to be an issue it certainly wasnt for us. I can honestly say that after travelling from Auckland to Bay Of Islands, Taupo, Rotorua, Napier and Wellington that staying at BALI HAI PAIHIA BAY OF ISLANDS....was the best stay out of all and the one we miss the most now back at home.
Thank you Barbara....we will never forget your hospitality and the lovely room we had. Very private and perfect start to our trip. The kids aged 10 and 15 loved it and the fact there was no pool did not bother them as there were so many lovely beached areas to swim and they actually commented on how nice it was staying there and how quiet it was. The garden out the back was lovely and it was all set out lovely and considering there were others staying there it was so peaceful and the perfect relaxation that we needed considering we run our own business back home and life is busy. If we are ever in Nth Island again we will certainly be staying with you and will highly recommend you to anyone we know that is travelling to NZ.

Room Tip: Two bedroom was perfect for us with our two kids aged 10 and 15, we each had a tv in our rooms as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Bali Hai Motel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you, for such a lovely and detailed review. It is truly appreciated. It is a difficult call when guests leave, telling us how happy they have been, and we have to mention would you mind posting a review on Trip Advisor...this is the trend at the moment. We are impacted by all reviews, good and bad. Thankfully, the bad ones are rare, and that is something we continue to strive towards. I do not want unhappy people staying, it is not fair on me or them. People have to make choices based on an array of information and it is important to get it right. I am glad that for you choosing the Bali Hai was just right for you all:)
I look forward to hosting you and your family again in the future.
Barbara ~ Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We visit this fabulous motel on a regular basis. The rooms are very spacious and modern; packed with all the facilities you will need; the 2 bed apartments have 2 flat screen TV's, one in the lounge and another in the bedroom. Kitchen and lounge and bathroom are perfect and well equipped.
The views are stunning from the balcony over the beach; where you can sit and enjoy fabulous sunsets. At the rear of the rooms their is a great BBQ area, which is covered.
Barbara is an excellent host; and is always so welcoming; we have stayed here 3-4 times and she always remembers us; I would not stay anywhere else in Paihia - this motel has it all!

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony...the sunsets are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Bali Hai Motel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
I am delighted to receive your positive feedback - thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. I look forward to your next trip to celebrate your birthday. We are very fortunate that our balconies do allow people to just sit and watch a sunset with not much but open forest land
between the balcony and the setting sun. I know how busy everyone's lives are, so it is really appreciated when guests take the time to share their feedback, all of which helps other visitors make some informed choices. As a manager of a small motel, I want everyone to enjoy their visit, one unhappy guest is one too many.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

A basic road side Motel, with very limited facilities. No pool, gardens or games room etc. It's a long time since I have stayed in accommodation with lino on the floors, and although clean and well maintained, there are much better hotels just up the road. Situated on the main road out of Paihia, so the road noise made a good night sleep impossible.
Suitable for one night as a last resort, if nowhere else was available.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Bali Hai Motel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Ian
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the Bali Hai, disappointing though it is.
However, it is not always possible to receive positive feedback no matter what we do.
You stayed in a studio unit with 3 adults and your pet dog, and I gave you a favourable rate. At no point do we advertise any of the facilities you say we do not have - and you came to the motel the day before to arrange your accomodation, and you were shown the room in advance. Therefore I find your review a little surprising to say the least.

We have sound tempered glass on all our studio rooms, and no one has ever had a problem sleeping before? I do know that you brought some of your family back to the unit and when I queried the number of people in the room - sometimes that can offend - but for security purposes I need to know.

I think as a reviewer you should be aware that one bad review on Trip Advisor has a hugely damaging affect, and that you owe it to me and yourself to be fair! To say we are a basic roadside motel is not fair and my other Trip Advisor reviews will bear me out. In fact, I will take steps to speak to you about this review Ian, as I feel at the least you should have spoken to me about your issues.

Barbara ~ Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at the Bali Hai in mid December. Our first stop on our 3 week trip around New Zealand. We'd had a long drive up from Auckland (made longer by us taking an unplanned detour) but it was well worth it. Great views from the balcony which caught the evening sun and a short (15 min) walk into the lovely township of Paihia - it was a great way to start our trip. The motel had excellent facilities including a BBQ (complete with all utensils and a fridge of condiments - nice touch) and a DVD library. The owner, Barbara gave us a warm welcome and some great tips on what to do during our time in the Bay of Islands. I'd thoroughly recommend the Bali Hai as you're base whilst in Paihia.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Bali Hai Motel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Bali Hai. I am glad that you enjoyed
the amenities and the view from your balcony. We do get some glorious sunsets, and it is a relaxing way to spend the end of the day. Our location, just on the edge of Paihia means we are quiet,but close enough for easy access, a one minute drive or a 10-15 minute walk, depending on where you want to get too.

I am glad that your trip got off to a "fantastic" start and I hope it continued to go well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here beginning of December for one week. We had been upgraded for free to the one-bedroom apartment which was immaculately clean. Barbara came to meet us and gave us the use of the babycot for free as we were staying 6 nights. She also gave us a baby bath and a play mat to use during our stay.
The rooms were cleaned daily and beds made, it felt like staying in a hotel. Barbara was available to assist and advise about the area most of the time but never was in your space.
I would recommend this motel to anyone staying in the Bay of Islands, it was first class!!! Thanks Barbara for everything and happy new year x

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Bali Hai Motel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your review, I remember you guys well, I hope Alexander continued to stay well on the remainder of your trip. It is always lovely when people base themselves with us for a while. It means we get to know you, and share some of your holiday and life experiences and vice versa. I enjoyed our chats on the patio, and the mingling with other guests. Thank you for coming to watch me in the Paihia Christmas parade, it was lovely to see guests I recognised from the float!
I do hope that you guys will visit again and as you have family in New Zealand that is a distinct possiblity:)

Best wishes for 2013 to the 3 of you too.
Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Everything was excellent, would stay there again. Can't say much more than that really! Though Merlin the cat was more friendly than Gandalf the cat! Location didn't get an excellent as it is just a tad to far to walk into Paihia but in the summer that might not be a bad thing as it is quieter.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Bali Hai Motel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Well thank you for your review ~ and I am still grinning that you included the cats too.
Merlin, is very friendly you are correct and Gandalf the Grey well he can be a bit more aloof, but he is also very friendly. Of course, the cats do not / are not allowed in the rooms, but as you probably found out, they get enough attention as it is!!

Delighted that the motel also got a good review and I hope to host you here again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bali Hai Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Hai Motel

Address: 8-10 Coutts Avenue, Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#7 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bali Hai Motel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bali Hai is a small family run business. We are personal in our approach and our size allows us to ensure that we respond to guests as individuals. With only 9 units, you are never crowded, our lay out gives you optional places to sit and take in the atmosphere, be it on our back patio, your front balcony, or somewhere in your room.We look forward to welcoming you to our spot in the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Bali Hai Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Hai Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Hai Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.