We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A last resort” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pearl of the Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pearl of the Bay to your Saves list
Pearl of the Bay
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   8-10 Coutts Avenue, Paihia 0252, New Zealand (Formerly Bali Hai Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Auckland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A last resort”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

A basic road side Motel, with very limited facilities. No pool, gardens or games room etc. It's a long time since I have stayed in accommodation with lino on the floors, and although clean and well maintained, there are much better hotels just up the road. Situated on the main road out of Paihia, so the road noise made a good night sleep impossible.
Suitable for one night as a last resort, if nowhere else was available.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littleian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Ian
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the Bali Hai, disappointing though it is.
However, it is not always possible to receive positive feedback no matter what we do.
You stayed in a studio unit with 3 adults and your pet dog, and I gave you a favourable rate. At no point do we advertise any of the facilities you say we do not have - and you came to the motel the day before to arrange your accomodation, and you were shown the room in advance. Therefore I find your review a little surprising to say the least.

We have sound tempered glass on all our studio rooms, and no one has ever had a problem sleeping before? I do know that you brought some of your family back to the unit and when I queried the number of people in the room - sometimes that can offend - but for security purposes I need to know.

I think as a reviewer you should be aware that one bad review on Trip Advisor has a hugely damaging affect, and that you owe it to me and yourself to be fair! To say we are a basic roadside motel is not fair and my other Trip Advisor reviews will bear me out. In fact, I will take steps to speak to you about this review Ian, as I feel at the least you should have spoken to me about your issues.

Barbara ~ Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at the Bali Hai in mid December. Our first stop on our 3 week trip around New Zealand. We'd had a long drive up from Auckland (made longer by us taking an unplanned detour) but it was well worth it. Great views from the balcony which caught the evening sun and a short (15 min) walk into the lovely township of Paihia - it was a great way to start our trip. The motel had excellent facilities including a BBQ (complete with all utensils and a fridge of condiments - nice touch) and a DVD library. The owner, Barbara gave us a warm welcome and some great tips on what to do during our time in the Bay of Islands. I'd thoroughly recommend the Bali Hai as you're base whilst in Paihia.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBXXIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here beginning of December for one week. We had been upgraded for free to the one-bedroom apartment which was immaculately clean. Barbara came to meet us and gave us the use of the babycot for free as we were staying 6 nights. She also gave us a baby bath and a play mat to use during our stay.
The rooms were cleaned daily and beds made, it felt like staying in a hotel. Barbara was available to assist and advise about the area most of the time but never was in your space.
I would recommend this motel to anyone staying in the Bay of Islands, it was first class!!! Thanks Barbara for everything and happy new year x

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelanieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your review, I remember you guys well, I hope Alexander continued to stay well on the remainder of your trip. It is always lovely when people base themselves with us for a while. It means we get to know you, and share some of your holiday and life experiences and vice versa. I enjoyed our chats on the patio, and the mingling with other guests. Thank you for coming to watch me in the Paihia Christmas parade, it was lovely to see guests I recognised from the float!
I do hope that you guys will visit again and as you have family in New Zealand that is a distinct possiblity:)

Best wishes for 2013 to the 3 of you too.
Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Everything was excellent, would stay there again. Can't say much more than that really! Though Merlin the cat was more friendly than Gandalf the cat! Location didn't get an excellent as it is just a tad to far to walk into Paihia but in the summer that might not be a bad thing as it is quieter.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpacedMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Well thank you for your review ~ and I am still grinning that you included the cats too.
Merlin, is very friendly you are correct and Gandalf the Grey well he can be a bit more aloof, but he is also very friendly. Of course, the cats do not / are not allowed in the rooms, but as you probably found out, they get enough attention as it is!!

Delighted that the motel also got a good review and I hope to host you here again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at the Bali Hai during the New years period of this year and really enjoyed our stay. The hostess was amazing, the unit we stayed in was very spacious and clean. The views from our balcony were stunning and I would recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Hello Hannah thank you for your review. I know you were only here one night, so that makes it even more important that you took the time to post your thoughts. We appreciate that.
We do have high cleaning standards, that is the backbone of what we do, making sure rooms are fresh, clean, and welcoming, for each guest to experience. As I am constantly aware, you do not get a second chance to make a good first impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is an awesome hotel, Barbara made us feel so welcome and was incredibly friendly and helpful. Great views from the balcony. Self contained with everything you need. The bathroom is beautiful and brand new, looks as if it has been recently renovated. Love the space to hang your clothes and put your belongings whilst there in the bedrooms. Roomy Lounge with a great sized tv for those rainy days. Lovely BBQ area out the back. This will always be a very memorable place to me as my partner and I got engaged there on the beach down from the hotel!! Beautiful spot, beautiful hotel and lovely owner!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthie884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. "Congratulations again to you and Terry on your engagement, Ruth, a very special event during your holiday. I am glad, you found the room had all that you needed including good space for clothes and personal items.
We have been having some lovely warm days so the BBQ's have been getting a lot of use, in fact I cleaned them both this morning!! Hope to see you all again, maybe after you are married!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The motel is very tidy, the room we stay in is good for two people, love the facility, enjoyed to do our own BBQ at the backyard. The manager us really friendly and helpful, help us a lot. It is a pleasant and comfortable stay. I would like recommend to others.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lvkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Hello, thank you for your recommendation - I am glad that you and your partner enjoyed your stay. As I commented in a previous review, we have been having lovely warm days, Kathy, so lots of guests have been using the BBQ's. I hope your journey back to the South Island went well and hope to see you both again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
1.2 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#9 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.9 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 450 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl of the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl of the Bay

Address: 8-10 Coutts Avenue, Paihia 0252, New Zealand (Formerly Bali Hai Motel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#2 Best Value Hotel in Paihia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#12 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pearl of the Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pearl of the Bay is a small family run business. We are personal in our approach and our size allows us to ensure that we respond to guests as individuals. With only 9 units, you are never crowded, our lay out gives you optional places to sit and take in the atmosphere, be it on our back patio, your front balcony, or somewhere in your room.We look forward to welcoming you to our spot in the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Pearl of the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl Of The Bay Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing