We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Hai Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bali Hai Motel to your Saves list
Bali Hai Motel
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   8-10 Coutts Avenue, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Sippy Downs, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights from November 18 (family of three with nine year old son). This motel is fantastic. It is an older place, but it is refurbished and our unit was comfortable and spacious. Great sized kitchen made it easy when we wanted fo eat in. About a one and a half kilometre walk to the wharf with a bit of a hill to give you some extra cardio...loved it. Barbara could not have been more welcoming or obliging. If I am ever back in the Bay of Islands, and I so hope I will be, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Bali Hai Motel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Katherine, thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. It is much appreciated, and it is great when people are happy with their visit and have hopes of returning. I hardly saw you which is what it is all about, us providing a comfortable base from which to explore our beautiful area. I hope that you all continue to have a wonderful time in New Zealand. Thank you, your feedback is important.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    69
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
86
128
20
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We based all our accomodation based on ratings and comments on tripadvisor. This was the first time we have done this and I am pleased to say, we were not disappointed. The Bali Hai was up to the high standard that had been recommendated by others. It has great views but is a little out of town up a hill. An easy ride in the car. Fantastic recomendations and service from Barbara. As far a value for money, this is great. Its not the Hilton but it is a very well presented place.

Room Tip: Walls can be a tad thin with guests next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Bali Hai Motel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and I appreciate your feedback.
Thank you for noting, we are a well presented and reasonably priced property. One difference between the Hilton and us, is that we are small and personal. Which means we can try to meet our guests needs as individuals, rather than part of a huge corporate entity.
It is kind of you to take the time to post a review, I get left many hand written notes, but it is your reviews that are visible to the world, and these reviews guide other people towards our property. So thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Dear Barbara,
Thank you for another wonderful stay in the BOI and for looking after us so well. The hospitality and rooms get better everytime, and those views continue to inspire.
I was very impressed with the renovations you have undertaken and quality of accomodate surpasses expectations.
I highly recommend the Bali Hai to anyone looking to explore the BOI.
Thank you

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Bali Hai Motel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Anne
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It is always lovely when we have guests that return to stay with us. We are fully aware of the wide range of choice available to people, and so a return guest is indeed very special. We continue to make changes, as we believe that is important, sometimes these changes are visible and sometimes they are invisible but do add to guest comfort. My current project is a new "white roof" to make the property even more environmentally friendly. Thank you once again, and I hope you will consider the Bali Hai again for any future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werribee, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Barbara was incredibly warm and friendly! She went out of her way to make us welcome and was also a wonderful source of knowledge for the local area including the places on where to eat. The suite was super clean and had wonderful views of the surrounding area. We would definitely recommend staying. David & Maree from Melbourne, Vic, Australia.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Bali Hai Motel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you David & Maree, for taking the time to post a review. It was great that you were able to extend your stay an extra night, and I am very happy that everything met your requirements.
I do hope that your onward travel to Hamilton & Rotorua went well. Warm regards
Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Barbara was super friendly and helpful with great advice for local eats and activities. She was refreshingly accommodating.

The suite was impeccably clean in retro style. It was sunny and bright with large windows throughout. I would definitely recommend it while in the BOI.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Bali Hai Motel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you Greg & Cathie for taking the time to review your stay with us, and so quickly too.
I am glad that you have had a great time in Paihia. On line feedback is assisting future guests to make their choices, and many people do not get around to reviewing, so we are genuinely grateful to previous guests for providing that additional information.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Let me emphasise the good points first. The cost $198 for 2 nights in a Superior Studio on a long weekend was very reasonable. Our host could not do enough for us and booked a tour, gave us dining advice and was able to answer all our questions with knowledge and expertise. Barb was great.

On the flip side I found our room (no. 3) to be quite spartan and have a limited view of the beach/water from our shared balcony.The room just just did not exude and quality or luxuries. It is also a hard walk from the Bali Hai into town and if you drive, the right hand turn to get onto the road to town is just plain scary with only about 50 metres view of approaching traffic from both directions.

Paihia and the Bay of Islands is such a lovely area that perhaps you should spend a little more to gaze out on the Bay and take in visually what is on Paihia's doorstep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Owner at Bali Hai Motel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you Ron & Natalie for taking the time to review the property. I remember we agreed a special rate for you, as you were originally going to stay the one night.
It is so much a matter of perspective with rooms and feelings, as most of our guests comment that the room has everything that they need. I am disappointed to know that you felt the room was spartan, however, this is your personal view. Please feel free to email with me suggestions of what might be added.
Interestingly the review also posted around the same time as yours, were guests who stayed in room 3 also.
Thank you for acknowledging the that the service met your requirements. I believe our rooms offer good value for money, as well as seeking to provide comfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Bali Hali in Paihia was an unexpected find. Booked on the internet we were not aware of what we would find. It was a delightful surprise. Spacious units, quality beds with tasteful bedding, beautiful bathroom and clean and fresh. But that was not the best of all- the view from our balcony was breathtaking. Breakfast with a sea view.
It was quiet, peaceful and a place to rest and relax with easy walking access to Paihia central and other parts of the Bay of Islands. Barbara made us feel most welcomed and nothing was too much trouble.
Thank you for making our stay a real pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Bali Hai Motel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
I must say that the 4 days you stayed with us went very quickly. Thank you for taking the time to review the property, and I am delighted that you were happy with your choice. It is a challenge representing yourself accurately on line, and we do try to ensure that what we say we have is indeed what we offer. There is nothing worse for a host, than having people on site who are not happy, or who are disappointed, that is not what we are about.
I do hope you will get the opportunity to visit the Bay of Islands and the Bali Hai again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bali Hai Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Hai Motel

Address: 8-10 Coutts Avenue, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Paihia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#7 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bali Hai Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bali Hai is a small family run business. We are personal in our approach and our size allows us to ensure that we respond to guests as individuals. With only 9 units, you are never crowded, our lay out gives you optional places to sit and take in the atmosphere, be it on our back patio, your front balcony, or somewhere in your room.We look forward to welcoming you to our spot in the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bali Hai Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Hai Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Hai Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.