We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Hai Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bali Hai Motel to your Saves list
Bali Hai Motel
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   8-10 Coutts Avenue, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My wife and I, and our two daughters (6&2) had a lovely relaxing break at Bali Hai. The rooms were warm, comfortable and well provided: everything we needed in the kitchen, DVD player, library of DVDs, laundry, internet, even TVs in both rooms - great for the kids.
Barbara was really friendly, helpful and accommodating, giving us advice on what best to do with the time we had there and booking the trips we decided on.
We all had a really lovely few days there, and will hopefully visit again, one day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Owner at Bali Hai Motel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
It was lovely to have you and your family visit with us. I remember you all well and particurlarly how fond the children were of Merlin, Gandalf & Bunty, who thankfully put in an appearance at the end of your stay, otherwise you may not have been able to leave with 2 happy children!!
I hope that you will consider us again when you are next in Paihia. Thank you John for taking the time to post a review, warm regards to you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    69
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
86
126
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We had a lovely mid winter stay. Barbara was so helpful and friendly and made our stay in Paihia so much more enjoyable. Great views from our balcony. Bathroom and kitchen were newly renovated and terrific. We had three TVs in our suite and plenty of DVDs to choose from. Catching up on our laundry was easy and so helpful. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Owner at Bali Hai Motel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
I am glad the 3 of you had such a lovely time, I wonder how your daughter's new job is going?
Thank you for taking the time to review the property and your stay here, it is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We arrived there at almost dark in the winter time but with warm and patient face, the front desk staff has waited and greeted us. It was very refresh for tired long trip tourist. The room offers so many facilities to enjoy our resting time, each television in each room, clean and really excellent. The two bedroom can fulfill our needs with a reasonable price.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Owner at Bali Hai Motel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you Nawawi for taking the time to post a review. I hope your trip back went well.
I remember you all arriving, and I am very happy that you felt welcome when you arrived. First impressions are so important, both for the host and the hosted.
When you and your family are back in New Zealand please consider staying at the Bali Hai again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

What should I say? It was simply Excellent. We arrived there and got a very nice room including a Kitchen with a Teflon Pan (that’s really rare!) and everything else you need. The Room offers a great view to the Bay. In the Back and in the Front of the Rooms are some Outdoor Spaces where you can have nice evenings in the Summer time.
The Manager Barbara showed us the room, turned on the refrigerator and the heater and it was shortly comfortable Warm. They also have lots of additional carpets and sheets.

We stayed there for 3 Nights and she asked us Several times if everything is okay or if we need something and gave us grate Tips of Interesting Points around Paihia.
They also have a Great Collection of DVD's which you can watch for free!
There is a Laundry available where you can wash and dry your clothes for a little amount.
The Bali Hai Motel also has a Recycling System to save the Nature and reduce the Rubbish.

Also Barbara helped us booking some Tours around Paihia and showed us some Price offers and things and places to eat or go shopping. Barbara also checked if we are awake in the Morning for our Tours.

It was simply wonderful and we will surely return next time!

Room Tip: Room Number 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Owner at Bali Hai Motel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Hello Ben, I hope your sister had a safe trip back to Germany and that work is going well for you
in Australia. Thank you for posting such a detailed review, we never know what it is that will make a guest happy. I have since updated the website to be mobile phone friendly, or should I say smart phone friendly, so that future guests checking us out via mobile, will have an easier screen to read, although I know for you it was not an issue.
I do hope that the rest of your time in New Zealand was fun and pleasant for you. You were one of the most delightful guests and I do believe you will be back for another holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were made to feel like nothing was roo much trouble. The Studio was very well appointed with many little extras. There was a lot of heat options ranging from eco-friendly panel heater that had a timer to a fan blower for bursts of heat as well as a convection heater. I mention this because of a previous review that seemed unfair as we stayed when it was cooler and Barbara did explain these options to us. We saw the same heater in a larger room that we did not need so these heat options were not limited to 1 type of room.

It is a sweet little motel with good views and excellent service and very good value for money.

I'm glad its taken us so long to get around to write this review as it can put paid to some people that either can;t figure out simple heating systems or didn't listen to advice from the owner.

My partner and I think that you would be hard pressed to do better than this motel.

The bathroom was superb in unit 3.

Service and value for money too!!!

Room Tip: Go for a superior room for extra comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Owner at Bali Hai Motel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us, your comments are much appreciated. I remember you and your partner and I am glad that you settled on a room that met your requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Well what can I say - Simply Great !!! Great location - quiet, seaview from Room 8 - Great service the host - Andrew was everything you could wish for, funny, knowledgeable and Green ! Good ideas on renewable energy, composting, etc.

Really clean and well thought out units with evrything you could wish for in a motel room.

Even some surprising things, iPod docking stations, DVD library, LCD TVs in lounge and bedroom - all at a very good price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rangiora
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We enjoyed our winter stay at Bali Hai. We had torrential rain a couple of nights and it was great to be able to snuggle up with a couple of DVDs from the extensive DVD library and know we were high and dry. Although the motel doesn't face the sea you get lovely side-on views of the sea from the balcony and the walk to the shore takes only two or three minutes. It was great having a covered garage in the rain and we walked into town both days- fifteen minutes picturesque trip around the shore, ten minutes down the hill by road.
Once the spa is retiled it will be a great addition. Free wifi is available.
All rooms apart from the twin are a good size- and the twin room was quite adequate. The econoheater worked OK when cranked up full- the rooms would probably be better with heat pumps considering the humidity of the subtropical climate. Bali Hai isn't a new motel but the renovated kitchen and bathroom make it very liveable.
We enjoyed our stay and thought Barbara was a great hostess.

Room Tip: If the wifi stops let Barbara know- storms affect it but she can reconnect it straight away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Owner at Bali Hai Motel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, I hope that you all had a pleasant trip back to the South Island at the end of your holiday. The DVD library does come in handy on those "rare" (ha-ha) rainy nights. Yes, we get a little rain, but it keeps the countryside beautifully green.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bali Hai Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Hai Motel

Address: 8-10 Coutts Avenue, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Paihia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#7 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bali Hai Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bali Hai is a small family run business. We are personal in our approach and our size allows us to ensure that we respond to guests as individuals. With only 9 units, you are never crowded, our lay out gives you optional places to sit and take in the atmosphere, be it on our back patio, your front balcony, or somewhere in your room.We look forward to welcoming you to our spot in the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bali Hai Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Hai Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Hai Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.