We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay, Lots of Help, Lovely Management” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Hai Motel

Save Saved
You added Bali Hai Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bali Hai Motel
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   8-10 Coutts Avenue, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great Stay, Lots of Help, Lovely Management”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

What should I say? It was simply Excellent. We arrived there and got a very nice room including a Kitchen with a Teflon Pan (that’s really rare!) and everything else you need. The Room offers a great view to the Bay. In the Back and in the Front of the Rooms are some Outdoor Spaces where you can have nice evenings in the Summer time.
The Manager Barbara showed us the room, turned on the refrigerator and the heater and it was shortly comfortable Warm. They also have lots of additional carpets and sheets.

We stayed there for 3 Nights and she asked us Several times if everything is okay or if we need something and gave us grate Tips of Interesting Points around Paihia.
They also have a Great Collection of DVD's which you can watch for free!
There is a Laundry available where you can wash and dry your clothes for a little amount.
The Bali Hai Motel also has a Recycling System to save the Nature and reduce the Rubbish.

Also Barbara helped us booking some Tours around Paihia and showed us some Price offers and things and places to eat or go shopping. Barbara also checked if we are awake in the Morning for our Tours.

It was simply wonderful and we will surely return next time!

Room Tip: Room Number 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Owner at Bali Hai Motel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Hello Ben, I hope your sister had a safe trip back to Germany and that work is going well for you
in Australia. Thank you for posting such a detailed review, we never know what it is that will make a guest happy. I have since updated the website to be mobile phone friendly, or should I say smart phone friendly, so that future guests checking us out via mobile, will have an easier screen to read, although I know for you it was not an issue.
I do hope that the rest of your time in New Zealand was fun and pleasant for you. You were one of the most delightful guests and I do believe you will be back for another holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    66
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
81
124
19
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were made to feel like nothing was roo much trouble. The Studio was very well appointed with many little extras. There was a lot of heat options ranging from eco-friendly panel heater that had a timer to a fan blower for bursts of heat as well as a convection heater. I mention this because of a previous review that seemed unfair as we stayed when it was cooler and Barbara did explain these options to us. We saw the same heater in a larger room that we did not need so these heat options were not limited to 1 type of room.

It is a sweet little motel with good views and excellent service and very good value for money.

I'm glad its taken us so long to get around to write this review as it can put paid to some people that either can;t figure out simple heating systems or didn't listen to advice from the owner.

My partner and I think that you would be hard pressed to do better than this motel.

The bathroom was superb in unit 3.

Service and value for money too!!!

Room Tip: Go for a superior room for extra comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Owner at Bali Hai Motel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us, your comments are much appreciated. I remember you and your partner and I am glad that you settled on a room that met your requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Well what can I say - Simply Great !!! Great location - quiet, seaview from Room 8 - Great service the host - Andrew was everything you could wish for, funny, knowledgeable and Green ! Good ideas on renewable energy, composting, etc.

Really clean and well thought out units with evrything you could wish for in a motel room.

Even some surprising things, iPod docking stations, DVD library, LCD TVs in lounge and bedroom - all at a very good price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rangiora
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We enjoyed our winter stay at Bali Hai. We had torrential rain a couple of nights and it was great to be able to snuggle up with a couple of DVDs from the extensive DVD library and know we were high and dry. Although the motel doesn't face the sea you get lovely side-on views of the sea from the balcony and the walk to the shore takes only two or three minutes. It was great having a covered garage in the rain and we walked into town both days- fifteen minutes picturesque trip around the shore, ten minutes down the hill by road.
Once the spa is retiled it will be a great addition. Free wifi is available.
All rooms apart from the twin are a good size- and the twin room was quite adequate. The econoheater worked OK when cranked up full- the rooms would probably be better with heat pumps considering the humidity of the subtropical climate. Bali Hai isn't a new motel but the renovated kitchen and bathroom make it very liveable.
We enjoyed our stay and thought Barbara was a great hostess.

Room Tip: If the wifi stops let Barbara know- storms affect it but she can reconnect it straight away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Owner at Bali Hai Motel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, I hope that you all had a pleasant trip back to the South Island at the end of your holiday. The DVD library does come in handy on those "rare" (ha-ha) rainy nights. Yes, we get a little rain, but it keeps the countryside beautifully green.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Excellent facilities, friendly hostess, Barbara, stunning views, our top rated Golden Chain of all that we encountered in three weeks of touring the North Island. Would return tomorrow if possible.

Room Tip: All rooms had good views. Comfortable and well stocked throughout. All rooms light and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Owner at Bali Hai Motel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Janet, what a lovely review thank you. Please feel free to return anytime - we will have a room waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in early July. We found the facility very cold with minimal heating and lino flooring with inadequate matting to keep your feet warm. The spa pool was advertised, but it was closed for repairs. We were not informed of this upon booking our stay so we were disappointed. The Bali Hai is an environmentally friendly place, but there is a point to providing your clients with comfort. High condensation in the room by morning meant that recycled towels did not dry by evening. Barbara was only available to help us with requests between the hours of 8-5 which in any other hotel/motel, you can find service available 24-7. Barbara did tell us that the Bali Hai is usually not open during the winter months and asked us for constructive feedback which I am sure she will take on board for her future clientele and plans for the motel. The Bali Hai would be an affordable option for those on strict budget over the summer. There is a wonderful BBQ facility available to patrons and newly renovated kitchenette in room was well set out. Not a place to vacation with your teens as there is no Sky TV or Free View channels.

Room Tip: Don't request unit 6 as this is located directly above the spa pool room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Bali Hai Motel, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were disappointed with elements of your stay. I believe you stayed in room 8, which was a free upgrade from a studio room to a one bedroom as you were travelling with your teenage son.

The suggestion of additional rugs is a good one, and I am seriously considering that suggestion, so that is a valid point.

Yes, unfortunately the spa pool is closed, as it is a mosaic tile spa pool and some tiles have come loose and I opted to turn it off when it is quieter and have the work done during this time. There is never a good time to take a facility out of service and it is not done with any wish to deceive a guest. So, I apologise that you were disappointed in that way.

Yes, we are an environmentally friendly motel, and we offer guests the option to reuse towels on a two night stay. However, we change all towels if that is what the guest requires, and our signage which is minimal clearly suggests that it is an optional choice. Condensation is a fact of life in Northland, and when we service a room we do ensure that windows are wiped, and areas are dried.

I am unsure as to why the guests thought I was only available between 8 & 5? I actually gave one of the group a towel at 07.35hrs in the morning? I have office hours that open at 8am and close at 8pm but I am available outside of these hours. If I am not on site, I am contactable by phone, which is normal practice for smaller properties.

We do not have SKY TV, we do have 6 TV channels and a complimentary DVD library, which has a great selection of movies. We are an affordable option, and I believe that is important, however, I also believe that the quality of the stay and how you consider guest comfort is part of the contract we enter into as hosts, and I do not wish guests to go away feeling disappointed.

Room 6 is a room which is located above the spa, but this does not cause any detriment to any guest staying in that room.

Thank you taking the time to review my property on Trip Advisor and I hope that you will return to give me the option to improve your guest experience in the future.

Barbara - Owner - Bali Hai Motel Paihia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This motel is overrated. I booked here a few months back based on the rave reviews it had here. Yes it's clean and ok, the owner/manager however was quite "overly" concerned. If you're a tourist in NZ it might be ok with you if you want to feel welcome and so on, but if you're a local - think again. After our stay here, we booked the next night at Copthorne at a lower price promo and got better value, ambiance and facilities.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Bali Hai Motel, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you feel the motel over rated. The manager that I believe you are referring too, is no longer here. I agree it is a judgement call as to how much information you provide to a guest, and if that balance is not right it can be uncomfortable.

I have met with the general manager of the Copthorne hotel in Waitangi, on a different matter and it is a fact that Millenium hotels, can carry the cost of deals to guests, there is a possibility you will use the bar or the restaurant, and so they benefit in that way.

We go through a stringent assessment each year by Qualmark, New Zealand tourism's official mark of quality assurance, and since 2002 have maintained a 4 star category, and last year earning a 4 star plus.

I hope that if you are in the Bay of Islands again, you will give me the opportunity to improve your view of the property, and the check in process.

Thank you for taking the time to review the motel on Trip Advisor.

Barbara - owner - Bali Hai Motel Paihia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bali Hai Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Hai Motel

Address: 8-10 Coutts Avenue, Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#4 Best Value Hotel in Paihia
#8 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bali Hai Motel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bali Hai is a small family run business. We are personal in our approach and our size allows us to ensure that we respond to guests as individuals. With only 9 units, you are never crowded, our lay out gives you optional places to sit and take in the atmosphere, be it on our back patio, your front balcony, or somewhere in your room.We look forward to welcoming you to our spot in the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Bali Hai Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Hai Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Hai Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.