We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bayview Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bayview Motel to your Saves list
Bayview Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   2 Bayview Road | Corner Marsden & Bayview Road,, Paihia 0247, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 42 Hotels in Paihia
Inverell, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great family value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Bayview. While the room is not the newest we have seen, it was very clean, well looked after and most importantly had a good comfortable bed. The location is great with just a short walk down to eating places and a beautiful view in the morning. Our host was most obliging, pleasant and helpful. In terms of value for money this had to be about the best we found in NZ.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baywatcher2, Owner at Bayview Motel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thankyou very much for such complimentary comments.We do try hard to please our guests and are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.Considering the Bayview to be the best value you have found in New Zealand is really a feather in our cap.Thankyou very much. Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    25
    11
    2
    5
See reviews for
26
40
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mareeba, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were looking for value for money, and the Bayview Motel was excellent. Older style accomodation, neat and clean with everything that opens and shuts . Graeme ourt host was very helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, he took the time to recommend local restaurants, locals must see and do's. Free wi fi, free parking what more could you ask for . Cheers B& K

Room Tip: choose a room downstairs, those steps are long when you have lots of luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baywatcher2, Owner at Bayview Motel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thankyou Kerry for those great comments.Yes steps are always an unwanted necessity but the view from up there makes it worthwhile.Next time you visit make me carry your luggage up.....I always need the exercise.Keep well....Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Paihia is one of our favourite holiday destinations and we only ever stay at Bayview Motel My parents and I have stayed here numerous times over the years from when I was a kid. My husband and I are booked to stay in September with our own son and we will be staying here for many more years to come. The location is amazing with awesome views and the units are always clean and tidy. Graham has been extremely helpful with our booking which makes everything so much easier too. We can't wait to get there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baywatcher2, Owner at Bayview Motel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Your review is so complimentary,thankyou for those kind words.Since our refurbishment guests comments have been so positive making the whole expensive process really worthwhile.Everyone loves Paihia with its fab. setting and things to do.I always feel sorry for guests who stay 1 night and then when they discover what Paihia has to offer,they regret not being able to stay at least 3 nights.Look forward to hosting you again soon.Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at the Bayview motel in Paiha last weekend for three nights. We absolutely enjoyed our experience and found Graham the proprietor friendly and extremely helpful and willing to go the extra mile. He has extensive local knowledge and shared it generously about restaurants and sights to see. The unit was clean comfortable and well equipped and it had the best service we have ever experienced. I would highly recommend staying at this motel and will be going back there in the future myself. There was nothing better than sitting on the leather couch looking out at the sea view in the evening, or on the deck eating a barbecued dinner. On the day we left Graham allowed us to leave our car under shelter at the motel while we spent the day in Russell. Brilliant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baywatcher2, Owner at Bayview Motel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thankyou for the perfect review.The top floor apartment you stayed in is certainly an experience on its own with the magnificent Bay in front and the sun rising over Russell across the Bay.I wish we had another dozen apartments with that top view.It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to hosting you both again.With plenty notice we will book you into the same apartment again. Graham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We initially booked for two nights but kept deciding at last minute to extend our stay, Graham shuffled us around giving us the best views, his staff moved our belongings and we ended up staying six nights in four different suites. Hence we are able to provide a very sound review. Graham is very helpful and was very kind to us and our rather exuberant four yr old son, he definitely helped make our stay enjoyable. The motel is very comfortable and spacious and the location could not be better. We will certainly be staying here next time.

Room Tip: ask for the view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baywatcher2, Owner at Bayview Motel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thankyou Andrea for a fab.review.A pity we had to move you so often but being school holidays we were almost full every night.Your little guy Dom was a pleasure and i'ts always good to see a young guy bright and bubbly,checking that our reception bell works properly.Hope to see you back soon. Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Having arrived at Auckland from Western Australia, we first travelled to Bay of Islands and stayed at Bayview Motel for two nights. It is thoroughly recommended. Graham, the Manager, was very friendly and gave us helpful advice for our further travels. The room was very clean and comfortable and the location was spot on with a beautiful view of the water and very close to shops etc. We were very glad to have stayed here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baywatcher2, Owner at Bayview Motel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thankyou Ruth for that great review.I hope the rest of your trip was just as pleasureable.The weather could have been kinder to you but that is something no one can control.There are great plans afoot to improve Paihia so if you join us again in a years time you will see big changes.Regards Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this motel to rest up as we needed a break. Was great. Hubby got a high fever and the managers went out their way to get us some medication as i was unable to drive.
The weather was r eally bad but felt safe and sound. The unit had a great view overlooking the bay of islands. Very close and handy to restaurants .would stay again. Thanks guys.

Room Tip: Rooms very sound proof .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baywatcher2, Owner at Bayview Motel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Hi Loueen. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us although the weather was bad,hubby caught the 1 day bug and your hip gave you much uphill.Next time we will order better weather at least.When we travel next and need to overnight close to the airport we will come knocking on your door. Regards Graham and Belinda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Motel

Address: 2 Bayview Road | Corner Marsden & Bayview Road,, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayview Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best location!!! On the picturesque waterfront and one of the closest motels to the town centre, Bayview's waterfront units offer fantastic sea views overlooking the nearby islands. A superior aspect offers all day sun. Bayview has a range of large yet cosy and comfortable units, each with full kitchen facilities. They are serviced daily and are renowned for their cleanliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bayview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Paihia
Bayview Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayview Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.