We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved the day! :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bayview Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bayview Motel to your Saves list
Bayview Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   2 Bayview Road | Corner Marsden & Bayview Road,, Paihia 0247, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Saved the day! :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We booked on line for another hotel in Paihia and there was an issue and it was double booked. The guy from that motel organised with Bayview Motel to give us a room.
We arrived and we were granted the same discounted price for a massive room!
Great facility. Warm and comfy.
Close to Paihia central with just a four minute walk to the restaurants.
Great customer service :)
Thanks Bayview Motel for making our stay easy and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baywatcher2, Owner at Bayview Motel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Hi Sarah,
I'm pleased you were completely satisfied with your stay at the Bayview and that we could step in and save your day.The double booking at the other motel is not a bad reflection on them.It happens to all of us at some time.On line bookings often are made simultaneously with the letting of the room over the telephone to someone else and bingo the motel is in trouble.Anyway your stay in Paihia turned out just fine.Hope to see you back at the Bayview soon.Enquire about our Woolly Winter Specials......they are very cheap and on our waterfront apartments. Graham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    25
    10
    2
    5
See reviews for
25
39
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thames
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We just spent two nights here and had a very pleasant unit with kitchen/dining area, separate bedroom and bathroom. Also had access to outside balcony with water views from our room. Very central within 2-3 minutes walk from the town centre and wharf area where there are many water activities which can be undertaken. Numerous restaurants, cares and shops nearby too. Found the availability of a washing machine and drawer of great use during our stay. Only one small criticism was that the electric blankets power supply was not good with only half a side working!

Room Tip: Make the best of the wonderful water views in this Area - traffic is not a problem after hours
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baywatcher2, Owner at Bayview Motel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thankyou for your great review and kind comments.Paihia is really a lovely place to stay and our position on the beach front does show off Paihia's fabulous bay view.We would love to have you back with us soon which with our Warm Winter Special of 3 nights for $240.00 makes it very affordable.Graham and Belinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maungaturoto, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here 1 night and don't think I'd ever go back. I paid $160 for a waterfront room (non peak season) and the furniture in room is very outdated (wallpaper falling off walls etc) the bed was real uncomfortable and had a terrible sleep. One good thing is the location, nice that it's by the waterfront. There is a spa on the premises to which is a plus, however, the spa was not very clean. I later found out that the motels just down the road (which were more modern and a lot nicer) were actually cheaper than this one. the photos on the internet definitely do this place justice. I suggest asking to see the room before booking it, especially for $160.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baywatcher2, Owner at Bayview Motel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
The amount you paid for your accommodation was actually $140.00 not $160.00 which knowing our competitors rates was the lowest in April of all motels on the waterfront with a seaview.Had you brought your disatisfaction to my notice on arrival I would have relocated you on our top floor which had just been refurbished.The ground floor apartment you occupied is currently being refurbished.Next time please complain upfront so that management are given an oppurtunity to address your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papakura, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at Bayview Motel approx. 7 times. We totally love it. We always book the front unit where there is such a great view from your balcony. Everything we need is in walking distance. Also it is spotlessly clean. Just been there this last weekend and can't wait for for our next visit there.

Room Tip: Try for the front room with the spacious balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baywatcher2, Owner at Bayview Motel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Carol thankyou very much for your lovely comments.It's a pity the weather was not perfect as Paihia's weather has been a while back.The apartment you were in was no.8 on the top floor for future reference.We are pleased you enjoyed the result of our refurbishment.From the 1st June we start our Winter Special,3 nights for $240.00.Hope to see you again soon.Regards Graham and Belinda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I have stayed at the Bayview Motel many times and thought it was about time I let others know about it. It is in the perfect location if you are staying in Paihia, it is within easy walking distance to the shops, cafes and restaurants, also the wharf where you can catch the ferry to Russell or take a Hole in the Rock cruise, or any of the many activities based in Paihia. The motel is always extremely clean and tidy, the staff and management are friendly and helpful and the views over the Bay are fantastic. Try it, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baywatcher2, Owner at Bayview Motel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thankyou for the lovely review.Paihia has so many positive features which makes a visitors stay so worthwhile provided the accommodation is what is expected.Belinda and I try very hard to achieve this and are really pleased when our guests notice.Once our refurbishment program is complete shortly, guests stays will be even more enjoyable.Being right on the waterfront with an incredible view we are going to benefit even more from Paihia's future plans to upgrade the waterfront facilities.We would love to have you back soon so watch out for our 3 day Winter Special.You will see our advert in the Herald paper. Graham and Belinda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great Location, had a partial sea view from the little balcony. Good spacious apartment which could have slept 4. Bathroom and kitchen facilities were good and clean. Didn't see the Spa room so cannot comment. Good value for money, would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baywatcher2, Owner at Bayview Motel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Bayview and considered it good value.The weather was kind to you fortunately.Hope you returned to the UK safe and sound.Graham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Four of us had the two front apartments which had brilliant views and right on the beachfront and a short walk to everything. I was amazed at the low tariff considering the location and it is mainly because the apartments haven't been touched in decades but still have that old charm. The kitchenette was good and we had loads of room. Sadly if we come back to Paihia this motel will have been renovated and much more expensive so get in while you can.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baywatcher2, Owner at Bayview Motel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thankyou for your very kind comment.I can assure you that when our refurbishment is complete our rates will not go through the roof.Our rates in fact are going to reduce further as we head into winter and our Xmas/New Year rates have just been set at only 8% higher.Watch for our WOOLY WINTER SPECIAL......3 nights for $300 on the waterfront with seaview and $240 without a seaview.Hope to see you back soon.Graham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Motel

Address: 2 Bayview Road | Corner Marsden & Bayview Road,, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayview Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best location!!! On the picturesque waterfront and one of the closest motels to the town centre, Bayview's waterfront units offer fantastic sea views overlooking the nearby islands. A superior aspect offers all day sun. Bayview has a range of large yet cosy and comfortable units, each with full kitchen facilities. They are serviced daily and are renowned for their cleanliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bayview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Paihia
Bayview Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayview Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.