We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average/tired but clean. Shame about dubious pricing set up” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bayview Motel

Save Saved
You added Bayview Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Bayview Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   2 Bayview Road | Corner Marsden & Bayview Road,, Paihia 0247, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 44 hotels in Paihia
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average/tired but clean. Shame about dubious pricing set up”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Apparently book directly by phonecall rather than through their website, you can save yourself quite abit of money. Better still don't bother booking at all in advance and hedge your bets is what they prefer. Shame this is not clear on their website. Refunded difference would have easily ended our stay with a positive view of owners commitment for great customer service instead of no refund and a bad feeling. :(

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    22
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
22
33
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thames, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

A lovely place to stay, value for money is topps, very clean and tidy and plenty of room even a dish washer, we recomend this Motel for a relaxing and enjoyable stay very friendly people

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We (3 couples) booked a 3 bedroom apartment and stayed 2 nights over Easter. We found the apartment clean and comfortable, but a little tired. The kitchen is dated. The internet connection was very slow and kept timing out. The staff were helpful. There was no sea view from this apartment and we had been told that at the time of booking - so that wasn't an issue. The freezer in the refrigerator was in a desperate need of defrosting. Therre was a damp smell in the cupboard in the main bedroom. We thought that the apartment was good value for money given that it was Easter.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Stayed at this motel in March. Did not book in advance but were directed there by tourist information. Wanted somewhere with internet access for own laptop and Bayview advertised this. The only seaview room available was at ground level with a parking space just outside and a small patio area. Entrance was through sliding patio doors. Owner was pleasant and helpful. One bedroom apartment was clean but very basic. There was a modern flat screen TV but the reception on it was very poor and there was no internet access available in the room. In order to connect to the internet I had to take the laptop to the reception area and sit on a small table in a corner. I did manage to get a connection there but it was not the ideal place to have to be. Obviously, it was not somewhere to use skype or do anything that needed privacy as it was too public. The location of the motel is very convenient and very close to everywhere. We did not need to use the car whilst we were there.

Room Tip: Higher floors may have better TV reception and internet access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We had a comfortable stay of 2 nights at Pahaia. The hotel is a short walking distance from the center of town.

Room Tip: Try for the ground floor Sea facing rooms. They are great value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

First time visitors to Paihia, we wanted accommodation that was located close to Restaurants and with a good view of the Bay of Islands. We were not disappointed in our choice! The Motel was clean and well appointed and our Room had a fantastic view. The Owner/Manager is extremely helpful and friendly, gave us good advice on Restaurant dining. This place was certainly value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a View
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

What a excellent motel! I've travel all the way in Paihia to find a suitable Motel. Only Bayview has the motel that I am willing to have for. The price and the room are excellent. The owner has really nice manners, kind and friendly! EXCELLENT!

Room Tip: Room 9. Best view in all unit. Suitable for 2 adults and 2 child on the couch bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bayview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Motel

Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Paihia
Bayview Motel Paihia
Bayview Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands
Address: 2 Bayview Road | Corner Marsden & Bayview Road,, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayview Motel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best location!!! On the picturesque waterfront and one of the closest motels to the town centre, Bayview's waterfront units offer fantastic sea views overlooking the nearby islands. A superior aspect offers all day sun. Bayview has a range of large yet cosy and comfortable units, each with full kitchen facilities. They are serviced daily and are renowned for their cleanliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Bayview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayview Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.