We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average/tired but clean. Shame about dubious pricing set up” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bayview Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bayview Motel to your Saves list
Bayview Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   2 Bayview Road | Corner Marsden & Bayview Road,, Paihia 0247, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average/tired but clean. Shame about dubious pricing set up”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Apparently book directly by phonecall rather than through their website, you can save yourself quite abit of money. Better still don't bother booking at all in advance and hedge your bets is what they prefer. Shame this is not clear on their website. Refunded difference would have easily ended our stay with a positive view of owners commitment for great customer service instead of no refund and a bad feeling. :(

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    28
    12
    2
    5
See reviews for
28
42
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

A lovely place to stay, value for money is topps, very clean and tidy and plenty of room even a dish washer, we recomend this Motel for a relaxing and enjoyable stay very friendly people

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We (3 couples) booked a 3 bedroom apartment and stayed 2 nights over Easter. We found the apartment clean and comfortable, but a little tired. The kitchen is dated. The internet connection was very slow and kept timing out. The staff were helpful. There was no sea view from this apartment and we had been told that at the time of booking - so that wasn't an issue. The freezer in the refrigerator was in a desperate need of defrosting. Therre was a damp smell in the cupboard in the main bedroom. We thought that the apartment was good value for money given that it was Easter.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Stayed at this motel in March. Did not book in advance but were directed there by tourist information. Wanted somewhere with internet access for own laptop and Bayview advertised this. The only seaview room available was at ground level with a parking space just outside and a small patio area. Entrance was through sliding patio doors. Owner was pleasant and helpful. One bedroom apartment was clean but very basic. There was a modern flat screen TV but the reception on it was very poor and there was no internet access available in the room. In order to connect to the internet I had to take the laptop to the reception area and sit on a small table in a corner. I did manage to get a connection there but it was not the ideal place to have to be. Obviously, it was not somewhere to use skype or do anything that needed privacy as it was too public. The location of the motel is very convenient and very close to everywhere. We did not need to use the car whilst we were there.

Room Tip: Higher floors may have better TV reception and internet access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We had a comfortable stay of 2 nights at Pahaia. The hotel is a short walking distance from the center of town.

Room Tip: Try for the ground floor Sea facing rooms. They are great value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

First time visitors to Paihia, we wanted accommodation that was located close to Restaurants and with a good view of the Bay of Islands. We were not disappointed in our choice! The Motel was clean and well appointed and our Room had a fantastic view. The Owner/Manager is extremely helpful and friendly, gave us good advice on Restaurant dining. This place was certainly value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a View
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

What a excellent motel! I've travel all the way in Paihia to find a suitable Motel. Only Bayview has the motel that I am willing to have for. The price and the room are excellent. The owner has really nice manners, kind and friendly! EXCELLENT!

Room Tip: Room 9. Best view in all unit. Suitable for 2 adults and 2 child on the couch bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.0 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Absolute Bliss Apartments
0.0 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Outrigger Motel
Outrigger Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Motel

Address: 2 Bayview Road | Corner Marsden & Bayview Road,, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayview Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best location!!! On the picturesque waterfront and one of the closest motels to the town centre, Bayview's waterfront units offer fantastic sea views overlooking the nearby islands. A superior aspect offers all day sun. Bayview has a range of large yet cosy and comfortable units, each with full kitchen facilities. They are serviced daily and are renowned for their cleanliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Bayview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Paihia
Bayview Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayview Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.