We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bayview Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bayview Motel to your Saves list
Bayview Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   2 Bayview Road | Corner Marsden & Bayview Road,, Paihia 0247, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Jersey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Stayed at this motel in March. Did not book in advance but were directed there by tourist information. Wanted somewhere with internet access for own laptop and Bayview advertised this. The only seaview room available was at ground level with a parking space just outside and a small patio area. Entrance was through sliding patio doors. Owner was pleasant and helpful. One bedroom apartment was clean but very basic. There was a modern flat screen TV but the reception on it was very poor and there was no internet access available in the room. In order to connect to the internet I had to take the laptop to the reception area and sit on a small table in a corner. I did manage to get a connection there but it was not the ideal place to have to be. Obviously, it was not somewhere to use skype or do anything that needed privacy as it was too public. The location of the motel is very convenient and very close to everywhere. We did not need to use the car whilst we were there.

Room Tip: Higher floors may have better TV reception and internet access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    25
    10
    2
    5
See reviews for
25
39
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We had a comfortable stay of 2 nights at Pahaia. The hotel is a short walking distance from the center of town.

Room Tip: Try for the ground floor Sea facing rooms. They are great value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

First time visitors to Paihia, we wanted accommodation that was located close to Restaurants and with a good view of the Bay of Islands. We were not disappointed in our choice! The Motel was clean and well appointed and our Room had a fantastic view. The Owner/Manager is extremely helpful and friendly, gave us good advice on Restaurant dining. This place was certainly value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a View
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

What a excellent motel! I've travel all the way in Paihia to find a suitable Motel. Only Bayview has the motel that I am willing to have for. The price and the room are excellent. The owner has really nice manners, kind and friendly! EXCELLENT!

Room Tip: Room 9. Best view in all unit. Suitable for 2 adults and 2 child on the couch bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

stayed in jan 2012 family 4 adults 2 children aged 12 and 11 not clean no view eaten by sandflies mattresses were old and foysty furniture dated would have gone elsewhere but everywhere fully booked i have never wrote or complained about any place i have been i always use these sites for advice and i have travelled the world and stayed in 2 star hotels which have been better this place needs modernising it looks fantastic from the outside and the location is brilliant owner friendly but what a shame on interior unless you like staring at cobwebs on your bedroom ceiling

Room Tip: dont get room 5 ask to face the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We are two families from Australia who were on a two week holiday touring the north island. We spent two nights at the Bayview Motel. We stayed in the 3 bedroom apartment, which comfortably accommodated 4 adults and 3 teenagers. It was very clean and well equipped. Our hosts were friendly and made us feel very welcome. They provided us with great local knowledge in terms of the best value activities and restaurants. My son took quite ill the day we arrived and they speedily directed us to excellent medical attention, right across the road. They loaned us kayaks to use for no charge during our stay and allowed us to leave our minibus parked in their car park on the day we checked out while we did a dolphin watch tour. Very good value for money and highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Be careful, only a few apartments here truly have bay or ocean view. Our apartment was on the second floor and had no view. When we arrived it was hot and sticky inside. There is no airconditioning and since both rooms faced the same direction it is very difficult to establish sufficient cross ventilation. We complained about the heat but were told a fan would have to do. So we tried to cancel our stay and move to another place but were then told that we would be responsible for all nights booked not just the first night.
We also noticed the poor quality of the mattresses. They appear very old and worn out with "sinkholes" and probably haven't been replaced in a long time. The rooms are clean but the furniture looks like as if it was selected from a thrift shop. Not what we expected for the money we paid.

Room Tip: Look for a room with bay view or better stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Motel

Address: 2 Bayview Road | Corner Marsden & Bayview Road,, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayview Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best location!!! On the picturesque waterfront and one of the closest motels to the town centre, Bayview's waterfront units offer fantastic sea views overlooking the nearby islands. A superior aspect offers all day sun. Bayview has a range of large yet cosy and comfortable units, each with full kitchen facilities. They are serviced daily and are renowned for their cleanliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bayview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Paihia
Bayview Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayview Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.