We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming seaside hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Cabinz Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Cabinz Motel to your Saves list
Bay Cabinz Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   32 - 34 School Road | P.O. Box 182, Paihia 0247, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 42 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“charming seaside hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Cozy rooms with lots of character, not your run of the mill motel. Set among trees, the upstairs unit has a balcony with a good view of the paihia bay. The motel is 2 blocks inland and very quiet.
Friendly manager.

Room Tip: No elevator to the upstairs unit.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    23
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
46
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We have been in the Bay Cabinz Motel in Dezember 2013. It was really great!!! We had no reservation in Paihia and every hotel had no vacancy. So we were very happy to get that cabin. It is a nice place and we were lucky to get the last one upstairs with a beautiful view. We had three wonderful days and nigths, because it was very clean, comfortable and the owners were very, very welcome. They helped us with everything!!!! If we would come back to Paihia we will stay there again, highly recommanded :-)

Room Tip: If possible upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We needed very last minute accomodation after a disaster booking, and were lucky to find Bay Cabinz Motel. They answered the phone late evening and were very helpful and welcoming hosts. The rooms are beautiful, much nicer than a 'cabin', lovely and spacious, the ideal place to sit on the balcony and say ahhh. They are delightfully set into the hillside and very private. Perfect location for exploring Paihai, doing day trips, shopping, resturants. Great kitchenette or they have a BBQ. Our hosts information on day trips was extensive and spot on. We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter which room, sea views or garden views are all good, all very peaceful and tranqui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay of 5 nights in the Bay Cabinz Motel in Paihia. The individual cabins are delightful, each one having a deck so it is possible to eat outside. They are fully equipped and comfortable with laundry facilities onsite and a barbecue area in the complex. The owners were very welcoming and a wealth of information, they were exceedingly helpful at advising us what trips would be best to do. The cabins are located on a hillside and are only a short walk to the shops and restaurants so the car can be left behind.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

From the time we were warmly welcomed at reception to our first steps into the cabin, we felt right at home! Slept like a log every night! The cabins are airy with an illusion of space from the high ceilings. They are practical and have everything you need in the kitchenette to help reduce your holiday expenses. Clean, fresh yet very comfortable with plenty of room to spread out in.. The bed is supportive but not too hard. Eco friendly with loads of natural light and natural cooling is an added bonus! The two verandahs allowed you to sit in either the sun or the shade at any time of the day. Thank you Belinda for the parsley and chives growing on the verandah as they added flavour and goodness to our salads. We didn't need to use the car for 3 days as we walked to all the shops, restaurants, tour offices and the wharf. The meals at the RSA club across the road were delicious and economical. I will keep coming back until I get to swim with dolphins and plan to stay here each time. Extremely helpful hosts with great local knowledge that they readily shared make our stay just the best experience so far. Now we just need to organise better weather for next time. A few prayers maybe?

Room Tip: Which cabin you choose depends on your level of fitness as the stairs are great free fitness trainin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed at Bay Cabinz for two nights as part of our tour of NZ North Island in January. Its a great base for exploring Paihai and the Bay of Islands.

On arrival the owner mentioned the Bay of Islands boat trips and got us booked on one which we can definitely recommend doing.

The cabins are only a 5 minute walk to the town and around a 20 minute pleasant walk along the shore to the Waitangi Treaty Grounds.

Can recommend the Waterfront and Jimmy Jack's restaurants in Paihai.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levin, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We had a great time in Paihia and Bay Cabins Motel was perfect. Cabins nestled in the bush. Each cabin has a balcony, so you can eat outside and listen to the birds. The owners were very helpful knowledgeable. Just a short walk to local shops and restaurants, but better than staying on the waterfront.

Stayed 3 nights end January 2014 - 2 girls travelling.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Cabinz Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Cabinz Motel

Address: 32 - 34 School Road | P.O. Box 182, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#18 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Cabinz Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 fully self-contained private chalet bungalows overlooking the Paihia village. This sunny elevated eco-complex is set in sub-tropical/native surroundings with bird life, sea and garden views in Central Paihia. Ideal for singles, couples and small families who enjoy a quiet natural environment. Only 300m flat walk to Paihia's cafes, restaurants, shops, beaches and nearby wharf which is the gateway to the beautiful Bay of Islands many tourist attractions and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bay Cabinz Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Cabinz Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Cabinz Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.