We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Cabinz Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Cabinz Motel to your Saves list
Bay Cabinz Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   32 - 34 School Road | P.O. Box 182, Paihia 0247, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Everything was provided to a very high standard. The hosts at Bay Cabinz were welcoming, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I thoroughly enjoyed my 'Sea View' accomodation (I spent 5 nights as a base for Paihia, Russell and the Bay of Islands). The accomodation was ideal and the cooking facilities in the chalet were just right if you wished to take a break from eating out.

The chalet was spotlessly clean and well maintained - I would not hesitate in booking again if I were to revisit Paihia. The shops were only 5 minutes walk away so everything you could need is to hand. I've travelled to NZ and Australia quite a few times but this is the first time I've written a review - when things are done well, it's important to let others know!

Well done to everyone at Bay Cabinz, I had a fantastic time and hope to return again one day!

Room Tip: Sea View chalets (higher up) have great views and are very private - even cheaper if you book for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
40
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mooloolaba, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a week mid Feb 2013.
Peter and Belinda are terrific hosts, plenty of local information and easy to make bookings with.
Cabins are in a great position with terrific views.back cabins may be a bit of a steep walk if the legsare not up to scratch or your luggage a bit heavy.
Cooking facilities available but local resturants and the RSA are all VG
The verandah was aterrific place for an afternoon drink and chill out.
My partner is a coeliac and we found all the eateries very accomadating.
Only Seafood and Alfrescos were stand outs.
Benn & Gayle

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Limited parking as it seemed to be quite full however the rooms were clean and were well supplied. Offered a sense of privacy due to the cabin style. The hosts were lovely and helpful. Should be aware that there is a dvd player and ipod dock in the room so if you are going and in need of entertainment in your downtime take a dvd or ipod.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here, unfortunately only for one night, in late January. We would have loved to have stayed for a week. It has an excellent location, great view, wonderful host, what more can you ask for? We received excellent advise on nearby food and attractions as well as travel time advise, which we sorely needed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, CO
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Love Bay Cabinz! My husband and I stayed there for a week at the tail end of our 3-week holiday in NZ. The units are private, sunny, airy, and very clean, with a well equipped kitchen and wrap-around decks. Also the most comfortable beds we experienced during our entire visit to NZ! Belinda and Pete are just gems and are so helpful. Ask Belinda to arrange for some sailing in on the yacht, Gungha, which is helmed by a friend of hers. The cabins are located very close to the center of Paihia (just about a five-minute walk) and are situated on a wooded, shady hillside with private off-street parking and away from most traffic noise. The units are accessed by several sets of stairs, so be prepared to haul your luggage up them, but this was not really an issue for us. And make sure you have a bit of milk on hand for Smooch the orange tabby! She will come by your cabin for a visit and walk right in if you have the door open. :O) You might also get to know the locals who live next to Bay Cabinz and who might invite you over for BBQ and a beer! Highly recommended property and hope to return one of these days.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed for week at Bay Cabinz - our second visit having stayed there about 7 years ago. The individual cabins are comfortable and ok for a couple but could be a bit cosy for a family. Most have good views.
Cooking facilities are provided but the local RSA Club is only 80 metres away so a good, cheap meal and drink can be had in friendly surroundings, and the main streets of Paihia are only about 10 mins walk.
Belinda and Peter are very friendly and helpful, and we would happily stay again.

Room Tip: Highest rooms involve climbing stairs which can be a problem if you have heavy suitcases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at the bay cabinz motel over Christmas and found it very comfortable and accessible to all that paihia had to offer. I have no qualms what so ever in recommending these units and would stay in one of them again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Sea view Chalets are private and not really overlooked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Cabinz Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Cabinz Motel

Address: 32 - 34 School Road | P.O. Box 182, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Paihia
#9 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Cabinz Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 fully self-contained private chalet bungalows overlooking the Paihia village. This sunny elevated eco-complex is set in sub-tropical/native surroundings with bird life, sea and garden views in Central Paihia. Ideal for singles, couples and small families who enjoy a quiet natural environment. Only 300m flat walk to Paihia's cafes, restaurants, shops, beaches and nearby wharf which is the gateway to the beautiful Bay of Islands many tourist attractions and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bay Cabinz Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Cabinz Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Cabinz Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.