We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely property with lovely people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Cabinz Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Cabinz Motel to your Saves list
Bay Cabinz Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   32 - 34 School Road | P.O. Box 182, Paihia 0247, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Evergreen, CO
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely property with lovely people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Love Bay Cabinz! My husband and I stayed there for a week at the tail end of our 3-week holiday in NZ. The units are private, sunny, airy, and very clean, with a well equipped kitchen and wrap-around decks. Also the most comfortable beds we experienced during our entire visit to NZ! Belinda and Pete are just gems and are so helpful. Ask Belinda to arrange for some sailing in on the yacht, Gungha, which is helmed by a friend of hers. The cabins are located very close to the center of Paihia (just about a five-minute walk) and are situated on a wooded, shady hillside with private off-street parking and away from most traffic noise. The units are accessed by several sets of stairs, so be prepared to haul your luggage up them, but this was not really an issue for us. And make sure you have a bit of milk on hand for Smooch the orange tabby! She will come by your cabin for a visit and walk right in if you have the door open. :O) You might also get to know the locals who live next to Bay Cabinz and who might invite you over for BBQ and a beer! Highly recommended property and hope to return one of these days.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
40
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed for week at Bay Cabinz - our second visit having stayed there about 7 years ago. The individual cabins are comfortable and ok for a couple but could be a bit cosy for a family. Most have good views.
Cooking facilities are provided but the local RSA Club is only 80 metres away so a good, cheap meal and drink can be had in friendly surroundings, and the main streets of Paihia are only about 10 mins walk.
Belinda and Peter are very friendly and helpful, and we would happily stay again.

Room Tip: Highest rooms involve climbing stairs which can be a problem if you have heavy suitcases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at the bay cabinz motel over Christmas and found it very comfortable and accessible to all that paihia had to offer. I have no qualms what so ever in recommending these units and would stay in one of them again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Sea view Chalets are private and not really overlooked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed two nights here and booked ahead. Our cabin was lovely and had a great sea view. Although not serviced while we were there, the bins were emptied.
A very short walk into Paihia where all the shops and restaurants were and we were given ideas of what to see and do by the very welcoming owner. The internet worked great and the bed was comfortable. Got a bit of a crick in my neck watching the TV sidewards but it was no big deal.

The bonus cat was Smooch who came to say hello to us on our second day. Orange cats were a theme of our trip to New Zealand, we saw them everywhere and Smooch was very friendly.

I used the laundry while we were there and it was brand new and not too expensive ($2 a go).

Stay here if you want something a little bit different with all the mod cons.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We agree with the previous reviews - a delightful cabin with great surroundings. The little extras (private pot of herbs on each verandah; pegs on the washing line; bbq tools hanging near the bbq) made the stay even more enjoyable. The 20 stairs proved no problem for us

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Our third visit this year - 2 nights each time. Everything is excellent. We never use our car once parked (cars are safe) as everything is in walking distance. owners friendly and helpful. Units are clean with everything you need, private and very quiet. can enjoy your own DVDs and music.The perfect retreat

Room Tip: Rooms right at the top are best - 8, 9 &10 (very private)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed 3 nights. Quiet, comfortable and relaxed with a nice relaxing view over bushland and a glimpse of the sea. We had a stand-alone cabin with plenty of greenery around it so no intrusion form other guests - we saw them but never heard them. There were outdoor chairs and table provided and it was really nice to sit outside with a glass of wine and enjoy the serenity. The bathroom was as good as anything I've ever seen and there were all the usual amenities to do your own cooking. Everything was clean and tidy. Owners matched the motel - friendly and laid back!
The only minor grumbles were the limited amount of room around the bed and lack of a couple of easy chairs to watch TV. Then again, we didn't watch much anyway. The beach and shops and cafes are 5 minutes stroll away - the Thai restaurant had really good food and the RSA over the road has cheap food and some real characters) - and we generally enjoyed the ambience of Pahia. Went on the ferry to Russell (original settlement in NZ), well worth while and enjoyed the cafes and Pompallier House (guides for the day were kids from the local primary school - they did a great job).
Overall we had a great time doing nothing (well, some of the time) and at other times enjoyed the general sightseeing around Pahia, Russell and Waitangi.
I've just read the review from Ishkaa - Smoochie the cat is still there to welcome everyone. Not sure about "under a minute" to get to the town unless Ishkaa is related to Usain Bolt. Anyway, we didn't want to hurry so we strolled down in 5 minutes.
Not particularly cheap but it had everything we could possibly have wanted. Good value.

Room Tip: Cabins are arranged going uphill, the lower ones are easier to access. The upper ones probably have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayCabinzMotel, Owner at Bay Cabinz Motel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thanks Bob for taking the time to post a review. We enjoyed your "Bolt" comment & agree that most of our guests although fit outdoor types could not do 300m in 1 minute!! Safe travelling. Regards Belinda & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Cabinz Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Cabinz Motel

Address: 32 - 34 School Road | P.O. Box 182, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Paihia
#9 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Cabinz Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 fully self-contained private chalet bungalows overlooking the Paihia village. This sunny elevated eco-complex is set in sub-tropical/native surroundings with bird life, sea and garden views in Central Paihia. Ideal for singles, couples and small families who enjoy a quiet natural environment. Only 300m flat walk to Paihia's cafes, restaurants, shops, beaches and nearby wharf which is the gateway to the beautiful Bay of Islands many tourist attractions and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bay Cabinz Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Cabinz Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Cabinz Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.